We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant resort, spotty service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Save Saved
You added The Cloister at Sea Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cloister at Sea Island
100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Best Avail Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sea Island
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegant resort, spotty service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The new Cloister may not be quite what the old was, but times have changed and it is still a lovely and elegant resort. The lobby and public rooms are gorgeous and the guest rooms very spacious and well decorated. Staff was friendly enough but service and food at Tavola and at breakfast left a lot to be desired. These issues need to be addressed before this becomes a five star resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your observations as they are invaluable in helping us improve the experience for our guests. I will follow up personally on your comments to ensure they are addressed. I do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can be of any assistance personally on your next stay please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    46
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
136
134
6
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually we stayed at the Cloister's Cottages, which is very close to the Cloister's Hotel. Actually everything is close together. The unit we had was fantastic. - four bedrooms (2 master's), five bathrooms, outdoor enclosed patio, heated pool, four fireplaces, kitchen with every possible appliance (all top of the line), about 3,500 square feet. Plus their was daily maid service, gardener and pool cleaner. Also the beds were extremely comfortable. Despite having four couples, we had plenty of space. We didn't want to leave and we will be back.
Everything on the island is convenient - grocery stores, restaurants and golf courses. The golf courses were excellent. We had caddies every day, which was a real treat.
The entire trip was first class!

Room Tip: Get a caddy! We had dinner one night at the Jekyll Club. It was too far away - about 45 minutes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We would come back anytime! What a great place to stay and the ambiance was well worth it. We ate at Tavola restaurant and enjoyed our wine and meal! The dessert was the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I spent two days her in early January. Our reception was very cordial, and not the least bid stuffy. We had drinks and dinner at the Lodge. We sat in front of the fireplace in the lobby while we waited for our table. The atmosphere of the Lodge is heavy dark paneling, beautiful artwork and just an overall inviting surroundings. The menu was varied, but not too elaborate or fussy. The quality and appearance of the appitizers and dinner was five star. Along with it, the service was superlative. Prices were high, but very much in keeping with quality and quantity of what was served. The also had an excellent wine list.

The hotel rooms were architecturally beautiful, spacious, well appointed, and extremely clean. We had a balcony overlooking the lagoon, which was very picturesque. We dined in the River Room and had the best Red Fish that I have had in ages. The preparation, quality and service of the restaurant we also superlative.

We did not use the Spa, nor the Fitness Center, however we did play golf on the Seaside Course which was very enjoyable. Greens were fast, fairways in nice shape, but stay out of the rough as it is Bermuda grass and it is a challenge.

Overall, the hotel was five star. Hotel architecture, ambiance, quality of food and service is the best we have ever experienced. We cannot priaise this establishment enough.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a native of Georgia, I have been to St. Simons many times and always favored the main island over Sea Island. As an occassional visitor to Sea Island, it always seemed to be a little stuffy and intimidating, but always a first class resort. After a recent visit with friends during the "off season", I have a different opinion. The new Cloister was incredible and seemed to be more comfortable than other visits. Maybe it was the lower guest occupancy, but it was truly a comfortable and enjoyable stay while providing the best service and amenities. The restaurants, golf, spa, and overall experience were exceptional. We've already made plans to return and hope that the high season during summer will be just as enjoyable. If you have never been, I would highly recommend. The deals in the off season and the relative tranquility of the resort are a perfect combination.

Room Tip: I would try to stay in the main building the next time. The outer buildings are connected but are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our return stay to the Cloister was nothing short of excellent. The Christmas decor throughout the property created a beautiful environment. Our suite was located on the 2nd floor of the main house & had every amenity one could ask for. Linens from Portugal were pristine. The room had a bay window that afforded us a lovely view of most of the property. We've never stayed anywhere that had such soundproof rooms; great bonus when there to celebrate New Years as we were. Our children were well entertained with the various activities available. Horseback riding on the beach was a big treat. The rooms are not inexpensive, but you will feel that it is money well spent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is not your grandfather's Cloister any more! I spent Christmas at The Cloister with my sister and her husband. This was my second trip to the resort. The first one occurred many years ago before it was turned back into a 5 start resort and I would not have returned based on that experience. However, I had heard wonderful things about the place in recent years and decided to give it another go. We could not have had a better time. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite at The Beach Club that was exceptional. The staff was very accommodating and the food in the 3 restaurants we visited (Southern Tide, River Bar and the Georgian Room) was superb. The entire resort was beautifully decorated for the season. And the spa was first-rate.

While the property appears to be spread out, it is an easy walk between the Beach Club, the Spa and the main Cloister building. That said, you can always ask for a shuttle to cart you from place to place. However, during a busy season such as Christmas, the wait could be more than you bargained for, so walking back and forth was really the answer for us.

If you are not a golfer (I am but sis and her hubby are not) and it's not beach-sitting weather (which it was not), there is not a whole lot to do. (Meaning that 5 days was plenty of time to spend there.) However, the little town just before you get to the entrance to the resort has some very good restaurants and shopping and a trip down to the beach town on St. Simon's (where the lighthouse is) is a fun thing to do. There is also a movie theatre nearby. We saw Lincoln - probably the best movie I have ever seen!

The one caveat here, which is a double-edged sword depending upon your inclination, is that it is a family-friendly resort. There were more children there than we had anticipated. However, the resort had scheduled numerous activities for kids and because of the size of the resort, we did not feel "overrun" with the little tykes.

Finally, this resort is not for the faint-of-pocketbook. It's pretty expensive but we felt we received good value for our money, which is all you can really ask for. All in all, it was a great experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cloister at Sea Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.