We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Giessbach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandhotel Giessbach to your Saves list
Grandhotel Giessbach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Axalpstrasse, Giessbach, Brienz 3855, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Restaurant was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We took the boat from brienz to giessbach and took the train up the small hill. We made reservations for lunch which have us a nice table. The menu choice was nice Swiss food and a 3 course menu for 36chf. White table cloths grandeur entrance. If you want to step back in time come here. The only down side is the waiter did not match the 4 stars. I never expect good service in Switzerland, but had hopes up today. He poured white wine into the water glass, dribbled white wine each time he poured - he did not know how to pour a simple glass of wine. Besides that- it is lovely and a nice day trip if you have people visiting that are not very mobile. The final bill for 4 with wine was 207chf.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessbach, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Lora
Good to know that you enjoyed your day out. Thank you for reviewing our restaurant.
We are sorry to hear that the service did not meet your expectations and apologise for any shortcomings. Best regards Matthias Kögl, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    52
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
36
100
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is set in a lovely grounds/park with the waterfall outside. The hotel itself is like an old victorian lady - she is refined and relaxed in herself in the knowledge of her grandeur. The service was really good and the food in the restaurant was very nice - both the buffet breakfast and the main evening restaurant. The staff were most helpful. The only bad thing was the beds - they were so hard that it was like sleeping on the floor (i guess some might like this!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessbach, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear StartArs
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Giessbach. Knowing that mattresses are an individual choice, we also offer mattress pads to suit different needs. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable, but still hope that you had a good night!
Best regards Matthias Koegl, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel itself is 5 stars all around. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and nice. The restaurant is delicious and on the fancy side and the wait staff was incredible. Breakfast which was included also 5 stars. The room we stayed in was on the small side but we weren't picky.

I would like to give the hotel 4 1/2 stars and I would take half a star off for the inflexible schedule of the shuttle bus. I understand that there is a public bus and ferry and the hotel's bus is coordinated BUT what gives with the last bus being 6:30pm? If you want to have dinner in Brienz for a change rather than the hotel's restaurant you have 2 options. One is to take a taxi for about 100 francs or, call the hotel to pick you up for 12 francs per person (no public bus or ferry!) We called them to pick us up at the train station at 8:30pm and were charged. I think a lot of people would appreciate the last bus to be 8 or 8:30pm to enjoy Brienz for a bit more time.

Here's a great tip- if you are going hiking and want to take a picnic, the hotel has a fabulous packed lunch option for a great price. It's a sandwich, fruit, drink and dessert at a price you won't see anywhere else in town! Just order it at reception before 9pm the night before and they have it ready for you in the morning!

Bottom line: beautiful hotel, incredible staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessbach, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear MartinezPitts
Thank you for chosing to stay with us. We have read your feedback with interest as it is always good to know which needs we could fulfil. Great to hear you loved our packed lunch!
Best regards Matthias Koegl, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The road access to the hotel is not very good- a single steep track road but everyone seems to manage. Parking is very tight at the bottom. It would have been helpful if there had been signs that there was a lift to reception from the bar area rather than having to carry the luggage up 2 flights of stairs. Reception was excellent and the staff very helpful. Our room was at the back with not much of a view. Try asking for a waterfall facing room if you do not mind the running water noise. The was a bit dim and we had to open the curtains more fully. The bathroom was clean and fairly modern. However, if you have any mobility issues then getting in the "walk in" shower could have been a problem. The step into the shower was very high with quite limited access.
The balcony terrace bar was a delight in the sunshine with fabulous views over the lake. There was fruit in bowls in the hotel corridors to help yourself- a nice touch. We were part of a group dinner in the dining room with a view of the waterfall- spectacular. The meal was very good and the service excellent. When I asked for a smaller spoon for my ice cream I was brought a choice of three!
All the public areas of the hotel were grand. The checkout was quick and efficient but the taking of the luggage up the slope to where the car was - was a bind. Well worth staying at.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the waterfall have nice views if you don't mind the sound of running water. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessbach, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Astontraveller
Thank you for staying with us and posting your compliments about our services. Your tip concerning the lack of signs is invaluable and we will certainly be looking into the matter. Best regards Matthias Koegl, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I returned for another visit at the end of May this year with our friends who joined us last year. We enjoyed it so much that we have all booked again for May 2014.

We ate in the restaurant on three occasions and were never disappointed. The food was excellent.

The staff are all extremely welcoming and helpful.

This year there was a lot more snow at lower levels and we enjoyed many trips with a different panorama. It was always a delight to return to the hotel at the end of the day.

Counting the days already!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessbach, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Katweb
We enjoyed having you stay with us and appreciate your positive comments. Indeed, the area around Lake Brienz offers a wide range of possibilities and we know that you will discover many more when you return. Looking forward to welcoming you again in Giessbach next spring! Best regards Matthias Koegl, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perfect in every way. This 4 star hotel boasts the oldest funicular railway in the world which leads down to the streamer pier. the hotel is positioned at the side of the 300ft Giesbach Waterfall which is floodlight at night. This is a special place where you can walk around the 45 acre estate to the top of the falls or walk down to the lake. This hotel has been renovated in 1992 to the highest standards and has 70 bedrooms. The bedrooms are large and well appointed. Food was high class.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessbach, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear David, thanks a lot for staying with us and also for your recommendation! We appreciate your custom and look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion. Matthias Koegl, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. I had read reviews where ppl said it was hard to base here and visit other towns but we didn't find that the case at all. Be warned the hotel does not have air conditioning. We were there and it was very hot during our stay but did cool off at night. The waterfall is truly breathtaking And pictures do not do it justice. Breakfast is delicious. We ate dinner every night outside on the Terrance. Be sure to try the mountain Mac and cheese...so yummy. Hotel rooms are older, staff is helpful. The lake is really beautiful. The town of Brienz is adorable. Be sure to arrive via boat for the full experience. Pack your hiking shows to hike up the waterfall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giessbach, Manager at Grandhotel Giessbach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Stephparisoli
Thank you for staying with us and also for your recommendation. Good to hear you enjoyed discovering the area. Yes, it has been very hot recently and we are happy to have the Giessbach Falls on our doorstep providing natural air conditioning.
Best regards Matthias Kögl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandhotel Giessbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Giessbach

Address: Axalpstrasse, Giessbach, Brienz 3855, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Brienz > Giessbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Giessbach 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome, dear guests - come in, enjoy the moment, and marvel at one of the most tremendous views in Europe. Be inspired by the charm of a true Grand Hotel and experience a sense of living history in one of the best preserved hotels of its time. From the moment you set foot in the Grandhotel Giessbach, you will find yourself in a world of unique splendour and elegant sophistication. It embodies the romance and charm of glorious bygone times. Today, just as it was one hundred years ago, the historical hotel residence, by the celebrated silvery Giessbach Falls, high above Lake Brienz, is quite simply a world of its own. Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows, with a breathtaking view of the unspoiled landscapes of Lake Brienz, this hidden oasis lies far away from everyday bustle and traffic. Relish the chance to unwind in this friendly and hospitable oasis, far away from everyday hustle and bustle. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grandhotel Giessbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Giessbach Hotel Brienz
Grandhotel Giessbach Swiss Alps

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Giessbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.