We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$30 meal and we all went away hungry.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5445 Frederica Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“$30 meal and we all went away hungry.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Last night our local group of 50 had a planned dinner at the resort, each person paid $30 for a buffet with a cash bar, most drinks were $7. There was so little food many of us went to another restaurant afterwards to eat. The food we had was fine, several things were actually very good but just so little and no deserts included. I felt bad for our people who planned the event as they had made the reservations well in advanced and follow up to make sure everything was in place but Sea Palms let them and us down. I feel Sea Palms is very over priced for the service they provide. We may have received $10 worth of food and that's being generous. Another group on the island had the same experience, very little food. Sea Palms has recently went through a big renovation but I can not recommend planning any future gathering at this resort.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
34
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would give this hotel another visit to be fair. When we stayed it was under very new management and a lot of construction. I was there to work and it was very difficult to concentrate and write while a saw was going outside my window and workers were talking loudly.
Nothing outstanding about the resort, but it was acceptable for a work conference.

Room Tip: Be sure no construction is taking place outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Check in was supposed to be at 4:00 which was when we arrived, however, we were told our room was not ready. We were ushered into the bar where we stayed for 30 minutes. Upon returning to the check in desk we saw others in our group checking in and getting their rooms. Amber at the check in desk asked us if we were just regsitering that day and we told her no, we had made our reservation previously. Shannon came out and told us our room would not be ready for at least another half hour. We had an appointment at 5:00 and wanted to get into the room to ready for the appointment, but that was not happening. So, Amber and Shannon left the front desk area - just disappeared and never ever ever returned. There we sat waiting and hoping for a room. Finally, Ron appeared and assigned us a room. What a disgrace it was!!!! Someone had left wet shoes and wet socks there and there were dozens of cigarette butts on the floor. I thought this was a nosmoking room. All in all it was handled poorly by nonprofessional acting employees.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent seven wonderful days at Sea Palms on St Simon's Island and have no complaints, not one. We were treated professionally and well by every staff member -- registration, restaurant, housekeeping, and the golf staff. All were friendly, helpful, and made every effort to accommodate our needs and requests.

We had some very specifics needs and challenges when making our reservations initially, and are very grateful for all of the assistance we received from Becky N. to arrange perfect accommodations for our stay, she worked with us over several months until the combination of rooms we needed became available, and then followed through with us through our stay. We could not have hoped for better care or a more flawless stay.

Beds were extremely comfortable, towels were big, fluffy, soft, and plentiful. Our sheets and towels were changed daily, and our rooms were very clean. Food at both breakfast and catered functions was delicious, service was fast and friendly.

One suggestion for those traveling to Sea Palms in the near future is that Registration has moved very recently and is no longer on Fredericka Rd, so be sure to use the new address 515 N. Windward Dr. in your GPS.

Would come back to Sea Palms in a heartbeat! Thanks to all for a wonderful stay!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Starting at check in: could not give me the 4 bedroom suite I reserved 3 months ago. Gave me 3 separate bed rooms. That was not at all acceptable but what could I do? 40 people in small room waiting for their room to be cleaned. It was 4-7 PM. Lots of excuses: too many checkouts that were allowed late check out, prior group was younger and left rooms a mess. Management was not prepared for the 2 large groups checking in.
Restaurant: 1 bartender and 2 waitresses for 70 after golf players. Last day had more but it seemed all in training, following each other around. Breakfast was then a buffet because it took 45 minutes to get an off the menu order and no one seemed committed to getting the food out.
Opening party: not nearly enough tables for the food served. It was good but again, they did not know how to manage it.
Awards buffet: ran out of plates with 20 still in line.
They need new managers, complete training in their jobs as well in customer service.
We stayed in rooms that have recently been redone. Floor plans excellent. Rooms above us were creaking all night.
Bedding and towels were very luxurious
Our view was to the Marsh. Ok to look at but stunk so couldn't open door or sit on balcony

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great resort great golf course service fantastic .... Highly recommend ..... This resort just had a new renovation the rooms are absolutely beautiful .. It has a brand-new restaurant the food is great ..

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had previously booked a large block of rooms. Many of my guest requested a change of arrival date or a change in the number of days. I called group reservations and talked with Amber. These changes required a significant amount of time. Amber was pleasant and helpful in making all of these changes.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center

Address: 5445 Frederica Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palms Golf And Tennis Resort
Sea Palms Golf & Tennis Hotel Saint Simons Island
Sea Palms Hotel Tennis
Sea Palms Resort Tennis
Sea Palms Resort Saint Simons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.