We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top to bottom, simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Cloister at Sea Island to your Saves list
The Cloister at Sea Island
100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Best Avail Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top to bottom, simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff and service and FOOD at the Cloisters is first rate. The rooms (stayed in south wing) are great, and the golf and amenities are nice, but two things make this one of the best places to stay in the country: the staff and the food. Be prepared to eat and eat and eat some more. Do not pass up any seafood item and go ahead and taste all deserts. Over the top.

Room Tip: Lots of options. Many people prefer to stay in the Lodge. Check it all out. Prices will vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    61
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
188
186
8
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumming, ga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Worth every penny! From the time you enter the gates you feel like royalty and are treated the same. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The bath and dressing area are as large as many hotel rooms. Each room has a balcony overlooking the famous marshes of Georgia. A perfect spot for a liesurely breakfast. For spa lovers, the spa is the best I have ever experienced.

The facility recently changed ownership. I will return soon and hope to find they have maintained the traditional Southern hospitality and quality service I have experienced in the past.

Room Tip: I prefer the northern wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were guests at the Cloister a few weeks ago for a mother/daughter getaway. Our room was luxurious and comfortable with picturesque river views.

This Mediterranean style property, nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the Black Banks River, is a one-of-a-kind destination. The on site spa is a must see and the Georgian Room will not disappoint. However, Colt & Alison, at The Lodge, has the best filet mignon that I have had - ever! Needless to say, dessert was a scrumptious Gold Brick Sundae.

The magnificent facilities, spectacular gardens and unsurpassed level of personal service blend seamlessly to create this Forbes Five-Star Resort and many delightful memories. Interestingly enough, the lone bagpiper silhouetted against the setting sun is the memory that lingers with me.

Room Tip: My preference is a corner room in the Cloister.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from an enchanting stay at the Cloister. Had a third floor room overlooking the marsh, thick walls made sleeping a dream (pardon the pun), little touches throughout the room such as vanity seats in the bathroom, double bathroom doors for privacy, a cigar room to die for in the main hotel. Food was outstanding as was the service. Breakfast was limited to the formal dining room which was one of the few downsides. Spa for both women and men was five star as were the grounds. We will be annual visitors to the Cloister.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the main lobby as possible, otherwise you will be in for a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Amazing, luxurious rooms that are large, well designed and filled with beautiful furniture. The staff are friendly, professional and very competent. Some have been at Sea Island for many years. But the food and beach club are not up to the standards of the property and the people. But our sense was that the people who go there regularly think it's so great but it really isn't.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your observations as they are invaluable in helping us improve the experience for our guests. I will follow up personally on your comments to ensure they are addressed. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can be of any assistance personally on your next stay please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westboro
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second time here. Spent 3 days on our travels down south.
The Good: The Ocean view suite at the beach club was stunning! Spacious and beautifully appointed with a gas fireplace and magnificent view. 2 bathrooms and small but efficient kitchen.
Truly, this is where The Cloisters excel! Great Fitness Center and stunning spa. The property and amenities are all top drawer and very well taken care of.
The Bad: In my opinion the food is just not up to the heights the rest of the resort is. Found this on our first visit and the situation has not been improved. Disappointing! In a property as wonderful as The Cloisters, the food should be a lot more than glorified country club fare.
It is a major missing link. The other issue , though small in comparison, is the $20 charge to use the fitness facility. Really, at $600 a night for our room, this charge seems petty and unnecessary.
Have stayed at many high end resorts, ie. Four Seasons, Peninsula etc. and none of them charge to use the Fitness Centers.
Again, this is where I feel The Cloisters is a Country Club first that welcomes outsiders in but nickels and dimes them for the privilege while reminding them during breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your observations as they are invaluable in helping us improve the experience for our guests. I will follow up personally on your comments to ensure they are addressed. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can be of any assistance personally on your next stay please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The new Cloister may not be quite what the old was, but times have changed and it is still a lovely and elegant resort. The lobby and public rooms are gorgeous and the guest rooms very spacious and well decorated. Staff was friendly enough but service and food at Tavola and at breakfast left a lot to be desired. These issues need to be addressed before this becomes a five star resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your observations as they are invaluable in helping us improve the experience for our guests. I will follow up personally on your comments to ensure they are addressed. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can be of any assistance personally on your next stay please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
3.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
9.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
9.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cloister at Sea Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.