We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 4th of May Cafe - CLOSED

The 4th of May Cafe
321 Mallery Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912.638.5444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: We are a family friendly restaurant featuring fresh seafood and Southern local fare. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The 4th of May is located in the Pier village area only 3 blocks from the beach. We have pet friendly outdoor seating and take-out is available. Our indoor seating is cool and casual. Stop in for a fresh homemade dessert and don't forget to say hi to Aunt Helen!!
Darien, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Real homestyle southern food with great waitstaff. Very friendly. A little crowded, but a great way to meet new preople. Come in your beachwear or casual dress.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    104
    40
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted quick breakfast at 10am. Went in and were told to sit wherever we wanted. Told TWO waitresses we were going to sit outside. Waited for service. After 10 minutes of neglect a waitress came and cleared the table next to us and sat another person down and gave him a menu!!! I went inside and asked to be served. Waitress came out and was apologetic and we got menus and ordered drinks. Later a different waitress came out and gave us our drinks and took our orders. 30+ minutes later the food shows up with one incorrect order and two very tasteless selections. The place was not crowded. The place needs some paint and cleaning outside. We were very very unimpressed and would never recommend or go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The breakfast menu here is great. Omelettes, French Toast, Waffles...the works. A bit crowded around the tables, but the relaxed family atmosphere and good food made it worth the closeness to other tables.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Service is a joke!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place was recommended to us so we decided to give it a try one weekday through lunch. It was crowded but we were seated right away. Our order was taken 5 minutes later. As we sat there, we started noticing that everyone in the place was not very happy. The table next to us was just about to get up and leave because they had been waiting about 45 minutes. We ended up waiting about 45 minutes as well. I ordered a shrimp po' boy sandwich and my wife had a simple hamburger. I paid $11 for the shrimp po boy and it came with only potato chips....little over priced in my opinion. The actual meal tasted ok, but not worth the 45 minute wait or the price.

As a side note, the old lady that owned the place was in there and she was completely in the way of everyone in there, including her help. Instead of making trying to make small talk with all the unhappy patrons, she she should have been in the kitchen popping the whip to her cooks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4th of May- Stay away!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just got home from what was supposed to be breakfast, but after an hour wait for two meals it ended up being lunch. The service is slow and not very friendly. Some of our food came out cold, and the order was wrong, but we never saw anyone until the server dropped the check at our table while passing by. The restaurant is very dirty. We watched a girl drop glasses on the nasty floor, pick them up and put them right back on the shelf without cleaning them off. And the bathroom...forget about it!! It is located in the back of the restaurant with no air conditioning, is filthy, and has holes in the walls! Most gas stations are cleaner! We noticed upon leaving the place has an 82 rating posted on the wall, which is NOT good! So please, save yourself a lot of time and money and eat somewhere else!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 4th of May Cafe also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 4th of May Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.