We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the whole family! We will be planning another trip soon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwatch

Shipwatch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shipwatch to your Saves list
Shipwatch
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1524 Wood Avenue, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522 (Formerly ResortQuest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Tennille,GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for the whole family! We will be planning another trip soon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our families stayed in 202, 206, and 301. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay at St. Simons that is oceanfront with easy beach access Shipwatch is the place to go. All the other people staying there seemed to be laid back. The pool is nice it wasnt over crowded. There is a nice BBQ area near the pool with picnic area. The boardwalk to the beach was great day or night. At nighttime its lit the whole way. My grandmother was able to access the beach from the boardwalk she has a bad knee and there was a wooded bench area at the end she could sit on to relax and listen to the ocean. Ashley at the condo office was super nice and friendly to everyone in our party. 202 could use some decor upgrades they were kinda outdated. 206 was super nice, updated decor bright and colorful, comfortable bedding, and t.v. in both bedrooms and living area, swing on the balcony with a nice glass patio table and a celing fan. It also had alot of useful utensils in the kitchen. It was very welcoming. We had to move to 301 which is an oceanfront condo. It was nice as well but the beds werent as comfy, didnt have a tv in the room with twin beds but it was still very nice. They have an elevator, the grounds are clean and cute. Parking is first come first serve be careful for the garage if you have a large vehicle. Its a gated complex and thats nice we felt very safe. There is also gated beach access which the kids thought was so cool the big wooden door to the beach :) We all really enjoyed our stay! We will definitely go back again. Check out the website to view all the condos. There are stores nearby, the pier is great, lots of fun stuff to do!

Room Tip: Go to the website and view the pics. There accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had a wonderful Spring Break week at ShipWatch on St. Simons. Our condo unit was clean, roomy and comfortable with upgraded appliances and very good kitchen equipment.
We had two five year olds and a nine year old staying here, the DVD and flat screen TV worked great (for those rainy days) and when there was a problem with the cable, the maintenance man was there right away. We biked to the beach, the village and the cute
little areas surrounding the condo. Beds were comfy and we enjoyed the museum and the lighthouse tour as well as local eateries like Barbara Jeans and Bonefish. Can't tell you how much we loved this quaint little island. People were very friendly and helpful. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded condo. Rent bikes, see sights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Never again. We were stuck here because there are weddings, reunions and other events that have filled up the hotels we normally stay. My best advice is to stay fare away from any property managed by Hodnett Cooper. And there are many. It's a 4th rate company with the lowest of standards. The properties are worn and unclean. They are obviously hurting and cutting costs on maintenance. The owners of the actual units made bad invesments and are not keeping the decor current and fresh. It is useless to complain. It's like staying at an elderly aunt's place. It is most uncomfortable and detracts from the lovely island. I can't wait to get away.... I'm trying hard to find something nice to say, but I'm drawing a blank. We were not able to get a recommendation from anyone for a plan B. You can't trust the photos on the internet and description. No exageration. This is a perfect example of how bad accomodations can absolutely ruin a trip. It really is very stressful when you strike-out and have no recourse.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlehurst Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

On the spur of the moment , while in St. Simons, I decided to spend a few nights on the beach. I contacted Beach Club first...(friends staying there)...prices were outrageous!!! My friend said she didn't pay the amt. I was quoted. I called same place she did... go figure? $936 for 2 nights in a 2 bdr unit. Ridiculous to me! I just wanted to get away a couple of nights..however, I did not want to spend a couple of pay checks to do it!

Next, contacted Hodnett Cooper rentals. They put me in touch with Ashley at Shipwatch. She is such a sweet person! She gave me keys to 3 available units. I looked at each unit prior to renting. All of the units looked nice and clean. I chose 2bdr 2 bath unit # 105 because the walk to the pool and beach was shorter. King size bed in master was a well kept and firm mattress. Both twin mattresses were firm also. Nice sleeper sofa in LR. Stacked washer & dryer in the unit also. Price was very reasonable....$199 nightly plus tax & $100 cleaning fee. I got my couple of nights away in a nice and comfortable condo without having to pay "an arm and a leg" for it. We enjoyed the atmosphere so much... we actually stayed a total of 5 nights! Sure! if you've got money to burn...then go all out! Stay at the King & Prince (had a friend there too..fussing about her dirty room she had to scrub when they arrived) or the Beach Club. Aside a few contemporary decorations in the rooms and maybe some updated bedding...I believe my stay was just as relaxing and nice as if I had stayed at one of the other places.

