We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing shrimp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguanas Seafood Restaurant

Iguanas Seafood Restaurant
303 Mallery Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4718
912 638-9650
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The buffalo spiced shrimp here were some of the best shrimp I can ever recall having. They were thick, juicy, tender and hot. I only regret that I can't eat them every day. Our server was attentive and helpful. The crabcakes and fried oysters were excellent as well. To end the meal they offer complimentary soft serve ice cream. Next time I'm in the area I will definitely stop into Iguanas again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    232
    78
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed our food. It was nothing outstanding but it was good. I might give it another try another time but there are other restaurants I will try near there first.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's fried food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Everyone went nuts over this place. It's a bar and restaurant with bar and restaurant food. The bartender we had was really great and friendly, but the food is what I'd find at any bar and restaurant anywhere in the country. I liked it, it's probably a great place to take kids, because they give you free ice cream, but it's not a stop I'd make on a once-in-a-lifetime trip to the Golden Isles.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Recommend !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are locals so we very rarely go to the village area for a meal as it is usually full of wonderful tourist; but recently we thought lets go try "Iguanas" shrimp; we are always hearing and seeing the adds for their shimp.......We definately would go back; as not only was the shimp dinner wonderful; service was excellent-the whole staff was; and the facility was very clean!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Sitting outside on a beautiful day, even as I write. Very friendly service (Duncan and Whitney couldn't be nicer). We followed their recommendation and. Started with some coconut shrimp which was delicious. Followed that up with a club sandwich and Mac and cheese. The club sandwich was very nice and the Mac and cheese was quite yummy. Great lunch and we get compliment notary ice cream. Great place for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguanas Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Iguanas Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguanas Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.