We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the Ordinary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Simons Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Save
You added The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island to your Saves list
1000 Hampton Point Drive, Post Office Box 21078, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Escape from the Ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This trip was selected by my college roommate and me for our first reunion. Having traveled to exotic locales several times I feel qualified to offer my critique. Due to the reviews I read, awards touted and other recommendations, my expectations were high. This is a summary of my experience over six days.

RAVES: Stacia, the head naturalist (only there two days a week, I am told) who's excitement and enthusiasm for everything natural should be duplicated by the others. The SETTING: perfect for nature enthusiasts and lots of opportunity to experience many aspects of the island. The EQUIPMENT: pickups outfitted for safaris, kayaks, bicycles, fishing rods and bait (extra for a fishing license), and motorized skiffs; REFRESHMENTS: the cocktail hour, as well as the beverages provided at the beach, in the cottages, and in the main lodge. Lovely cookies available afternoon and evening.

I was gratified to see the painted buntings at the feeder off our deck almost daily. The sea turtle nest excavation was a highlight since we were able to cheer four baby loggerhead turtles into the surf and on their way! I also admired the attempts to conserve natural resources and grow organic vegetables.

DISAPPOINTMENTS: Buildings: RUSTIC! Some color would go a long way toward adding cheer, especially at night and on rainy days. Rooms were spacious but drab. On the plus side beds were comfortable. iI found it was dark and quiet at night (flashlights were provided) providing a restful environment. Ceiling fans added comfort. The porches and decks help one get close to nature and enjoy water views.

FOOD: Left much to be desired by this writer, as I am health conscious. Many of the menus were not healthful due to being fried (I requested low fat) and MUCH too SALTY. Salt wasn't just taste but also the health effects that I experienced. My ankles became so swollen that I lost sleep worrying what other effects it might have on my health (high blood pressure?). I did speak with the sous chef about this when she was in charge, and she appeared to adjust the overall amount of salt used. However, my ankles did not recover until three days after my return home. With salt shakers on the table, in my opinion, there is no excuse for over salting the food, even the vegetables.

Value: It seemed to be very pricy, over $600 a day for the two of us while others had much better deals for shorter periods of time. However, I realize that a large staff is needed, some unseen, and accommodations provided for them, as well as ours. We did receive a unique and memorable experience for our money, and it was a great reunion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    15
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
32
87
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although reviewed in Forbes magazine, very few Georgians know about this special lodge on a private island. If you are a birder, fisherman, or love secluded beaches, this is a special place for nature and environmentally conscious recreation.

Room Tip: The River and Cedar Lodges have a good set up with four rooms facing a common room. Private and lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place was pretty unique! I don't think there are many places like it. It was very beautiful! Our room was very interesting. It made you feel like you were taking a trip to the past, but still had the amenities of today.

The beach, though two miles away from resort, was very nice. During low tide, you can search for shells and sand dollars. The difference in tides is quite amazing too.

The resort has many activities they offer. Each day they schedule a few different ones, but if you want to do something else, they are very accommodating. If you don't feel like walking or biking somewhere on the island, they will drive you there. They offer nature walks/drives, fishing, and you can even take your own small boat out on your own. We spent most time on the beach.

Our worst experience with this trip was the bugs. Within minutes of arriving to the island, I was bitten by mosquitoes at least 5 times. I know this is something that is out of their control, but just take note about this if you don't like bugs. We also had some issues with bugs in our room, and this included a very large cockroach. We decided not to complain about this, as we figured it was probably inevitable, and very hard to control due to the type of structure we were staying in, as well as all the surrounding nature.

Our best experience with this trip was the food. Each meal is spent family style around big tables with all of the rest of the visitors (no more than 30 some). You can get to know everyone else, though this was a difficult experience for us because we were much younger than most of the others. The food was amazing! If you have any food issues, the staff is very accommodating to make sure you have a extraordinary meal every time.

Oh, and that reminds me. The staff gets an A+. Very awesome! I remember thinking to myself, "southern hospitality at its finest!" Great job guys!

Room Tip: Make sure you are ok with bugs. There are a TON of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A visit to this island is unlike anything else I have done. It is a rare and wonderful treat to explore a barrier island that is completely unspoiled. The staff naturalists provide various "adventure" options to help guests experience the island and learn about its unique eco system.

