We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Main Street, Plantation Village, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My stay here was nice. Easy check-in/check-out. the room was clean and the bed comfy. I particularly like the club chair and ottoman to relax in while reading and watching TV. There was a group of college golfers staying at the same time at which time I found out that the walls were pretty thin but overall, this is a very convenient location and standard for Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Glassgal for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express St. Simons. We are a popular choice on the island because of our convenient location and proximity to area golf courses. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or noise related issues you may have experienced during your visit. We are happy to address concerns about noise from other travelers as they are brought to our attention. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
20
37
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited here from the UK for three nights in August 2012. The staff were lovely especially the young man who was on the night Shift. He was so helpful and friendly and gave us restaurant recommendations etc. The hotel was perfect for our needs. Very clean, good sized rooms and a decent express breakfast. The location is really good-we hired bikes and cycled round the island and no where was too far away. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, the Holiday Inn Express St. Simons. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the island and your stay at our hotel! We hope to see you again soon, dw1971, and look forward to making more restaurant recommendations while you are with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinehurst, nc
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the Holiday inn express was quite pleasant. The staff was efficient and helpful. The room was a normal HIX room , clean and fresh. There was some slight mustiness but this is an island community so hardly surprising. It disappeared in about 5 minutes with the air on. We had read several reviews from this past summer reporting some challenges but encounter no difficulties at all. It appears they have solved their problems. The hotel is about 5 to 10 easy minutes from the village/dock area. There are some places closer to the water but not in this price range. All in all, a good choice if you want to visit the Island without making a major expenditure

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
John S, we would like to thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express, St. Simons. We are pleased to offer our guests affordable accommodations in a convenient resort location and are happy that you chose to stay with us. Please come see us again soon! Our hotel has faced some challenges in the past, as your review noted, and we are happy that you noitced that we have overcome these difficulties with flying colors. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We needed a one-night stayover while visiting our son and daughter-in-law in St. Simons. Based on room rates, location and TA reviews, this was the best choice. We weren't disappointed. Check-in was quick and the staff was super-friendly. Our first-floor room was just as we had requested and ready when we arrived. The breakfast bar was more than adequate with several 'hot' choices, along with pastries, cereals and fruit. Overall, a good experience for a one-night stay. Would most definitely use this location again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Mr. Rick26, we look forward to your next visit at the Holiday Inn Express, St. Simons. Thank you for letting others know that you would definitely use our location again! We appreciate the time you took to broadcast your praise about our amenities and location. Please let us know if we can assist with a future reservation; we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Family and I stayed at this hotel during Labor Day weekend. I was pleasantly surprised several times during our stay.

At check-in, the clerk greeted us and gave us a little information about the area and the location of the hotel. Then he (I wish I could remember his name) took the time to notice we had a child with us and asked if we need anything like milk for our son, we didn't need anything but the offer was very kind and thoughtful. He did tell us that the water by the beach is often not so good out of the tap so he provided us with several bottles of water to make sure that we had clean water to drink.

That was going above and beyond.

Our room was exactly what we needed for our short stay. A room with a fridge, microwave, and a pull-out for my son. There were two vanity sinks in the room (one in the bathroom and one right outside) that proved very useful and helpful with a child.

Our bed was comfortable and our room was clean.

The next morning we went to have breakfast and were pleased to see a pancake machine. You push a little button and two pancakes come out. It was a perfect breakfast for a family on the go at the beach. There was also a very kind lady that was taking care of the breakfast area. She made sure that none of the food items were getting low, and made a point to ask every single table if they needed anything or if everything was okay. I know this isn't a full-service restaurant so for her to simply ask those questions show that she was trained very well and she cared about her job.

All in all, this hotel is convenient in it's location, provides the necessary items for a family on a weekend getaway, and has a staff that seems to genuinely like what they do.

We look forward to being able to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you Meliss1056 for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express St. Simons. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled that you chose to review us on Tripadvisor! Thank you for letting everyone know how much you enjoyed St. Simons Island and our hotel.

We hope that you return to see us again soon. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable! Our staff is always happy to talk about the area....new restaurant recommendations, best places to go to the beach, bike ride, etc....you name it....we are happy to help.

