We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Simons Lighthouse Museum

St. Simons Lighthouse Museum
101 12th Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
+1 912-638-4666
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Museums
Attraction details
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very nice exhibit. We chose not to climb to the top, but I'm sure the view was great.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    113
    27
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice light house, didn't walk up, but wish that I had!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Historical lighthouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice museum and lighthouse. We climbed to the top and the view was worth it. A lot of history about St. Simons Island.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice bit of history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We toured the lighthouse and also the maritime Museum that you will need to drive or ride a bike to from the lighthouse. Wonderful gift shops and both locations have nice historical items on display. You can walk up to the top of the lighthouse and get a wonderful view of the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“climb is good for healthy adults or older kids!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Gorgeous lighthouse! Really catches your attention and the history is quite interesting. If you are traveling with elderly, or small children we wouldn't recommend climbing to the top. We took our 3 year old up and it is was a strenuous climb for her which resulted in us carrying an additional 31 lbs up steep narrow flights of unforgiving metal stairs. Once we made it to the observation deck, which is not as big as it looks from the ground, we found it to be extremely stressful as it appeared she could slip right through the metal balcony grates, yikes! Needless to say, we held onto her tight and didn't hang out up there very long. Could be a nice experience for healthy adults. I mention health because we are very active, and in our late thirties, but with heat and humidity and a little claustrophobia it gave me a run for my money...which by the way was $10 per person, munchkin was free. If you had health issues this could really be trouble. All in all, my vote would be to take pictures from the ground and save money for other tourist attraction.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Simons Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to St. Simons Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Simons Lighthouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.