We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No changes in a year....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Main Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No changes in a year....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visit the Island Inn (formerly the Best Western) once a year on business. There have been ZERO upgrades to the rooms in several years. (The bathrooms were renovated a few years ago). The beds are old and hard as a rock. In addition, they quoted me one price on the telephone but tried to charge me a higher rate when I arrived. Fortunately, management remedied the billing issue later in my stay and honored the orininal rate that they quoted over the phone. The one bright spot is the breakfast. Although not great, it is better than one would ordinarily expect from a place like this. The main reason I stay at the Island Inn is price - it's inexpensive relatively speaking. If you are looking for a nice place to stay, find other accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
UGADawg55, we appreciate your continued patronage of our establishment and continued reviews of our property. As we have previously mentioned in your reviews, we do strive to make improvements at our hotel each year in an effort to stay competitive. The Island Inn is proud to offer affordable accommodations to all travelers and will continue to do so.

We are sorry to hear that our improvements from 2011-2012 did not meet your standards and hope that you will afford us another opportunity to serve you in the future. We look forward to your next visit with us and next review of our property. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly; we would be happy to discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    28
    19
    13
See reviews for
21
36
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Found this quaint motel by chance and we were pleasantly surprised. The pool is just as pretty as the photo. The hot tub was not working but not missed. It is in a very quiet location and while older it had comfort and charm. Never having been to this wonderful island we had many questions and found the staff very helpful. Call the hotel to book directly as it was the same price quoted on Expedia. As per the comment on the many cats that was noticed in the parking lot but not on the grounds and it certainly is not the fault of the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Island Inn, on St. Simons. We are happy that you chose to stay with us while on St. Simons! We are a unique hotel property and are thrilled that you found us a charming and quiet location. We hope to see you again soon...as your review mentioned, please call us directly...we would be happy to honor any quoted rate at the hotel. You can also book with us at islandinnstsimons.com. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our family occupied 4 rooms for 5 nights. Alphnoso made us feel welcome from check-in to check-out. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Even the grounds were well kept.The entire staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable of the local places to visit. Because we had a large enough group the Tour Trolley picked us up from the hotel. There is much to do within walking distance from the hotel. The continental breakfast was minimal but sufficient. We were pleased with the cost of our stay. The only difficulty was poor cell phone connections.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms is good for family with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Quiet location, near the entrance of the island. No longer owned by Best Western but same beautiful private pool area with a hot tub in the gazebo. Decent breakfast with hot items such as eggs and sausage or bacon and biscuits and gravy. I was disappointed that duribg our stay our suite wasn't cleaned once; I certainly hope that's not the norm as I've always liked the hotel; the staff was pretty non-responsive to our complaints of loud noise at the pool, well after midnight and the drunken party going on in and outside of the conference center and the lack of room cleaning. :( i do hope service improves.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you Joy P for your review of our property. We are typically a quiet location as your review is entitled and strive to offer all guests the comforts of home. We will address your issues noted about housekeeping service and apologize if this caused an inconvenience during your stay with us. Our hotel strives to meet the needs of all guests at the property; we are sincerely sorry that the class reunion booked at the hotel disrupted your visit. Our staff tried their best to address the situation at the time, but we will certainly note your comments to make improvements for the future. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel does not have wifi. When I asked about it they said they would give you a cord for Internet, but I Only have an iPad. I needed to get some work done, so this is NOT the place to stay if that's the case. I would rather have a hotel that makes me pay for wifi instead if one that doesn't offer it at all. Very Disappointed in that. Get wifi, we're past the 90's.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
KCUthdude, thank you for your recent review of our hotel property, Island Inn. We are sorry to hear of your dissapointment in our internet service at the property. We currently offer hard-wire internet access in all guest rooms at the hotel. In addition, we have wifi in the public spaces: breakfast room, lobby, and conference center. Comments like yours allow us to know what areas we need to focus on for improvement in the future. We appreciate your time and information and hope to be able to offer a product that better meets your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We arrived in the early evening (due to local thunderstorms) and were greeted very warmly by the nice young man at the front desk. He was EXTREMELY helpful, even helped us carry our bags to our door since we had arrived from the airport by cab and also went back and got me a cable for my laptop. I don't understand what more anyone could want in an overnight (or two) stay. The rooms were very clean. So what if the place is old school. I get sick of the cookie cutter places. The pool and gazebo area was so pretty with all the spanish moss. The outside was well maintained and landscaped. It was a very peaceful place. We rented bikes right there and rode all over the place. The breakfast was very good. Again, what more do you need other than what was offered for breakfast? We would definitely come back here again. Great price too!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property on St. Simons, Island Inn. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us while on the island. As your review pointed out, we are indeed not your "cookie cutter" type hotel and we strive to deliver clean, comfortable accommodations to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel is near the island's airport, was once a Best Western and is tucked away behind the Holiday Inn Express. It is an older property but has an attractive spacious shaded pool area that I truly enjoyed. The rooms are basic but clean and we slept great. The breakfast was buffet style and had everything you would want to start the day. They even rent bikes. So, the price is substantially less than other hotels on the island. Not a fancy resort but for us was a fine "home base" and less than 10 minute drive beautiful beaches and village pier area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you, curiousvoyager, for your recent review of our property, Island Inn. We are happy that you were able to spend some time with us recently and took advantage of several of our amenities. We agree...our pool area is absolutely wonderful and are glad that you thought so as well. Breakfast buffet, clean rooms, and bike rentals are a few of the things that we regularly offer to guests. Perhaps on your next visit we can offer a complimentary ticket to the Emerald Princess Casino? Or, a guest pass to St. Simons Health and Fitness Club? These are two more amenities that we have introduced recently as complimentary outlets for our guests to take advantage of. We hope to see you again soon! Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 301 Main Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Island Hotel Saint Simons Island
Best Western Saint Simons Island
Saint Simons Island Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.