We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodations for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Main Street, Plantation Village, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Basic accomodations for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Visited for an overnight business trip. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. It was a pretty basic option, but that is to be expected. A bit of visible wear and tear in the room (bathroom caulk was cracking), but nothing terrible. The hotel purports to have HBO in the rooms, but I could not find it on the television, even after scrolling through each available channel.

The rate was a bit hard to swallow, but this was due to the location. If not on St Simons, this is an $89 hotel room, but my AAA rate was $114.

All in all, it was fine, but forgettable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
ML1153, thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express on St. Simons. We appreciate the time you took to tell us about your stay. We will most certainly look into the issues noted in the facilities of your previous guest room. Our hotel does offer an HBO option, as you mentioned, which is programmed to a specific channel in the guest rooms (3). I apologize that you were unable to find this option during your stay.
We hope that you will afford us an opportunity to serve you in the future. We often have special rates for advance purchase rooms through booking on our website and we also have seasonal rates at our property...our rates decrease shortly after labor day, with the exception of special event weekends. Again, thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
35
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on business. While the address is "Main St." hotel is really off the main road in a business park, so it is quiet. It is not within walking distance of any places to eat. Rooms were clean and neat. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast had the standard options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
btaes1, thank you for your tripadvisor review of our hotel. We hope that you found our location convenient during your business trip to the island. The Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island is certainly tucked away in a quiet office complex yet still offers a location convenient to area restaurants and attractions. Locos is the closest restaurant within a walking distance of the property, but most other eateries do require a short drive. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Island. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Its on the island and affordable but can't walk to anything no computers, no fridge, pool is adaquit. Have to go across the street to work out

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. As your comments mentioned, we are centrally located on the island and a quick drive to most restaurants and attractions. We are tucked away in a quiet office complex called Plantation Village. We would like to extend our apologies if we did not communicate information about our amenities properly. Our King executive rooms offer refrigerators and microwaves and are offered as complimentary upgrades (when available) to our priority club members. We also offer complimentary fitness passes to a state-of-the-art health and fitness club conveniently located on Demere Road across from the hotel. Comments like yours allow us to make improvements for all of our guests. As we have mentioned in a comment to a previous review, we will be adding a business center shortly. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very clean. Comfortable beds. A choice of pillows - firm or soft. Wonderful 24-hour coffee service in lobby, including tea, hot chocolate, and a bowl of apples. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best we've had. We enjoyed the location - easy to get everyplace. No computer usage for guests - not a problem if you bring your own lap top, as there is free wi-fi service. But I wanted to go on-line to check out a few restaurants & wasn't able to do so. Most hotels have at least 1 computer for guest usage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you Judie F. for your review of the Holiday Inn Express/St. Simons on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to St. Simons and stayed with us. We appreciate your comments about the possibility of adding a guest-use computer at the hotel and will certainly consider that possibility in the future. In the meantime, our staff is happy to provide restaurant recommendations or directions to any of the local establishments at the front desk. We look forward to your next visit with us! Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express/St. Simons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location in a quiet neighborhood. It worked very well as a layover prior to deparing for the Lodge at Little St. Simons. Spacious, clean room. Nice bathroom, good towels, more than adequate breakfast, eggs and sausage included.
Moreover, the gentleman at the front desk was friendly, courteous and very helpful. He took pride in his hotel and steered to a good restaurant.
In all, a very good experience and highly recommended to other leisure travelers or business people.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Wow! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express St. Simons and hope to see you again soon. Our staff will be happy to assist and refer you to another local restaurant during your next visit. Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to review our establishment. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is in a quiet district located near the main hub of the island. The room was very clean and quiet, excellent for a good sleep after an exciting day on the island. Very good value. The employees are helpful and courteous. Adequate free hot breakfast. Good choice for clean, attractive, no frills accomadations at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope that you come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

This is your typical HI Express. Theree was nothing special nor terrible either.

The only negative is that the bathroom in my room needed a little work in the sense of new wallpaper and caulking. Everything was clean just a little worn around the edge

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssiresorts, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you for your comments about the restroom facilities at the property; we will certainly look into improvements. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island

Address: 299 Main Street, Plantation Village, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island Georgia. Enjoy Southern hospitality with the comfort of home in our newly renovated rooms. We are proud to offer 60 extraordinarily clean, comfortable , 100% smoke free guest rooms. We have also added an elevator to our hotel for your convenience . Stay Smart with Holiday Inn Express and experience the many Simply Smart in-room amenities. Whether traveling on business or pleasure be assured you are not far from your destination. We are conveniently located near Historical Downtown Brunswick, Jekyll Island, Little St. Simons Island and Sea Island. Relax by our outdoor swimming pool or drive 2 miles to reach the local beaches. St. Simons Island has many activities to keep you and your family busy during your stay. Some activities we recommend are golfing, St. Simons Trolley, St. Simons Island Lighthouse & Museum and Ft. Frederica National Monument. In the evening you can hop aboard the Emerald Princess II Casino with our complimentary tickets and enjoy a 5 hour fun filled cruise on the Atlantic. You will never get bored when visiting St. Simons Island and you will enjoy it all while staying with us at Holiday Inn Express. Let us be a part of your memories and book today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon`s Island Hotel Saint Simons Island
Holiday Inn Saint Simons Island
Holiday Inn St Simons Island
Saint Simons Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.