We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!! Best meal all week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Half Shell

The Half Shell
504 Beachview drive, Suite 1-A, Saint Simons Island, GA
+1 912-268-4241
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We're a casual, family friendly restaurant with contemporary coastal American cuisine. Follow us on Facebook & Instagram!
ROME
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!! Best meal all week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This little hole in the wall is fabulous!! We were in SSI for a week on business and just when I was giving up on finding good food (See other reviews), I followed a TripAdvisor recommendation and tried this place. Went back TWICE in two days and would have gone a third had we not been across the island at dinner. The crab cakes are INCREDIBLE!! You simply MUST start with that (or oysters). I had their spinach salad with grilled mahi and poppyseed vinaigrette. So flipping good, I had the EXACT same thing the next night. My friend had grilled shrimp over salad. It was excellent also. But on night two, she had the grilled mahi basket with the bacon wrapped green beans. People, hear me now, GET THE GREEN BEANS!! Absolutely fantastic! Their grilled salmon with pesto is a specialty. If you like an adventuresome drink, get the Wobbly Roger. It is coke mixed with cherry moonshine garnished with an angry cherry which is a cherry soaked in the moonshine. My hand to God, you will not feel your tongue afterward. And then there was Nicky's Hard Fruit Punch. Woo! Our most favorite place, by far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really have enjoyed this new place. Our picks-crab cake blt and bacon wrapped green beans. The staff is always friendly and the atmosphere is perfectly beachy. A great date night.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“SSI another great place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've been lucky with all of our visits to St. Simons and we've found a new spot to enjoy in the Half Shell ... Jaicee was our server
and was just great. How great is it to get a server that knows the food makes suggestions, and really cares that you have a great time. Food and service both were just spot on! Crab Trap has always been
On our list and now Half Shell will be one of our benchmarks for SSI
Cocktails rocked and several great drafts on tap.
Thanks for a great meal out. Check out our pictures ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Huge dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a bar with some food not really a restaurant, in fairness the oysters and soup were good but the entrees were not good. I had the 'fresh catch' Cobia encrusted in Almond blah blah .. it was fried fish and flavorless at that, I even asked for the healthiest option and got a plate of fried fish. My wife had a caesar salad with shrimp. We both left most of the food.
If you want bar food this place is fine, but if you are going out for a nice meal go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rankchef, Owner at The Half Shell, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing to dine with us and taking the time to review our restaurant. We are truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your dining experience, however we disagree with your assessment that we’re “a bar with some food not really a restaurant.” Though the bar is a focal point in the front dining room, we are a restaurant first and try to maintain a family friendly atmosphere.

The blah blah you of which you spoke was our dinner special, Pecan Fried Corvina with a Buttermilk Dill Cream. It was one of our most popular specials that week. Again, I am apologetic that you did not care for it. If you were seeking a healthier option, the Catch of the Day, either grilled or blackened, with steamed broccoli and sautéed veggies would have been a better choice.

I stopped by your table shortly after you received and had started eating your entrees, yet you nor your wife spoke no words of discontent to me. I would have gladly rectified the situation, but now I can offer only words in return.

Again, thank you for your review, and we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dinner!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a great time at the patio! Food was great, the burger with an egg was awesome, and the crap soup was good too and service was on point. The ambiance was perfect, music, lighting, and seems like they arranged the weather as was perfect too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Shell also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Half Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Half Shell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.