We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Save Saved
You added The Cloister at Sea Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Cloister at Sea Island
100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Best Avail Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sea Island
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our return stay to the Cloister was nothing short of excellent. The Christmas decor throughout the property created a beautiful environment. Our suite was located on the 2nd floor of the main house & had every amenity one could ask for. Linens from Portugal were pristine. The room had a bay window that afforded us a lovely view of most of the property. We've never stayed anywhere that had such soundproof rooms; great bonus when there to celebrate New Years as we were. Our children were well entertained with the various activities available. Horseback riding on the beach was a big treat. The rooms are not inexpensive, but you will feel that it is money well spent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    41
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
123
118
6
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is not your grandfather's Cloister any more! I spent Christmas at The Cloister with my sister and her husband. This was my second trip to the resort. The first one occurred many years ago before it was turned back into a 5 start resort and I would not have returned based on that experience. However, I had heard wonderful things about the place in recent years and decided to give it another go. We could not have had a better time. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite at The Beach Club that was exceptional. The staff was very accommodating and the food in the 3 restaurants we visited (Southern Tide, River Bar and the Georgian Room) was superb. The entire resort was beautifully decorated for the season. And the spa was first-rate.

While the property appears to be spread out, it is an easy walk between the Beach Club, the Spa and the main Cloister building. That said, you can always ask for a shuttle to cart you from place to place. However, during a busy season such as Christmas, the wait could be more than you bargained for, so walking back and forth was really the answer for us.

If you are not a golfer (I am but sis and her hubby are not) and it's not beach-sitting weather (which it was not), there is not a whole lot to do. (Meaning that 5 days was plenty of time to spend there.) However, the little town just before you get to the entrance to the resort has some very good restaurants and shopping and a trip down to the beach town on St. Simon's (where the lighthouse is) is a fun thing to do. There is also a movie theatre nearby. We saw Lincoln - probably the best movie I have ever seen!

The one caveat here, which is a double-edged sword depending upon your inclination, is that it is a family-friendly resort. There were more children there than we had anticipated. However, the resort had scheduled numerous activities for kids and because of the size of the resort, we did not feel "overrun" with the little tykes.

Finally, this resort is not for the faint-of-pocketbook. It's pretty expensive but we felt we received good value for our money, which is all you can really ask for. All in all, it was a great experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Cloisters Resort on Sea Island is a very nice, upscale resort good for relaxing on the beach and several good golf courses nearby. Our four bedroom house from Exclusive Resorts was very well appointed, as usual, and close to the resort facilities. Of the three nearby courses, Seaside at Sea Island was by far the best and most challenging. At sunset they have a bag pipe ceremony which is worth waiting for with an after round cocktail.

We rented bikes for the week and used them to tour both Sea Island and Saint Simon. Biking on Sea Island was fun viewing all the beautiful homes in a very relaxed way. Biking on St. Simon required getting across the causeway but now that they've put in a bike trail it's pretty easy. Once on St. Simon head to Fort Frederica. It was a nice ride and the Fort was very interesting.

Golf at King and Prince was not so great. Course was only OK and club rental was a joke, 11 clubs and five different brands. I brought this up at the turn and the reaction was, "check in the cart barn"

Room Tip: Stayed at Exclusive Resort house so can't rate resort rooms. The houses are well designed and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wonderful and stately resort with southern charm. Everyone knows your name moments after your arrival. Our room overlooking the river was lovely and spacious. Service everywhere was excellent and attentive without being overbearing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonvile, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We chose this property for our anniversary because we've heard good things about it and it's fairly close to home. The grounds are lovely, the service is decent, and the rooms are great (if a bit musty). My only real complaint is that the room service and River Bar food was subpar. Also, see my review on Travolta. Not good. I wouldn't stay here again only because for the money there are places that will blow your socks off. Palmetto Bluff is one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was just at The Cloisters in Sea Island Georgia. I had a wonderful experience. The staff is so warm and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The Spa is one of the most beautiful spas I have ever seen. I could live in the couples room! They were just finishing the Christmas Trees and the decorations...The trees could compete with Rockefeller Center. They were beautiful and enormous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Interestingly enough, I've wanted to go to the Cloister in the mid 1980's after reading Anne Rivers Siddens's book, "Downtown". The main character was from Savannah and moved to Atlanta in the 1960's. She fell in love with the young "blue blood" whose family summered at the Cloister. Obviously, there was a twist in the ending but needless to say, I was enthralled with visiting Sea Island after falling in love with Ms. Siddens and the south. Well..it took almost 30 years but I finally made it in time to celebrate my 49th birthday. I understand the former hotel was razed in the mid 2000's but the new hotel still has the integrity of a 1920's Spanish Mediterranean hotel. Coming from California and now recently settled into South Carolina, I plan on coming back to this beautiful resort year after year.

Room Tip: If you love beautiful decor, I suggest staying in the main hotel and not the Beach Club. It was stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel
Cloister Resort Sea Island
The Cloister
Cloister Sea Island
Cloister Hotel
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia
Address: 100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cloister at Sea Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.