We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cloister at Sea Island to your Saves list
The Cloister at Sea Island
100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Best Avail Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I am at least a 6th or 7th generation Georgian, and I spent my honeymoon here before the renovations of the 2000's, so I admit to some bias, but The Cloister is simply the best. I have had the pleasure of experiencing many luxury resorts in th Western Hemisphere and many Ritz Carlton and JW Marriott properties and can still say none of them have equaled the service, quality and experience offered at The Cloister, much less the history. The Cloister, the Beach Club and The Lodge are our standby favorite places. We just celebrated our 15th anniversary there. The Colt & Alison at the Lodge is our favorite restaurant there and the Beach Club bar at Southern Tide can't be beat for an afternoon of watching college football. The views of salt marshes sooth our souls each visit and remind us of young love, new lives beginning, and looking forward to the future at a backdrop representative of our deep Georgia roots. Sea Island is heaven on earth.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    51
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
156
156
7
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I just returned from a 2 night stay at The Cloister with my husband. Words cannot describe how perfectly wonderful our stay was at this property that "took our breath away". The rooms were stunning with great views and ambience. The staff was friendly and helpful. You must visit The Georgian Room for a dining experience you will not forget. Also, visit The River Bar for a wonderful lunch with great water views.

The Cloister is a luxury travel experience filled with wonderful southern charm that is perfect for couples or a family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Living in Atlanta I had heard about The Cloister for years...I'm just sorry it took me so long to finally visit. The entire resort is gorgeous. Everywhere you look are beautiful views, both in and outside of the hotel. My suite was enormous and very well appointed, especially the bathroom.

The food at the various restaurants was most impressive. From Italian to traditional American cuisine, each meal was better than the last. And I highly recommend breakfast in the Georgian Room...what a way to start the day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm Beach County
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

had the opportunity to spend three glorious nights in October at this resort. Attention to detail, cleanliness and friendly efficient staff all made for a perfect stay. Beautiful grounds for strolling. Complimentary afternoon tea in the bird room. Stroll around and visit the on property chapel.

Room Tip: Ask for intercoastal view at main lodge and oceanfront in other sections
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend here and stayed in a suite at the Ocean Villas. Wow - the suite was beautifully decorated with a full kitchen (Bosch all around), lovely furniture, two full bathrooms and ocean views from both porches. We played tennis (Har-Tru courts) and enjoyed the pool at the Beach Club. Especially recommend the Flounder BELT at Southern Tide and the steaks at Colt and Allison (Khris' service was impeccable). We loved our three-day stay and are planning to return with our family for a longer visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As calm and peaceful as a medieval cloister with fantastic staff. The draft Sweetwater beer from Atlanta was brilliant. The food is rather bland. The gardens are exceptional. The only downside is a feeling of being controlled. Loved the complimentary strawberry margarita at 5pm.

Room Tip: Get as near to the sea as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We would love to speak further with you to discuss your stay so we can continue to improve our guest experience. Please feel free to contact our managing director, Rick Riess, at rickriess@seaisland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This entire island and resort is first class and one of the best resorts in the country - if not the world. Gorgeous, historic property on the Atlantic Ocean with great rooms, even better suites, and unmatched service. Old photos in the common areas show visits by past U.S. presidents, famous foreign dignitaries, and other noteworthy people from the past 80 years. A walk around the property will show plaques denoting trees planted by some of those dignitaries (Margaret Thatcher, Jimmy Carter, George Bush, etc.). Pack your best credit card and a seer sucker suit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cloister at Sea Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.