We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - disappointing experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bed & Breakfast

Beach Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Beach Bed & Breakfast
907 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Location - disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My friend and I researched special places to go for a girls' trip to celebrate our 60th birthdays. We wanted to find a place neither of us had been - ended up selecting St. Simon's Island. We saw ads for Beach Bed & Breakfast and we were sold! Sounded like the perfect setting to be pampered - described on their website as "an intimate inn experience with all of the luxury and service of a world-class hotel."

The location is great - awesome views! We were, however, disappointed with our stay. From the correspondence, website, and reviews, we thought this was a full-service inn - This was not our experience.

As it turned out, we were the only guests staying there for three nights and there was no one from the management staying on the property. One of the nights we returned after dark from dinner to find there were no lights on in this large house and it was unlocked. We did not have a key to the front door and it can only be locked from the outside. Bottom line, we did not feel safe. It was disappointing to experience this unease at a time when we had planned to relax and indulge ourselves. Instead, we worried about being left alone in a house that is unlocked and unattended most of the afternoon and evening. Half of the Beach Bed and Breakfast is closed down - apparently due to lack of business. When management did come to close the property at night, we discovered that we were indeed locked in from the outside - could not unlock the front door - this is a fire hazard. We did find a door that we could open in the garage.

The management did give us a gift card to use at a local restaurant because we were unhappy; however, the owner/manager clearly was unconcerned and as we were leaving did not even inquire about our satisfaction. For a property that charges $300+ per night, this was way below our expectation.

Since this property requires 1/2 of the money at booking and the other 1/2 seven days prior to the visit, we felt we had no leverage for our unhappy experience. Yes we could have left, but we felt we would never get our money back. We will not be returning nor will we recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BB&BSt.Simons, Manager at Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2009
The Beach Bed and Breakfast appreciates feedback from our previous guests.
Our Front Desk staff is available from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm daily. After hours a manager can be reached at any time and phone numbers are given to all guests in case of an emergency.

Our Innkeeper lives on the property, as it is a bed and breakfast inn, and is available for our guests 24 hours a day. He normally works outside of the inn during the day when staff is present but returns after 5 p.m.

Our innkeeper went to dinner on the specific night the guests are referring to and planned on returning earlier then he did due to unforeseen circumstances.
After these guests called our manager on call that night, she profusely apologized and gave them a gift certificate to use at a local restaurant the next night.
The doors can be locked from the inside, but guests on the inside can unlock them from the inside. We do not lock our guests in the inn as it would be a fire hazard.

We take great pride in our staff members and their dedication to providing outstanding customer service. Please review our prior guest comments regarding our staff's professional and friendly service and genuine southern hospitality.

Thank you for taking the time to read our response.

Warm and sunny Regards
Melanie Gerbel
Manager

Beach Bed & Breakfast
907 Beachview Drive
Saint Simons Island, Georgia 31522
1-877-634-2800 Toll Free
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

What a perfect 3 day getaway. My husband and I traveled for a romantic 10 year anniversary...1st trip without our little guys. We were MORE than impressed. We stayed in the Governor's Suite, 860 sqaure feet of pure indulgence...dual head shower, jacuzzi tub, luxurious bath robes, plush towels, complimentary snacks and beverages, huge oceanfront balcony...need I say more? We didn't have to spend hardly any money in addition to the room because the B&B has everything...We rode bikes around the island all 3 days which was one of my favorite things. We used the B&B's complimentary beach chairs, borrowed a cooler and beach gear for our daily beach trips, and even watched a romantic flick down in the "movie theatre". And breakfast daily...YUM!!! Served on the oceanfront balcony...what a way to begin each day. Larry, Kelly, and Melanie were extremely helpful...made dinner reservations, gave us tips about the island, and much more. Melanie truly was a gem and was the most friendly hostess. We really did feel right at home. This is the first B&B we have ever stayed in. I always thought I would feel too watched over or maybe that it wouldn't seem romantic with lots of folks in the same house...but it truly was the most romantic trip we have ever taken!!! We are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Bed & Breakfast for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and had a great time. The view is fantastic from the large porch overlooking the ocean. Joe and his staff were terrific and very accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Can't wait to go back again!

Hugh & Anne Harwood

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I booked the Beach Bed and Breakfast on St. Simons, GA for my wife's birthday and we stayed for three nights and they went by so quickly. We stay in the St. Simons Suite. We had a wonderful view of the beach and it was special to me because my family and I, back when I was very young, frolicked on that same beach many years ago. It was very special to stay in such a wonderfully decorated, spacious suite. The first thing my wife noticed, believe or not, was the comfort of the King Size bed in our room. We slept so good. Joe McDonough and his staff were first class...having breakfast on the front balcony overlooking the beach was real special. We will definitely return. Thank you, Joe, for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

My daughter and I recently spent two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The accommodations are not only comfortable but also beautifully decorated. A fantastic view and great staff make this a top choice on St. Simons Island.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenova, west virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and stayed in the Governors Suite for our anniversary (July 11th and 12th) and were awe struck at first site! You cannot find a better place to stay. The room is simply unbelievable and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Room itself and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We had a fantastic five days of incredible service from Jerry, Gloria, Melanie, Larry, and Joe. Jerry greeted us, and made us feel comfortable when we arrived, showing us a beautiful suite, conveniently located on the main level. There was always a scrumptious breakfast, served by the lovely Gloria and the head chef, Melanie, who created luscious appetizers, too! Larry shared his knowledge of St.Simon's Island favorite restaurants with us, and we were always delighted. Joe treated us to a tour of his soon-to-be B & B boutique style hotel, "Ocean Lodge," located a few steps from this B & B. They plan to open in September, and it will be globally known for its visionary amenities for business and personal pleasure. We spent our days walking across the street to the ocean, enjoying the jacuzzi type pool in the garden, sitting on the gorgeous veranda, sipping wine and feeling the ocean breezes in the evening. We have stayed at other select registry inns, but this is the one that we plan on returning to.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bed & Breakfast

Address: 907 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Displaying one of the most spectacular views of the Atlantic, Beach Bed & Breakfast provides a sublime oceanfront setting for enjoying the best of historic St. Simons Island and the full breadth of Georgia's picturesque Golden Isles. Our magnificent Spanish Mediterranean-style inn has been exquisitely crafted to offer an intimate inn experience with all the luxury and service of a world-class hotel. Throughout the inn, graciously furnished common areas provide inviting places for relaxation and friendly conversation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bed And Breakfast
Beach Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.