We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5445 Frederica Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've been doing alot of business trips to St. Simons and have made Sea Palms my home base for when I'm in town working. Other hotels on the island can cost a little more for your typical chain than other places because it's a tourist destination. I've found Sea Palms to be very accomodating with special offers on the web and in person to keep my travel costs down which my company likes!

I don't get the feel of your typical hotel, It's more like having my own condo. Every room I've stayed in has had a great view! Wifi works great and I have a nice desk in the room with a bar/kitchen for coffee in the morning.

I agree with other comments that the rooms are a little dated, but I've spoken to management and It appears that big changes are on the way to update the property. I intend to keep staying here on my business trips because the management and staff are on board to make sure their guests are happy and that adds a nice personal touch for me.

As you move forward to spring and peak travel/golf season I suggest a breakfast buffet at the clubhouse for guests and golfers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaPalmsRebecca, Front Office Manager at Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank You so much for your great review! We hear it every day in person, but kind words are not often posted. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
21
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Palms in a room that had not been renovated. It badly needs an upgrade. The carpets were shabby and worn, the towels were frayed, and the television was small. The quality was more what you would expect from a motel than a resort. The view was nice, and the room was clean, but we could hear the floor creak every time the people in the room above us moved around. The location is good if you want to play golf (we didn't), but not very convenient for any other activities on the island. If we return to Saint Simons, we will look for another place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room that has been renovated (we heard that some have been) and avoid the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here five nights with a Road Scholar group. We had a beautifully located corner room overlooking a large pond with fish and birds on one side and the marsh on the other side. The room was large and comfortable with good lighting and a lovely balcony. That's the good. The problem is, everything is somewhat shabby and the maintenance is not good. Housekeeping is every other day. The carpet was stained, the desk chair so loose it was at risk for falling apart. The shower curtain smelled of mildew, but we only had one cockroach in the bathroom. Some towels were worn and ragged, the lamp fixture between the beds had a very loose socket with the bulb almost at 45 degrees. The molding in the halls and the elevators was coming off. So, clean but somewhat shabby and in bad need of freshening..

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Jones_SPR, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
It is always so pleasing to read that our guests have been delighted with their room accommodations and appreciate our unique and beautiful surroundings! It is with great excitement to announce that we are now under new ownership and management. We have already begun many fresh changes and renovations throughout Sea Palms; and look forward to your happy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Older resort, but looks recently renovated and very nice. Rooms are really roomy and loved the view over the marsh! Golf course is in nice shape -- particularly for the price! And restaurant/bar is great atmosphere, good food and great staff! We would go back and bring a golfing group next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Jones_SPR, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
So glad you noticed! We have made some renovations and are on our way with new owners and management to make many more. We have added some yummy new menu items and the golf course is really looking good. Please give us a call. We have some great golf packages available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center

Address: 5445 Frederica Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palms Golf And Tennis Resort
Sea Palms Golf & Tennis Hotel Saint Simons Island
Sea Palms Hotel Tennis
Sea Palms Resort Tennis
Sea Palms Resort Saint Simons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.