We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Frederica

Cafe Frederica
110 Sylvan Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912-638-6777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Barely Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had breakfast at Cafe Frederica this week and were frankly disappointed. I've eaten here on previous visits to Saint Simons and it was OK. This time the eggs were underdone, the sausage was barely edible and I couldn't wait to leave (the ambiance wasn't helped by the "Paula Deen wannabe" local sitting next to me having a conversation with her friend at 200 decibels). I'll find a different place in the future...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is the place to go for breakfast. It is crowded and loud. The waitresses are a little unusual but that just adds to flavor of the restaurant. Blueberry pancakes are good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise on St Simons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us for breakfast when we were visiting St. Simons, and what a wonderful surprise! We had omelets and a side order of French toast - the omelets were outstanding - very fluffy and tasty. And the French toast was out of this world. Make a special trip to find this - it's worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good food, location a little hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Small restaurant open for breakfast and lunch. The location of the restaurant is kind of hard to find--its located behind some shops. We ate here for Sunday brunch. It was packed but we only had to wait about 5 minutes. The restaurant is small and hard to get in and out/sit with a baby. The food was good though and we had friendly service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If for no other reason, you should try this restaurant just for a cinnamon bun. Wow! They are made daily in house and are scrumptious. You may have to wait a few minutes for a seat but it's well worth the wait. Also try the Eggs Benedict. Probably the best on the island.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Frederica also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Cafe Frederica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Frederica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.