We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Supper Sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 4th of May Cafe

The 4th of May Cafe
321 Mallery Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912.638.5444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: We are a family friendly restaurant featuring fresh seafood and Southern local fare. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The 4th of May is located in the Pier village area only 3 blocks from the beach. We have pet friendly outdoor seating and take-out is available. Our indoor seating is cool and casual. Stop in for a fresh homemade dessert and don't forget to say hi to Aunt Helen!!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Supper Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Memorial Day Weekend and we were finally full of shrimp and oysters...imagine! 4th of May NEVER disappoints us. Fried chicken, tomato pie, squash casserole and collard greens along with their wonderful cornbread or pumpkin bread..take your pick...they're like dessert. But don't fill up on the bread if you have a hankering for dessert. Just take a peek at the wonderful cakes and pies in the bakery case and convince your dining party to share their selection. Don't be stymied if there is a line. Service here is quick, friendly and efficient. If your party includes wee ones have no fear. The menu has something for everyone. And yes, the fried chicken rivals my Momma's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    76
    104
    38
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter and I usually eat lunch here on our annual shopping in St. Simmons. We go for the Asian salad - which sadly is no longer on the menu. What we did order was not great. In addition, the place feels sort of grubby and in much need of fixing up. Too bad. We probably won't go back on our next trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good sandwich place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good thick sandwiches, and soup is good too. I agree with some of the other reviewers, service is sometimes slow. My most recent experience was very agreeable: very polite and accommodating service and tasty turkey sandwich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingleside, il
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice little restaurant with very pleasant staff and reasonable prices. We tried their fried chicken - delicious, the She Crab soup, very good, but rich, and their Tomato Pie, which was okay.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cold food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stay away,our breakfast was cold and not very good. Service was fine but the food has really gone downhill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 4th of May Cafe also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The 4th of May Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 4th of May Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.