We took advantage of birding, fishing, kayaking , beach exploration and night beach walk adventures. We also biked to the beach on our own for some private beach time.

Rooms are comfortable ... I'd call it upscale rustic. Meals are fabulous. Fresh local food prepared but a first rate chef. Wonderful cocktail hour every night at 6. Great chance to relax after a busy day of adventures and t get to know the staff and the other guests.

Yes, there are plenty of bugs.The lodge provides plenty of bug spray and sun screen although on my next visit I will bring my own Deep Woods type spray. Don't let the prospect of a few bites deter you from this magical place .

I can't remember the last time I went away and completely forgot all about the stresses of everyday life. A stay at this lodge is truly vacation !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you want to get an education on the Georgia Coast and the rich biomass the area offers, LSSI is your place. Lots of wonderful educational opportunities by naturalists who all clearly want to be there and share (and add to) their knowledge. We went at the end of August and the mosquitoes were as bad as we thought they would be....BUT, it's not a big deal because they have excellent repellent everywhere, head nets, and we were prepared with the right clothing. The perfect clothing for this island is the Columbia long-sleeved "fishing" shirts and zip off pants. We needed a set for each day (but there are washers and dryers you may use and the shirts are for sale at a very reasonable price in the Lodge store). Water socks are a good thing to bring for the ocean and other activities. I had some insect-repellent socks I bought at Orvis that would have been perfect for the trip had I remembered to bring them. Bring covered shoes you can wear during the daytime (instead of just sandals).
The entire staff is very friendly and accommodating. Matthew, the head Chef, prepares excellent (and surprisingly healthy) meals which are served at 9 AM, 1 PM, and 7 PM (appetizers and libations are served at 6 PM in the Lodge). Sweetwater 420 is on tap in the Lodge for you whenever you want to serve yourself. We caught a nice redfish which Matthew cooked and served to us and the other guests as one of the appetizers that night. Another guest requested Key Lime Pie (they had fresh key limes growing in the organic garden!). He prepared it for her that night!
We loved meeting the other guests on our trip!! Two nights would have been OK, but three nights was perfect.
Rooms are nice, but not particularly plush. They are very clean and very comfortable with great A/C! You won't be in your room anyway, so really they are perfect. They had a lighted makeup mirror in the bathroom for the ladies.
My husband was dying to see an Eastern Diamondback Rattlesnake. Ben put him right on a pretty good sized one that was all coiled up with his rattle going full strength. Made my husband's day. I saw a smaller one (18") right next to the road when riding my bike to the beach. Other nonpoisonous snakes are all around to coexist peacefully.
This is truly a place where you can escape and get back in touch with nature!! We have been regular visitors of SSI for over 40 years and LOVED what LSSI has to offer!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others. If a view is important, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A stay at the historic Lodge on Little Saint Simons Island is truly "all inclusive;" extraordinary food, unlimited 24/7 beverages (soft and hard), nature tours with expert naturalists, bird watching with experts, boating (in skiffs, kayaks and canoes), bicycles, beach, enormous pool, all with a maximum of 32 guests on the island. Or, do nothing at all. This is the real Fantasy Island! Be prepared to make new friends for a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an excellent place to turn off the world and relax. The beach is beautiful and deserted. The naturalists are so informative and willing to cater to your every outdoor desire.
The food is always interesting and delicious. This is a great place to see what Coastal Georgia is truly about.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or room service. Ask for a cottage that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island

Address: 1000 Hampton Point Drive, Post Office Box 21078, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prized for its pristine natural beauty, gracious hospitality and secluded worlds-away appeal, Little St. Simons Island is a private barrier island just off the Georgia coast. One of the crown jewels of Georgia's famed Golden Isles, Little St. Simons Island offers 7 miles of private beaches and 10,000 acres of undeveloped wilderness for exploration and relaxation. Privately owned since 1908, Little St. Simons Island has retained the charm and unhurried pace of coastal living. Moss draped live oaks and glistening marshes surround gracious accommodations in six charming cottages for no more than 32 overnight guests. The island is a paradise for nature lovers and offers a host of recreational, naturalist-led experiences including birding, boating, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, bicycling, interpretive tours, beachcombing, fishing and swimming. Accessible only by boat, this extraordinary natural sanctuary-among the last of its kind anywhere- welcomes your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Little St. Simons Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.