We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My Delicious Mouthwatering Sinful Meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Soul Barbecue

Southern Soul Barbecue
2020 Demere Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912 638 SOUL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Oh My Delicious Mouthwatering Sinful Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I watch what I eat which means I limit my red meats and poke in more veggies and fruit now. But oh my lands this Oklahoma/Texas bread girl loves great BBQ…not good but GREAT!

…perfectly smoked (in other words delicious with or without sauce), never dried out but moist and easy to chew fall of the bone kind of cooking, and a variety in sauces and they had 3 of 'em (hot, mustard, and sweet)!!!!!! Your sides better rock too…and they did! I tried the Mac-n-cheese (yum) and the Fried Okra (but of course had to I'm in the South ya'all). Let's just say I left a rolling out as a happy happy girl. Pretty much could not digest what I consumed since I could not stop eating my ribs and pulled pork. They had desserts too but I had no room! The only thing I was not fond of was their unsweet ice tea (watered with little flavor to me). Maybe their sweet tea is their specialty since this is Southern.

Seating outside and inside no matter where you are it is cramped and if your outside you may just get a little smoked yourself if the wind is blowing your way since the cooker is close to where the tables are. There is always a line out the door so prepare yourself and know it is worth "the wait" in gold! Note: They also cater weddings the food is so popular. Place has also been featured on FoodTV Network and been around a very long time so they know their business and the menu is vast. Enjoy!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    185
    50
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisa, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ, and I don't even like BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stopped by for dinner after a day at the beach with family and was pleasantly surprised to find that this place was awesome! The BBQ sandwich was delicious and I found it tough to decide on only one of their variety of sauces. They are all delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The absolute best, period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The best BBQ I have ever eaten, time and again. Great, fun staff. Great atmosphere. Decently priced. Your only problem will be getting in and finding a seat. Go at an off time, or the line will be out the door.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalda, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Was hoping to give it a great review. Have eaten here before and thought it was pretty good. I love beef brisket and was looking for a moist piece of meat this was very dry. I would not return. Fries good stew good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Ate there yesterday for lunch. Keep in mind, it is not only Bar B Que, but ribeye sandwiches, burgers , fried green beans. I had the brisket sandwich, my wife had the ribeye sandwich, both were excellent. Limited seating inside and outside, also , limited parking! I understand they Do Tow cars if you are in a neighboring business parking lot ! We sat at the counter, and enjoyed talking to local folks that visit this establishment several times a week. This is the kind of place you want to try everything on the Menu !

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Soul Barbecue also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Southern Soul Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Soul Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.