We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'M IN A COUNTRY CLUB STATE OF MIND!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloister at Sea Island

Save Saved
You added The Cloister at Sea Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cloister at Sea Island
100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Best Avail Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sea Island
Westboro
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I'M IN A COUNTRY CLUB STATE OF MIND!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful architecture. Gorgeous setting. Beautiful rooms. Great gym. Stunning spa.
That said there is a difference between the feel of a resort and that of a country club. Country clubs cater to their members. Resorts cater to their guests. The Cloisters purports to do both. It is an odd feeling. The Cloisters is a Club with memberships. When you go to the beach or pools you are entering a members only Beach Club. Families and members, that all know each other, either own residences at the Cloisters or elsewhere make for rather odd bedfellow. Felt like a visitor at an exclusive club not an inclusive resort. The exclusivity comes at the expensive of the guest. Members are catered to, guests are welcome. Thanks for having us!

own residences at the Cloisters or on Sea Island itself make for rather strange bedfellow.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    46
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
141
137
7
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Gorgeous room: I had one bedroom residence with full kitchen ocean front --amazing . Spa treatment facial incredibly good. Breakfast each morning great. Dinner one night delicious and fantastic wait staff. Pool and beach service excellent. just a great property. I

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Having stayed in many many 5 star resorts , this resort would have to the be one the best on the East Coast. The main building architecture is opulent without making you feel out of place. They certainly don't make buildings like this anymore. The rooms, guest services and restaurants are just superb with no detail left unturned. A must see of everybody.

Room Tip: Lots of families so if your looking for something romantic visit off-peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, you'll be treated like royalty. The place is just amazing. Spectacular grounds, fabulous amenities and staff that will fall over backward for you. Together with the Lodge, its sister property a short drive away, you have access to several terrific dining options, world class golf, beautiful pools, a wonderful beach-side playground for the kids and, of course, the beach - all on property (gated). However, this is not the place for the budget-minded. Its very expensive but worth it, in my humble opinion. The only beach-side resort I can think of (that I've been to) that I prefer is The Breakers in Palm Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Ok the title sums it up. This place is awesome. We put the kids in various camps and activities and they loved it all. We went this Springbreak and the place was packed, so you m ay want to come another weekend. The service was very good but it was very busy and not as personalized as some portrayed but they were very attentive to our needs. We put the kids in Survival camp one evening and went to the Georgian room. The food was excellent but the price reflected it. We stayed at the hotel which have huge rooms and was extremely nice, but feel the Beach Club would have been a better option for those with kids looking for food options. Lots of kids there at the Beach Club so it was nice to walk across the street to get away from the "chaos". The concierge was able to help us get dinner reservations at almost every place we wanted to go. In addition to the usual beach activities you can fish, golf, rent a boat charter, kayak and shoot clay targets (air rifles for the kids) all from the hotel. I was hesitant about taking the kids but they loved the place and want to go again. The hotel was very Family oriented.

Only caveat is don't think you get any of this without the price tag that comes along with a five star resort. Every single thing you buy except clothing etc will come with a 20 % service charge (at least you didn't have to worry about what to tip). the bill adds up fast. Lot of families stayed in nearby cottage rentals with kitchens to help save money or left "the grounds" to venture for outside food options.

Room Tip: If you want to go for shooting ,spa, or dinner call several weeks in advance,especially shooting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

When i left this hotel, i was a bit sad. I was already thinking of returning.

My visit to Sea Island a few days before Easter was an unexpected surprise. Arriving late at night, we were driven to our rooms at The Cloister. Immediately upon walking in, i knew i was in a special place. From the friendliness of the door staff, to our smooth and welcoming check in...to the escort to my room, the experience was flawless.

The lobby was beautiful. As i walked to my room, in the moonlight, i couldnt make out all the details of the property...but i knew it was special. My room was fantastic. I stay in a lot of hotels (about 200 nights per year)....and this room was one of the best every. Huge, comfortable, and welcoming. The bathroom was IMMACULATE with lots of closet space (understatement), 'in wall' iron and ironing board, separate outside dressing area, main bath with sunken tub, separate shower, and so much more.

The bed was heaven. Westin needs to visit here to re-define their definition of Heavenly.

Walking back to the main building the next morning, i noticed the small details...and some of the larger ones. Every corner was filled with potted plants. I could not find a scratch or bit of paint missing anywhere. The landscaping was superb, filled with so many little areas to discover.

I felt as if i were experiencing the ultimate in fine, warm, and gentile southern hospitality...and probably the last of its kind.

The food service outlets were each wonderful. From the grand Georgian Room, to the tavern...service and food quality were excellent.

I read some of the less than favorable reviews on this site, and really cant believe them. I found the service incredible, and everyone GENUINELY friendly. Many of the staff have been here for years, and really enjoy their job. It shows.

I will be back. I am still kicking myself for not accepting an offer to visit last year.

Sea Island is probably the best kept secret of the south.

I cant wait to return...

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room on the property. My room was in a wing off of the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I took our 20 month old here after hearing great reviews from a couple of friends that have already been here. It was actually BETTER than they built it up to be. the resort itself is beautiful. We enjoyed getting a glass of wine and strolling the little one around. You can stay on the river or the beach. I highly recommend the beach. Especially if you have kids. The beach club is adjacent to the pools and most activities. There is a great playground for the kids and from what I saw, the Kids Club was a hit. We saw them walking around the property with their councelors and they were having a blast. You an also get babysittters from Sitters By The Sea. Ask for Haley. She was very good with our child. We will return here with friends this summer.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony but wish we did so we could sit ourside when the kids went to sleep. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cloister at Sea Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.