We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food-great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Bistro

Blue Water Bistro
115 Mallery St., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
912-268-2663
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Statesboro, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food-great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've never had a bad meal at Blue Water....and I've eaten there many times over many years since they've been open. The service is timely/responsive,the food well prepared,reasonably priced, and the best ocean-fishing pier-shipping channel views on St.Simons. The seafood is always freshly prepared and a sometimes overlooked part of the menu is the "Mexican" section...my favorite: fish tacos!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    11
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great bar - view of pier / water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Been to Blue Water several times, atmosphere is great, closest bar to the pier with great views, great bar to relax and watch games. Food is average. Good Mexican & seafood selection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Friendly Staff, Good Food, Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Blue Water Cantina is located in the Village about 100 yards from the Pier and St. Simon's Sound. Most people choose to eat upstairs where all tables have a clear view of the ocean. With few exceptions Blue Water has one of the best views of any restaurant in the area. The downstairs area doesn't have the great view but is has a great nautical atmosphere with booths and furnishings that appear to have been salvaged from an older restaurant.

Blue Water has more of a pub than restaurant feel, although there is certainly plenty of seating for dining. We all found the food to be good, but not excellent. The overall experience was very good. The cost of the meal was reasonable for the type of restaurant. We found the drinks to be very good. Total cost for two meals including two frozen Margaritas was $54 including tax (not including tip).

I think Blue Water is an excellent location for a fresh cool drink and appetizer between meals. For the younger crowd, it's a great place to hang out. There is also an outdoor area on the roof top. If you're in the Village area at St. Simon's Island, check out Blue Water. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Blue water was disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I have been to st. Simons many times I know all tge great places but have never had a chance to eat at bluewater. I was honestly very disappointed. We ordered a good bit of stuff. Oysters on the half shell ( those were way to small ) for $11.99 not worth it's. Fried green tomatoes ( too much bread no flavor) I asked for rand dressing with it.. They don't carry ranch dressing! What! No ranch with fried Tom.! Haha and I also ordered a grilled cheese for my son I ordered fruit instead of fries. The fruit was STRAIGHT from a can. Not like sandcastles FRESH fruit. We did order a piña coloda and she crab soup and they were delicious. And also our waitress had a very cold attitude. She couldve used some pep in her step!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bqk
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Stay away.. trust me.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This place has been open and closed in the past 8 years more than a pill mill. The owner is has not a clue of any kind as to what customer service is, and does not like people unless you are white. The food is flat and mediocre, but the top floor views are great. I would recommend a drink there, but not much further that that..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Bistro also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Blue Water Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.