We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epworth By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Epworth By The Sea to your Saves list
Epworth By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   100 Arthur J. Moore Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique, Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not easy to find as a lodging search BUT worth the research ! If you google the name Epworth by the sea .org - (no spaces) you will get to their web page/phone ect. It is a retreat/conference center run by the Methodist Church. We stayed in Turner lodge. It was one of the best view of river and bridge toward Brunswick. Newest with private balcony. Grounds were very lovely & quiet this weekend as no big events. Has an outdoor pool but hours did not fit our crazy busy schedule so cant tell you any details. Liked that I was helping a Christian organization.

Room Tip: ALL rooms in Turner Lodge face the WATER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
11
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Epworth is a conference retreat center, but also a great place to visit when not part of a retreat setting. Lovely Lane Chapel is beautiful and so is everything else about the place. When you go through the gate entering Epworth it is like leaving your cares and worries behind. One of my favorite time of the day is watching the awesome sunsets! You can choose the type of lodging that your budget allows. Highly recommend when on St.Simons Island.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, I recommend the third floor of the Turner Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Definitely a retreat environments and was here for just that, a women's church retreat. Grounds are beautiful. Stayed in the newer hotel space. Very nice room - similar to a Courtyard or Hampton. All the rooms have balconies overlooking the waterway - perfect for watching the sunset. Off property, St. Simons are golfing opportunities, shopping downtown, and a prayer labrynth at Fredrica Park (hey- it was a church retreat!). Lots of group spaces/rooms available. Cafeteria style food plus salad bar.

Room Tip: Higher up floors for better sunset watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

spent a weekend at Epworth and stayed at the D. Abbott Turner Lodge and it was an awesome experience. All the rooms have balconies overlooking the Frederica River. Beautiful and peaceful environment. the room was reasonably priced, very clean, and the staff is very friendly. Ate all meals in the Dining Room and I have to say I looked forward to every meal. Good Southern cooking at it's best...fried chicken, meat loaf, pork chops, Mac n cheese...it was oh so good!! I will definitely return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have visited this facility 4 times over the past 6 years. The price is reasonable, the grounds are beautiful and the customer service is amazing. The food is cafeteria style and while it wouldn't be what you consider 5 star cuisine, it is tasty.

The youth cabins are older, but they are clean. Robertson Inn is well kept and my experience there was pleasurable. In the years that I have gone to Epworth I have never stayed in the newer lodging, but from all accounts the rooms are wonderful.

I would recommend this conference center for any group looking for a location to hold their conference. There is a certain peace that I experience whenever I visit. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We took a long-weekend to St. Simons for a family birthday outing. Epworth is a retreat location that we had been to in the past for both Church related events and work events. It has extensive grounds with hundred year old live oaks, Spanish moss, walking and biking paths, pool, tennis courts, basketball court, playgrounds, and cafeteria. The rooms are basic. They are not the focus and are not intended to be luxury accommodations. The grounds, atmosphere, and other parts of the facility more than make up for the basic nature of the rooms. We stayed on the 3rd floor of the Robertson Building at the end overlooking the dock and marina that is next door to Epworth - breathtaking view! Lovely staff, nice cafeteria, and a very relaxing atmosphere that is excellent for families because there is no alcohol allowed on the campus. We were the only people in the whole building but they opened it and had maid service because I wanted to be overlooking the pier. What a great group of people run Epworth.

Room Tip: Talk to the reservation clerk. They only do reservations by phone and the people there are wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The chapel is absolutely beautiful and sets the stage for the serene atmosphere that is Epworth by the Sea. It is the perfect place for a conference or personal retreat. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! Tiffany Benson is the sales director and is a joy to work with. I highly recommend Epworth to any Meeting Planner.

Room Tip: All rooms in Turner Lodge face the Frederica River
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#8 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#9 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epworth By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epworth By The Sea

Address: 100 Arthur J. Moore Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Epworth By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epworth is known for its natural scenic surroundings, complete retreat accommodations, state-of-the-art facilities and wide range of food service options. Among America's most popular Christian retreat and conference centers, Epworth is one of the most beautiful and graceful vacation spots in the magnificent Golden Isles. Whether you are planning a small meeting, large conference, retreat, training session, family vacation or reunion, or just an individual getaway, you can count on our friendly, experienced staff to handle all the details with style. We have housing facilities accommodating up to 900 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Epworth By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epworth By The Sea Hotel Saint Simons Island
Epworth Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epworth By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.