We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for a Tourist Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crabdaddy's Seafood Grill

Crabdaddy's Seafood Grill
1217 Ocean Blvd, St. Simons Island, Georgia, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522 (Formerly Crabdaddy's Seafood Bar & Grill)
912-634-1120
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not Bad for a Tourist Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate here several nights ago. We got there early, and we were glad we did because the place fills up rather quickly. The service was efficient, not overly quick or friendly. My husband had the seafood pasta, which he raved about. I had the salmon, and it was just ok. The bread pudding was a good end to the evening. Overall, not bad but nothing to get excited about.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    129
    55
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food but awkward to deal with”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family (group of 13) usually has one or two meals out when we go to St. Simons. We are looking for a family-friendly place with great food, not fancy but "nice." This was our second time at Crabdaddy's which is just a block away from the King and Prince where we stay. There was a lot of confusion regarding reservations which resulted in my 75 year old mother camping outside the door for an hour before the restaurant opened for dinner. Our server implied that we could have gotten a reservation, but that's not what we were told on the phone.

After all that, the food was OK but not outstanding. I did like the ranch dressing for the salad - very tasty. My son ordered the shrimp platter with half fried and half grilled. He did not eat the grilled shrimp because they were cold. It seemed like they gave him some shrimp that had been sitting around rather than freshly prepared. The fried shrimp were very good, though. Overall, I thought the prices were high and the portions large but the quality was not there. Our server was very friendly and did a great job keeping track of everyone's order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Was told by many to eat here when I'm on St. Simons and to make sure I get a reservation which I did as there was a 1.5+ hour wait if you didn't. There were 7 of us and we all agreed the food was terrific and the service oustanding. We had a lovely young lady wait on us by the name of Ashley. She knew the menu inside and out, was attentive throughout the meal and made the whole expereince that much more enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst bar service ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Awful service at the bar. The bar staff tried to rush us out of our seats in order for their friends to have a place to sit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious meal, unique setting!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Although nothing extremely fancy on the exterior so much, don't let it fool you about the food and service was amazing. Our entree choices came with a "table salad". The dressings were delicious and my kids (9 and 6 yr old), as well as, my wife and I enjoyed creating our own salad. The food was delicious, and the bread pudding dessert was soooooo good. If in this area, try this place...you won't be dissatisfied.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabdaddy's Seafood Grill also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Crabdaddy's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabdaddy's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.