We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach + Bed and Breakfast = Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Beach Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Beach Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Bed & Breakfast
907 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
Auburn, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beach + Bed and Breakfast = Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

For a surprise birthday gift, I took my wife to St. Simons Island due to the Gulf having a bit of oil in it. We found the Beach Bed and Breakfast rather randomly through Google, so we didn't really know what to expect besides what we saw on their website.

When we pulled up, we were super impressed. The B&B overlooks the sound and is right across the street from a bulkhead that has beach when the tide is out. It's located on a quiet residential street with very little traffic. We booked an off season deal to stay in the Governor's Suite, and we felt like royalty. We had a veranda to ourselves that overlooked the water and the house felt like it was ours (not sure if there were any other guests there at all).

The innkeeper, Melanie, was very accommodating. She even cooked us breakfast to order and delivered it to our room so we could have a private morning. She also let us use beach stuff on the day that we checked out. When we dropped it off, we were able to use the downstairs shower too! That made a long car ride home much more pleasant.

The TV room is not to be missed. Even though we only got about ten minutes into a movie before we fell asleep, it was very cool to watch a movie on the HUGE TV. I'm sure watching sports there would be too much fun.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Incredible location, breathtaking interior, and with a staff that personifies classic Southern Hospitality, the Beach Bed and Breakfast is the ultimate in undisturbed luxury! It is truly a gem on this beautiful island. We were continually blown away by the charming details of this charming BB & B; everything from the colorful, ocean-themed murals to the cozy white robes seem to be set up for royalty. Be sure to check out the Governer's Suite if you're looking for something truly exceptional. The location of the BB & B could not be more ideal; the beach is literally right outside the front door, and St. Simon's small downtown district and lighthouse are only a couple blocks away. Larry especially made our trip to St. Simon's memorable with his easy, friendly demeanor. His knowledge of the island led us to some of the best experiences of our trip, including our bike trip to the northern part of St. Simon's (highly recommended) and our visit to the historical Christ's Church. Thanks again, Larry, for making our visit to Georgia fantastic!
Overall, we highly recommend the BB & B for anyone looking for a memorable getaway - We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We arrived on Friday afternoon, greeted by the smiling, G.M. Melanie Gerbel. We were blown away with the breath taking view from the Govenor Suite. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful during our stay on SSI. Larry was extraordinary with his knowledge of local hang out spots for night life on the island. This will be our new favorite vacation spot. It was very nice to not fight with tourists during this time of the year!!

Thanks again Beach B & B

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My friend and I researched special places to go for a girls' trip to celebrate our 60th birthdays. We wanted to find a place neither of us had been - ended up selecting St. Simon's Island. We saw ads for Beach Bed & Breakfast and we were sold! Sounded like the perfect setting to be pampered - described on their website as "an intimate inn experience with all of the luxury and service of a world-class hotel."

The location is great - awesome views! We were, however, disappointed with our stay. From the correspondence, website, and reviews, we thought this was a full-service inn - This was not our experience.

As it turned out, we were the only guests staying there for three nights and there was no one from the management staying on the property. One of the nights we returned after dark from dinner to find there were no lights on in this large house and it was unlocked. We did not have a key to the front door and it can only be locked from the outside. Bottom line, we did not feel safe. It was disappointing to experience this unease at a time when we had planned to relax and indulge ourselves. Instead, we worried about being left alone in a house that is unlocked and unattended most of the afternoon and evening. Half of the Beach Bed and Breakfast is closed down - apparently due to lack of business. When management did come to close the property at night, we discovered that we were indeed locked in from the outside - could not unlock the front door - this is a fire hazard. We did find a door that we could open in the garage.

The management did give us a gift card to use at a local restaurant because we were unhappy; however, the owner/manager clearly was unconcerned and as we were leaving did not even inquire about our satisfaction. For a property that charges $300+ per night, this was way below our expectation.

Since this property requires 1/2 of the money at booking and the other 1/2 seven days prior to the visit, we felt we had no leverage for our unhappy experience. Yes we could have left, but we felt we would never get our money back. We will not be returning nor will we recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BB&BSt.Simons, Manager at Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2009
The Beach Bed and Breakfast appreciates feedback from our previous guests.
Our Front Desk staff is available from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm daily. After hours a manager can be reached at any time and phone numbers are given to all guests in case of an emergency.

Our Innkeeper lives on the property, as it is a bed and breakfast inn, and is available for our guests 24 hours a day. He normally works outside of the inn during the day when staff is present but returns after 5 p.m.

Our innkeeper went to dinner on the specific night the guests are referring to and planned on returning earlier then he did due to unforeseen circumstances.
After these guests called our manager on call that night, she profusely apologized and gave them a gift certificate to use at a local restaurant the next night.
The doors can be locked from the inside, but guests on the inside can unlock them from the inside. We do not lock our guests in the inn as it would be a fire hazard.

We take great pride in our staff members and their dedication to providing outstanding customer service. Please review our prior guest comments regarding our staff's professional and friendly service and genuine southern hospitality.

Thank you for taking the time to read our response.

Warm and sunny Regards
Melanie Gerbel
Manager

Beach Bed & Breakfast
907 Beachview Drive
Saint Simons Island, Georgia 31522
1-877-634-2800 Toll Free
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

What a perfect 3 day getaway. My husband and I traveled for a romantic 10 year anniversary...1st trip without our little guys. We were MORE than impressed. We stayed in the Governor's Suite, 860 sqaure feet of pure indulgence...dual head shower, jacuzzi tub, luxurious bath robes, plush towels, complimentary snacks and beverages, huge oceanfront balcony...need I say more? We didn't have to spend hardly any money in addition to the room because the B&B has everything...We rode bikes around the island all 3 days which was one of my favorite things. We used the B&B's complimentary beach chairs, borrowed a cooler and beach gear for our daily beach trips, and even watched a romantic flick down in the "movie theatre". And breakfast daily...YUM!!! Served on the oceanfront balcony...what a way to begin each day. Larry, Kelly, and Melanie were extremely helpful...made dinner reservations, gave us tips about the island, and much more. Melanie truly was a gem and was the most friendly hostess. We really did feel right at home. This is the first B&B we have ever stayed in. I always thought I would feel too watched over or maybe that it wouldn't seem romantic with lots of folks in the same house...but it truly was the most romantic trip we have ever taken!!! We are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Bed & Breakfast for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and had a great time. The view is fantastic from the large porch overlooking the ocean. Joe and his staff were terrific and very accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Can't wait to go back again!

Hugh & Anne Harwood

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I booked the Beach Bed and Breakfast on St. Simons, GA for my wife's birthday and we stayed for three nights and they went by so quickly. We stay in the St. Simons Suite. We had a wonderful view of the beach and it was special to me because my family and I, back when I was very young, frolicked on that same beach many years ago. It was very special to stay in such a wonderfully decorated, spacious suite. The first thing my wife noticed, believe or not, was the comfort of the King Size bed in our room. We slept so good. Joe McDonough and his staff were first class...having breakfast on the front balcony overlooking the beach was real special. We will definitely return. Thank you, Joe, for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bed & Breakfast

Address: 907 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Displaying one of the most spectacular views of the Atlantic, Beach Bed & Breakfast provides a sublime oceanfront setting for enjoying the best of historic St. Simons Island and the full breadth of Georgia's picturesque Golden Isles. Our magnificent Spanish Mediterranean-style inn has been exquisitely crafted to offer an intimate inn experience with all the luxury and service of a world-class hotel. Throughout the inn, graciously furnished common areas provide inviting places for relaxation and friendly conversation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Saint Simons Island
Beach Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.