We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special evening/great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delaney's Bistro

Delaney's Bistro
3415 Frederica Rd #C, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912-638-1330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special evening/great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to hear about their 18 specials. The service was fantastic, the food delicious... I highly recommend dinner here

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    22
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charleston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Foie Gras ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Foie Gras was perfect as well as my lamb. Do not come w/o a reservation or you will sit in the pub part. Men wear long pants and ladies look fine, this is service as it's finest!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food--Where is our waiter?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We heard the food at this establishment was excellent. Upon hearing about the beautiful lobster presentation, I was immediately interested. We called about getting a reservation. They were closed on Thursday and Friday night for private parties. I was told the only opening they had on Saturday was 9:30 pm. No thanks. On a whim, I called Saturday afternoon on the chance that we might still get in earlier. We were leaving town on Sunday. They told me I could come at 6:00 or 9:30. We were seated right away and our waiter came over to tell us the appetizer and entree specials. There were quite a few of both. I was AMAZED at how this waiter--definitely a pro--rattled off about 15 different specials without batting an eye. My husband and I decided they must arrive at noon to memorize the specials. I selected the escargot in a blue cheese sauce with toast points. It was perfect. For my entree, I chose the lobster (hold onto your wallet--it's 49.00). It was excellent AND beautifully presented. My husband ordered the ribeye, but was brought a filet--by a different waiter. At this point we realized we had been dumped by our waiter. We're not sure why. They never explained it. We were nothing but cordial. My husband maintains it was really rude. I don't think he wants to go back. My guess is someone requested him, so he passed us off. My husband still gave a decent tip--we were still taken care of--but it would have been much bigger otherwise. He said the steak was fantastic, even though he was given the wrong cut. I don't normally order dessert unless the food is out of sight. It was, so I ordered some sort of chocolate mousse/cake and my husband selected the cream brûlée. Both were awesome. I'll go back, probably on an upcoming girl's trip. My husband is not going to be a regular when we visit due to the "bush league" experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place is a little hard to find, but SO worth the effort. This place is chef-owned, and the nightly specials outnumber the regular menu items! Very unique and delicious! I had the Antelope, and my fiance had the scallops. Just fantastic, can't say enough good things. It is pricey, but the quality is worth it, as is the preparation and variety. Service was impeccable. Place was packed (understandably), and it was obvious that it is popular with the locals, which is always a good sign!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Small restaurant, always crowded which means the food and service is fantastic. Great menu, but the chef always has lots of dishes not on the menu! Some fantastic appetizers, seafood, beef etc. Great wine menu as well!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaney's Bistro also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Delaney's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delaney's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.