We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a few nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwatch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shipwatch to your Saves list
Shipwatch
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1524 Wood Avenue, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522 (Formerly ResortQuest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice for a few nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The unit itself could use a little updating and the furniture was way to big for the space. BUT it was a nice unit, with a nice balcony that looked straight to the dunes and water. A very nice swing to relax on. Kitchen was stocked with the minimal essentials and the unit was clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We traveled here with our 7 year old son and 2 year old daughter. Unit 215 was immaculate, and worked perfectly for our family. We were within 3 minutes walk to the beach, and the pool was used no less than 20 times while we were there. The on site manager was awesome, and even let us have a late checkout on our last day. We travel as a family to different locations each summer, and this is one we will definitely come back to.

Stuff for kids:
Park playground less than 3 blocks away
Bike rentals on site
Pool
Beach

Room Tip: We stayed in 215, and would recommend the unit for people with kids since it has a bunk bed and a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Family setting. Walk from boardwalk to beach is fine. Clean and comfortable for the four of us. Linens were clean, but blankets were older in our room. The manager was very helpful and accommodating. Easy bike ride to Ocean Motion and Crab Shack.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the beach are more reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great 2BR, 2BA condos on the beach. Some are more updated than others, but you choose which one you want to rent. There are plenty of photos of each unit. It's a quiet condo complex of mostly families with young kids visiting the beach.

Room Tip: Check photos on their site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennille,GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our families stayed in 202, 206, and 301. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay at St. Simons that is oceanfront with easy beach access Shipwatch is the place to go. All the other people staying there seemed to be laid back. The pool is nice it wasnt over crowded. There is a nice BBQ area near the pool with picnic area. The boardwalk to the beach was great day or night. At nighttime its lit the whole way. My grandmother was able to access the beach from the boardwalk she has a bad knee and there was a wooded bench area at the end she could sit on to relax and listen to the ocean. Ashley at the condo office was super nice and friendly to everyone in our party. 202 could use some decor upgrades they were kinda outdated. 206 was super nice, updated decor bright and colorful, comfortable bedding, and t.v. in both bedrooms and living area, swing on the balcony with a nice glass patio table and a celing fan. It also had alot of useful utensils in the kitchen. It was very welcoming. We had to move to 301 which is an oceanfront condo. It was nice as well but the beds werent as comfy, didnt have a tv in the room with twin beds but it was still very nice. They have an elevator, the grounds are clean and cute. Parking is first come first serve be careful for the garage if you have a large vehicle. Its a gated complex and thats nice we felt very safe. There is also gated beach access which the kids thought was so cool the big wooden door to the beach :) We all really enjoyed our stay! We will definitely go back again. Check out the website to view all the condos. There are stores nearby, the pier is great, lots of fun stuff to do!

Room Tip: Go to the website and view the pics. There accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had a wonderful Spring Break week at ShipWatch on St. Simons. Our condo unit was clean, roomy and comfortable with upgraded appliances and very good kitchen equipment.
We had two five year olds and a nine year old staying here, the DVD and flat screen TV worked great (for those rainy days) and when there was a problem with the cable, the maintenance man was there right away. We biked to the beach, the village and the cute
little areas surrounding the condo. Beds were comfy and we enjoyed the museum and the lighthouse tour as well as local eateries like Barbara Jeans and Bonefish. Can't tell you how much we loved this quaint little island. People were very friendly and helpful. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded condo. Rent bikes, see sights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Never again. We were stuck here because there are weddings, reunions and other events that have filled up the hotels we normally stay. My best advice is to stay fare away from any property managed by Hodnett Cooper. And there are many. It's a 4th rate company with the lowest of standards. The properties are worn and unclean. They are obviously hurting and cutting costs on maintenance. The owners of the actual units made bad invesments and are not keeping the decor current and fresh. It is useless to complain. It's like staying at an elderly aunt's place. It is most uncomfortable and detracts from the lovely island. I can't wait to get away.... I'm trying hard to find something nice to say, but I'm drawing a blank. We were not able to get a recommendation from anyone for a plan B. You can't trust the photos on the internet and description. No exageration. This is a perfect example of how bad accomodations can absolutely ruin a trip. It really is very stressful when you strike-out and have no recourse.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shipwatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwatch

Address: 1524 Wood Avenue, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522 (Formerly ResortQuest)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shipwatch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath beach front condominiums on St. Simons Island. Each residence features a full kitchen, living room, dining area, and balcony. Community features a swimming pool and private beach boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Shipwatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwatch Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.