We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sea Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Sea Island to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sea Island
100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just completed our third stay and each time it gets better. People really make you feel at home and they want you to return. Golf, tennis and food all excellent. Mike and Michael in Colt & Allison Resturant, Donna a concierge, James and Ashley in the Lodge bar, Chris on the piano, and our caddy Mike all are great and helpful people. Can not wait to go back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Lodge at Sea Island, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for being a recent guest at The Lodge at Sea Island. I look forward to sharing your warm compliments with the staff. I sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Sea Island as a return guest and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    12
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
63
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We just returned from a weekend here with three other couples. ( A golf foursome celebrating birthdays) Everything was perfect. Frank Badger ( AKA "James") made us feel like old friends, remembering all our names and what we like to drink. I enjoyed the afternoon tea service sitting by the fireplace and the milk & cookies delivered to our room at bedtime. I loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs listening to the bagpiper in the warm afternoon light.
I never saw it, but apparently the men's locker room is heaven on Earth; steam room, card tables, hot chili and a full bar. We were lucky to see our husbands at all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Lodge at Sea Island, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and sharing your recent stay experience at The Lodge at Sea Island. I truly appreciate your warm compliments and look forward to sharing them with the team. I hope to welcome you and your friends back to Sea Island soon. Please contact me directly if I may be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our 6th straight Vanentines Weekend at the Lodge. As always everything was fabulous. The lodge is truly top notch and deserves 6 stars in every catagory. It's Not cheap but it is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRiess, General Manager at The Lodge at Sea Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal guest at The Lodge at Sea Island! We strive to offer our guests extraordinary experiences that are worthy of sharing with friends and family. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, ill
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I'd be hard pressed to find one thing that wasn't fabulous. How about ladies being offered the option of a black napkin at breakfast (saves them the lipstick stains). Wow!!! They have thought of everything. Breakfast buffet and menu options were great, dinner memorable, the rooms with a different assortment of cookies every night and beautiful sunset views. Check in with our own personnel attendant waiting for us at the front door. Cloud beds that you melted into. I guess I could go on and on but it was a splendid couple of days and we have already said we'd go back again. Worth the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St John
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you want elegance and the highest calibre of service in a very charming architectural environment, come to the Lodge at Sea Island. My wife and I had a beautiful room with a huge patio with a stunning view. Golfing was world-class, all our meals were excellent, and the two-day stay could not have been more delightful. We definitely will return!!

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room with one of the large roof patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very little to add to the other positive reviews--agree with all. But to make the Lodge even better, they could have better (more) lighting, especially in the bathroom.

If you have never been to Sea Island, you should. Maybe a little hard to get to, but beautiful.

Spectacular in every way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to SI for many years for New Years. He loves to golf and I go to the spa, read or fitness center. So relaxing and everyone is so pleasant. The Lodge is so homey and we love the cookies and milk!

Room Tip: We love Room 3 which overlooks the 18th hole at Plantation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sea Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.