We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sautee Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sautee Nacoochee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sautee Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sautee Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2178 GA Highway 17, Sautee Nacoochee, GA 30571   |  
Hotel amenities
Decatur, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Imagine sitting on your own private balcony, looking out over huge old black walnut trees, flower gardens, and open, rolling green space. Bliss! Innkeepers Tony and Alberta welcome travelers with home-baked goodies, sumptuous breakfasts, and an abundance of hospitality and good conversation. Staying with them is like visiting friends, where you're treated like company and welcomed like family. We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back have balconies and face toward an open pasture and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and although we were involved in a major event elsewhere we had relaxing evenings and delicious breakfasts at the Inn. We ate there frequently when it was a place to dine and not a B&B many years ago so we were thrilled that we had the opportunity to enjoy it on our short vacation.Tony and Alberta were gracious hosts and we were so comfortable in our beautiful room overlooking the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Before I mention how beautiful and comfortable this inn is, I do need to mention the driveway and parking. Of course, you know you're in the foothills, so you need to expect to have an interesting driveway. When you pull off Route 17 at the sign, you'll see the exit to your immediate right and entrance to the left -- take the exit. It will take you nearly straight up a short steep hill on loose gravel, but it is easier than taking the entrance which takes you up the same short steep hill on loose gravel but around a curve that is more difficult and disquieting if you are not used to it. The parking area is a smallish terrace that is mostly grass, which is typical for this area. You will then have your choice of two sets of stone steps to get up to the yard -- these are uneven and, for example, my 80 year old mother would not be able to make it up or down but we late-50 year olds had no problems (if you think you might have a problem, don't dismiss the inn, talk it over with Alberta and Tony who are very accommodating!).

Okay! Now you're parked and have brought your bags up to the house; follow the signs to the front door where Alberta and Tony will greet you with great good cheer! They'll give you the keys to your room, explain the doors, and give you a quick tour of the house, including showing you the cute bathroom next to the front door that has the only bathtub (a beautiful big gorgeous clawfoot!). The livingroom has the only TV and very comfy couches plus a game table. The diningroom is gorgeous, with lots of antiques and silk flower arrangements. The dining table next to the kitchen is warm and homey and where you'll have your dessert each evening.

The rooms are large and very comfortable; they have a comfortable chair and dresser. They have central heat and air conditioning. Each room has an en suite bathroom that has been created or redone in the last month, and they have showers. All rooms have balconies with chairs for sitting -- those in the back have a great view to the mountains to the north, those in the front overlook Route 17 and the horse riding stable across the street, then to the valley and mountains beyond.

We had three rooms for a total of five people and were in Sautee-Nacoochee for a mini-family reunion. Coming back at the end of the day, it was really great for us to get together at the kitchen diningroom table for the terrific desserts to rehash the day. One of us was always up earlier than anyone else, and really enjoyed getting a mug of coffee and sitting on the large back porch to read in the early morning light.

If you're looking to really get away, slow down, but still feel very much at home, plan a visit to the Sautee Inn. Albert and Tony will make sure you have everything you need for a very, very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by road noise (I was not), ask for a room facing the backyard since Rt 17 (two l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our recent 3-night stay at the Sautee Inn was wonderful. Alberta and Tony exuded southern hospitality and were very knowlegeable about the area and places to see and things to do. We loved the room and the big back porch. Breakfasts were delicious and dessert every night was to die for!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for the Labor Day weekend. From the moment we first walked in the door until the very second we left, Alberta and Tony went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Southern hospitality does not begin to describe what you experience there; you almost feel like one of the family. And the food. Oh the food! This is not some chain hotel "continental" breakfast. No, this is heaping helpings of homemade, farm fresh goodness. On top of that, Alberta makes you a fresh dessert every night. You wake up and go to bed happy. The Inn itself is just a few minutes outside of Helen and literally right next door to a number of shops and wineries in Sautee. We did everything we wanted to do, and more. We are absolutely going back, and soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here just one night, but bowled over by the gorgeous house and gracious hosts Alberta and Tony. Very comfortable bed and a huge, fresh and delicious breakfast the next morning. The house is a gem filled with beautiful antiques and the grounds are gorgeous and beautifully designed and maintained. Our hosts could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We were in town for a wedding, which took most of our time, so definitely want to come back to just relax and enjoy. Make sure you are hungry for the HUGE, delicious breakfast! I think this is the best place to stay near Helen - and certainly a great value as they allowed a one night stay (most area inns require a 2 night minimum) and their prices were very competitive!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We went there to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. This Bed & Breakfast was wonderful! The owners, Alberta & Tony are wonderful and they make you feel at home! The food was excellent, fresh and all around good. They treated us more like family instead of customers/guests. We were able to relax and kick our feet up. I would recommend this place to any couple! Can't wait to go back!!

Malcolm & Goldie :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sautee Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sautee Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2178 GA Highway 17, Sautee Nacoochee, GA 30571
Location: United States > Georgia > Sautee Nacoochee
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sautee Nacoochee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sautee Inn Bed and Breakfast in beautiful Sautee Nacoochee Valley 2 1/2 miles from Alpine Helen, Georgia. We are within walking distance to the Old Sautee General Store and Sautee Junction Shops. Riding Stable and Sautee Museum, Fine Dining and Coffee Shop. We have Antiques and Gifts available for purchase located throughout the house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sautee Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.