We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, simple fried and southern!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iguanas Seafood Restaurant

Iguanas Seafood Restaurant
303 Mallery Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4718
912 638-9650
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great, simple fried and southern!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fried oysters were the best!, can't wait to get back!!! I will be back and will be bringing friends. I love seafood and it was just great to be in an atmosphere where we were welcomed and encouraged to explore. The prices were reasonable and food even better!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    262
    79
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Free ice cream...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband has been looking for good scallops on this vacation so when we saw the reviews we knew this was the place. He got a very generous serving of broiled scallops which he loved! I'm not much of a seafood fan, but the fried shrimp is very good. All the sides were good as was the service! We definitely recommend this place! Oh, and free ice cream and toppings to top it off....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scallops to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Though Iguana's is known for their shrimp, Ann and I love our scallops. So that's what we ordered, her 's broiled, mine fried. I think we had over 15 large, tender, sweet and juicy scallops along with the usual choice of sides (I think we picked coleslaw, fries or mashed potatoes). It was a weeknight after labor day, so we kind of had the restaurant to ourselves, but service was top notch, and the food was fresh and served piping hot. The décor is kind of kitschy, but fits with the Saint Simon's Island overall feel. They offer free ice cream for dessert, but honestly, we were just too full to take them up on their offer. I did order a Margarita before and with dinner, the drink was large, but not notable, probably Margarita mix from a bottle. Ann had the requisite sweet tea, which was...well, sweet tea. We were going to go back and try the shrimp, but weather and schedule did not permit another visit. I'd certainly recommend this restaurant for scallops, and if shrimp is their specialty, I venture a try for sure. We'll be back next time for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a late lunch after a long bike ride, burger was mediocre and not fresh, toasted bun was burned when it was sent out and the fries were frozen. They gave me a new bun but it didn't make the food any better. It's pretty difficult to mess up a burger, even for a bar but somehow they did.

To top it off, my drink refill came with its own hair hanging off the glass. Left most of my food on the plate, paid the check and left.

I definitely do not see all the good reviews this place gets especially with all the other choices nearby.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Casual Dining-Free Ice Cream Sundaes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a great casual restaurant close to the pier with colorful murals painted on every wall. They offer seafood and burgers and steaks. The grilled scallops were the best I've ever tasted, however the crabcakes were just average. Good hushuppies but dry, tasteless coleslaw. Every meal comes with the option (free) to go to the ice cream sundae bar and create your own sundae with a good variety of toppings. A great place for families with young kids.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguanas Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Iguanas Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguanas Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.