We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bed & Breakfast

Beach Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Beach Bed & Breakfast
907 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

What a perfect 3 day getaway. My husband and I traveled for a romantic 10 year anniversary...1st trip without our little guys. We were MORE than impressed. We stayed in the Governor's Suite, 860 sqaure feet of pure indulgence...dual head shower, jacuzzi tub, luxurious bath robes, plush towels, complimentary snacks and beverages, huge oceanfront balcony...need I say more? We didn't have to spend hardly any money in addition to the room because the B&B has everything...We rode bikes around the island all 3 days which was one of my favorite things. We used the B&B's complimentary beach chairs, borrowed a cooler and beach gear for our daily beach trips, and even watched a romantic flick down in the "movie theatre". And breakfast daily...YUM!!! Served on the oceanfront balcony...what a way to begin each day. Larry, Kelly, and Melanie were extremely helpful...made dinner reservations, gave us tips about the island, and much more. Melanie truly was a gem and was the most friendly hostess. We really did feel right at home. This is the first B&B we have ever stayed in. I always thought I would feel too watched over or maybe that it wouldn't seem romantic with lots of folks in the same house...but it truly was the most romantic trip we have ever taken!!! We are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Bed & Breakfast for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and had a great time. The view is fantastic from the large porch overlooking the ocean. Joe and his staff were terrific and very accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Can't wait to go back again!

Hugh & Anne Harwood

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I booked the Beach Bed and Breakfast on St. Simons, GA for my wife's birthday and we stayed for three nights and they went by so quickly. We stay in the St. Simons Suite. We had a wonderful view of the beach and it was special to me because my family and I, back when I was very young, frolicked on that same beach many years ago. It was very special to stay in such a wonderfully decorated, spacious suite. The first thing my wife noticed, believe or not, was the comfort of the King Size bed in our room. We slept so good. Joe McDonough and his staff were first class...having breakfast on the front balcony overlooking the beach was real special. We will definitely return. Thank you, Joe, for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

My daughter and I recently spent two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The accommodations are not only comfortable but also beautifully decorated. A fantastic view and great staff make this a top choice on St. Simons Island.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenova, west virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and stayed in the Governors Suite for our anniversary (July 11th and 12th) and were awe struck at first site! You cannot find a better place to stay. The room is simply unbelievable and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Room itself and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We had a fantastic five days of incredible service from Jerry, Gloria, Melanie, Larry, and Joe. Jerry greeted us, and made us feel comfortable when we arrived, showing us a beautiful suite, conveniently located on the main level. There was always a scrumptious breakfast, served by the lovely Gloria and the head chef, Melanie, who created luscious appetizers, too! Larry shared his knowledge of St.Simon's Island favorite restaurants with us, and we were always delighted. Joe treated us to a tour of his soon-to-be B & B boutique style hotel, "Ocean Lodge," located a few steps from this B & B. They plan to open in September, and it will be globally known for its visionary amenities for business and personal pleasure. We spent our days walking across the street to the ocean, enjoying the jacuzzi type pool in the garden, sitting on the gorgeous veranda, sipping wine and feeling the ocean breezes in the evening. We have stayed at other select registry inns, but this is the one that we plan on returning to.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This past weekend my husband surprised me with a quick getaway to Beach, Bed & Breakfast and it was a wonderful surprise. With a clear view of the beach, it's located only a quick bike ride to the pier & lighthouse and close to local restaurants.

It was our first B&B experience and we were very pleased. The furnishings are modern and the property is clean and well kept. The staff is warm and friendly, and never intrusive.

We were in the Sapelo Suite which is on the second level of the property. Our room featured a Queen-sized bed, television and a small balcony that faced the back of the property. Our refrigerator was stocked with a small bottle of Chardonnay, bottled water, soft drinks and beer (Miller Lite and Corona). There were also other snacks (chips, candy) in the room with a small bottle of Merlot. Just outside of our room was a private sitting area with a gas fireplace and another television. Downstairs is a theater room available to all guests with a selection of DVDs.

And the breakfast was fantastic. Served between 7:30 and 9:30 am, you can eat inside the dining area where there's seating for a big party or intimate tables for 2. Or you may elect to sit out on the covered wrap around balcony overlooking the beach. Don't want to spoil it for future visitors by telling what we had but I have to give a thumbs up for the breakfast casserole!

If you go, be sure to ride the bikes on the beach in the morning or evening before the tide comes in. We also spent a fun afternoon at Jekyll Island which is about 15-20 minutes away. A little disappointed that there's not an option to lay out by a pool, but with the beach at your fingertips it wasn't an issue at all.

St. Simons is a quiet town and it was nice to relax and not be on a tight schedule with a set itinerary. Looking forward to our next visit to BB&B.

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bed & Breakfast

Address: 907 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Displaying one of the most spectacular views of the Atlantic, Beach Bed & Breakfast provides a sublime oceanfront setting for enjoying the best of historic St. Simons Island and the full breadth of Georgia's picturesque Golden Isles. Our magnificent Spanish Mediterranean-style inn has been exquisitely crafted to offer an intimate inn experience with all the luxury and service of a world-class hotel. Throughout the inn, graciously furnished common areas provide inviting places for relaxation and friendly conversation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bed And Breakfast
Beach Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.