We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best BBQ I've ever tasted...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Soul Barbecue

Southern Soul Barbecue
2020 Demere Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912 638 SOUL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
greenville, sc
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Some of the best BBQ I've ever tasted...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The place is small, kind of confusing to get to even if you're on St. Simons and st. simon's is not exactly on the way to anywhere. That being said, it just doesn't matter. Search for it, worth a trp, etc., etc. Simply some of the best bbq I've ever tasted. From the smoking of the meat to where it doesn't even need sauce to the sauce that enhances the flavor of the meat instead of covering it up, these guys know what they're doing. Excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    215
    59
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Quality for the $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What constitutes very good vs. excellent?
Stopped in for late lunch/early dinner after golf. Counter service only. I had a brisket plate with potato salad and collard greens. Wife had a half rack. Both of these dishes are as good or better than I have had in places charging three times as much. No, it is not three star Michelin quality ( or should I say complexity? No truffle oil here! No TV show recipes!)) but good wholesome earthy cooking for the same of less than you would pay if you made it at home labor excluded. The potato salad was well made without any tricks to distinguish it. Collard greens mildly seasoned with a hint of bacon. Fully belly and a smile for $27 for two people. What could be better?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Decided to eat here for dinner one evening while vacationing on Jekyll Island. Took us about 30 minutes to get there. We had a small sampling of the offerings: ribs, pork, brisket chili (special that day) and for sides: fried okra (very good), fried green beans, baked beans (delicious if you like the smoke flavor), and fries. We were all very satisfied!!! There are several sauces to choose from (at the tables) so you can customize your meal. I would definitely take a look at the menu before arriving as it is comprehensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Get in line and get your hands sticky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

TERRIFIC BBQ. Some of the best I've ever eaten. Yes there are lines but you'll know why once you eat.

Enjoy.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great DDD Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After visiting Jekyll Island, we decided to take a drive by Saint Simons Island. We pulled up this BBQ location for lunch and boy were we pleased. Our party of seven enjoyed the pulled pork platter and the beef ribs. The ribs were tender and tasty. The cornbread was delicious. Our party was very pleased with the restaurant. We were very lucky to arrive before the dinner rush and were able to sit quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Soul Barbecue also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Southern Soul Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Soul Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.