If you are visiting for another family getaway or just a quick business trip, please think of us. We would love to have you stay at the Holiday Inn Express St. Simons again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Outside appearances seem to suggest a newer hotel. However, immediately upon entering the lobby, one can tell the building is older. The lobby is basically none existent and the breakfast area is very very small.

Our room was located on 1st floor. We had to wade through carts / laundry / pass open laundry rooms and lobby bathrooms to get to our room. The room was decent. The beds were made nicely and overall the room was clean. The bath was dated and areas of the tub/shower showed much signs of wear and tear. The sheets were good as were the bath towels.

The television didn't work nor did the phone. Help did arrive immediately after walking to front desk to report the problem.

Breakfast was very marginal.

Overall, it was do-able, but I doubt we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you Daisies 33 for your review of the Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island. As an Express property, we strive to offer our guests the comforts and conveniences of home in a limited service environment. We are happy that you chose to stay with us and happy that you enjoyed many of the amenities that our property provides. We would also like to thank you for your comments on how we can improve...in order to accurately address the comments about the bath area in your previous accommodations, would you mind providing a little more detail?

Our maintenance team would appreciate the opportunity to service the specific room that you mentioned is showing wear and tear. We are searching for your reservation with us, but without knowing your name or specific stay date, we are having a little difficulty. If not too much trouble, can you please email hieres@gmail.com and provide us with your previous room number or reservation details? Thank you so much for your review and thank you for your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After reading several reviews here, I was nervous about my stay, but it was a reward night so I was unable to cancel. The check in was smooth as they had my requested room pre- assigned. Upon entering the room there was a moldy, musty smell as well as the temperature being quite warm. I turned on the AC and then we had to leave the room because it was so uncomfortable. I informed the very sweet front desk gentleman who said the room had not been rented the night before so the AC was not on. My husband and I went out to enjoy the sunset at the lighthouse and pier which was a very beautiful area. Upon our return to the room, it had cooled down and the smell had subsided. In the middle of the night, I woke up to the sound of running water by the AC unit and went over to turn it off. I was surprised to walk into a sopping wet carpet all around the unit. That is why the smell. I informed the front desk manager who was very pleasant and she said they would check the drain pain and thanked me for letting her know. The bed was VERY firm as noted on previous reviews, but otherwise it had comfy pillows and the room was quiet (other than the water running over). 20,00 points was a lot to use on this location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you KebbieK for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express St. Simons. We appreciate your patronage of our establishment and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for bringing the issues with the air conditioning unit in your accommodations to our attention; we hope that we were able to resolve the situation to your satisfaction.

Priority club members receive several benefits at our hotel: upgrades when available, no blackout dates, and reward night availability to name a few. Reward night point levels are determined by the priority club corporate office; part of the determinations take into account location and average daily rate at each establishment.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you. Thank you for your comments and again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island

Address: 299 Main Street, Plantation Village, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island Georgia. Enjoy Southern hospitality with the comfort of home in our newly renovated rooms. We are proud to offer 60 extraordinarily clean, comfortable , 100% smoke free guest rooms. We have also added an elevator to our hotel for your convenience . Stay Smart with Holiday Inn Express and experience the many Simply Smart in-room amenities. Whether traveling on business or pleasure be assured you are not far from your destination. We are conveniently located near Historical Downtown Brunswick, Jekyll Island, Little St. Simons Island and Sea Island. Relax by our outdoor swimming pool or drive 2 miles to reach the local beaches. St. Simons Island has many activities to keep you and your family busy during your stay. Some activities we recommend are golfing, St. Simons Trolley, St. Simons Island Lighthouse & Museum and Ft. Frederica National Monument. In the evening you can hop aboard the Emerald Princess II Casino with our complimentary tickets and enjoy a 5 hour fun filled cruise on the Atlantic. You will never get bored when visiting St. Simons Island and you will enjoy it all while staying with us at Holiday Inn Express. Let us be a part of your memories and book today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon`s Island Hotel Saint Simons Island
Holiday Inn Saint Simons Island
Holiday Inn St Simons Island
Saint Simons Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.