I would definitely stay at Shipwatch again. All 3 of the units I saw were very clean. The only complaint I would speak of... is the shortage of parking during busy holidays. People should limit # of vehicles on property per unit, because they take over others designated garage space. Also, it is difficult to park a full size SUV...I have a Yukon XL... in the garage.

  • Liked — Reasonably priced for nice accomodations located on the beach.
  • Disliked — Parking garage too small.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

For the price it was great for myself, my sister, and two littles girls ages 9 & 10. Our Condo 204 was so bright and cheerful and all the extras we needed. Very clean and very nicely furnished. There was even a basket of wonderful large beach towels.
The only warning.......make sure you know the code to the beach access gate before you go through or you will be locked out.
The grounds were very well taken care of and the pool guy was out cleaning the pool every am.
The condo's are small but for the coast a very good deal.
I rented through Home Away Vacatons.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188052
I do recommend this unit for sure.

  • Liked — the nice decrations of the unit and the clean grounds
  • Disliked — small hard to park in garage
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglasville georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

I have stayed at Shipwatch many times over the past seven years. Its a three story pink stucco building set back from the ocean. There are units on each side facing houses on one side and some building on the other. Only one unit at the end of each building has a real ocean view the rest require looking sideways over the balcony over a distance of greenery to see the ocean. There is a small pool, a grass area and BBQ with a boardwalk through some bushes to the beach. The condos have a hall with a small bedroom with twin beds (in that room a closet with a stacked washer and dryer), a bathroom off the main hall, a galley kitchen with an open wall to a small table and living room which has a sliding door to a wood triangle balcony. The master bedroom has a small bathroom with a closet in it. I have stayed at all three levels bronze, gold, platinum. They range from nicer countertops and newer flooring to heavy carpeted dated over decorated . Sadly the condos have gone up in rental cost but the units are really showing their age. This time of year the pool which is small and plain is just so freezing cold even northerners wouldn't go in it. We were there for a conference at the nearby King and Prince and the room costs at that resort were actually less than the condos at shipwatch. Granted you are getting a two bedroom condo for the price of the King and Prince hotel room but at the King and Prince there are several pools, good service and a heated indoor pool for colder days. I went inside several shipwatch units (rented by colleagues) during this conference and they all were quite grubby. My unit had a vcr and no dvd player, the clock radio was from circa 1970 and there was dust imbedded everywhere. It just looked old. The kitchen was stuffed full of cheap cups and saucers, random glassware but no real pots and pans. it looked like someone either took all their old useless junk from home and shoved it in this rental condo or, even worse, they bought it all at garage sales. Either way, there was no room to store any food in the tiny kitchen and it was difficult to prepare a meal which is the whole reason you rent a condo anyway. The grounds are looking worn. The cleaning ladies have a room on the ground floor that is a storage area. They spend a large amount of time there smoking. The smoke smell is so bad it actually surrounds the main elevator area and wafts up to the units. Somehow that smoke smell just made the whole experience of Shipwatch just that much worse. Shipwatch used to be cheaper, funky, quiet and the units were just nicer. Now you feel like its going from reasonably priced and funky to cheap hotel and overpriced. One positive note. The young lady in the front office (and her cats) could not have been nicer. She was sweet and helpful and may be the only reason someone would stay at Shipwatch again. Why pay for old and grubby when you can stay in a nice resort hotel with much more stuff just a few doors down?

  • Liked — The woman at the front desk
  • Disliked — the cost for such a dump
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shipwatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwatch

Address: 1524 Wood Avenue, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522 (Formerly ResortQuest)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shipwatch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath beach front condominiums on St. Simons Island. Each residence features a full kitchen, living room, dining area, and balcony. Community features a swimming pool and private beach boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Shipwatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwatch Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.