We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Ocean Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   599 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Last minute booking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

On a roadtrip from Williamsburg down to Florida ...we found this place through the Tourist office on the island by default rather than intent.
The reception staff were very accomodating and whilst the continental breakfasts didn't have much choice ... there was no lacking in quantity. Very necessary when travelling with an always hungry cyclist!
The location of this Inn is so handy to the local shopping and restaurants and given that we were from the UK we were made welcome to logging onto their Internet to check mails etc to avoid the UK Internet charges. All in all a lovely 3 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    65
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
99
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Staff was friendly and got a great rate for large room we needed for my wife and 3 small kids we stayed here in june were from Inman SC the pool is small but enough room to have a great time your right in the heart of st simons island that u can walk to where u want to.to get what ever u need

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My family of four had plenty of room in the king / queen suite. The front desk was helpful and delightful. The lemon water was a nice touch. The wifi connection was strong enough to allow us to do office work. The pool was salt water and cool in October but the kids enjoyed it. Some of the room furnishings were worn but everything was clean. The breakfast was simple but there are such great restaurant options within walking distance that we had planned to eat out anyway. We would definitely return to this hotel if we go back to Saint Simons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've stayed here several times in recent years. Lately, the rates have increased substantially. I still like the place okay. It is compact and you can park under the building and that's a plus. About our most recent stay: When we went to our room on check-in, we saw that the door to the room would not lock when closed. We went down to desk, and they gave me a metal old-style key and said to use it for the deadbolt on the door. Okay, no big deal. But then my wife saw that there was no hair dryer in the room. Back down to the desk, and they decided to move us to another room. When we got there, no coffee, AND one of the key cards would not unlock the door. Back down again. Things finally fixed, but not one "I'm sorry" or anything like that. Do they consider this good service? Some people might like to know that there are no exercise facilities at all at the hotel. If you want to do a treadmill or stationary bike indoors you are out of luck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The room was nice, but dirty. There were fingernail clippings on the bed post, somebody left their glasses on the floor and they were not picked up even after housekeeping had cleaned....I use that word loosely. There was no coffee by the maker, called the front desk and we were told to come down and get some. THEN we were double charged for the room, and when I spoke to Stephanie, she was EXTREMELY rude, told me I was wrong, and then threw me on hold for 7 minutes waiting for a manager that I had to call back to speak with! It has been 4 days, and we STILL have not seen a refund for the double charge. NEVER staying at this hotel again. EVER. There are much better places on this Island, don't waste your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, Manager at Ocean Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We at Ocean Inn & Suites are so sorry and somewhat surprised to hear your comments about your stay. We pride ourselves in the fact that we inspect every room after it is cleaned and prior to the guest opening the door after they check in. We always mention at check in that we have 24 hour desk service. We encourage our guests to give us immediate feedback once they go to their room. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to fix something we were not aware of. As to our staff, you and I spoke on the phone and stated that if you had any problems, questions and or concerns to please contact me. I unfortunately have not spoken to you subsequently so again, I have not been given the opportunity to fix something I was not aware of. In regards to the case of the double charge, we were made aware of the problem 2 days after your stay. Within 24 hours we credited your account, emailed the proof of adjustment and offered to fax the information to you. Depending on the credit card company and your bank, credits may take up to 10 days to process. If you have not received your credit at this point, then you may want to contact your back. We hope that your travels will give us another chance to change your opinion and provide you an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice limited service hotel. Rooms are clean with fairly good quality furnishings. Great location and view of lighthouse from the front of the hotel. We had a room at the back with a not so great view of a house, so I would recommend springing for a room with a lighthouse view. The staff is what really makes this hotel. Every one of them was fantastic. It was quite refreshing too see pleasant people that enjoy their jobs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Overall the room was nice. The furniture, decor and fixtures could use some updating and housekeeping could have done a little better dusting in the nooks and crannies. The inn is walking distance of shops and restaurants. Our room had a beautiful view of the lighthouse.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Address: 599 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.