We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Fishing Pier” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fishing Pier

Fishing Pier
Saint Simons Island, GA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Milledgeville, Georgia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Free Fishing Pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice pier for fishing or just strolling out to the end. There is about a two foot step down at the very ends of the pier that extends another couple feet. There is a chain across this lower level to keep people from falling, but hold on to the little ones; I'm afraid running along here could be dangerous.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    62
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I didn't fish but it's was a nice place to sit and listen to the water in the morning and evening. It's also a good spot to take pictures looking back towards shore.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to fish under cover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Clean and lots of rooms for others to fish also. A easy walk from the hotel. And restrooms are near and clean like all the public palces on the island.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Must Destination in St. Simons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I went to the Pier daily during our stay. It is next to the Village with several little shops to browse through, including non-touristy shops. There is a bait shop in the Village if you want to try your hand at fishing off the Pier. Restaurants are also in the Village that offer some good food. We would get frozen yogurt and walk to the Pier to sit and enjoy the views, breeze, and just relax. Neptune Park is by the Pier which I highly recommend visiting as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice pier for fishing or sight seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Make sure you go down to the pier at least once during your visit to SSI. We went several times for sight seeing and fishing and enjoyed it every time. There is no charge to go out on the pier.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishing Pier also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishing Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.