We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mullet Bay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mullet Bay
2303 Demere Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA
(912) 638-3139
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I are locals and we have been here many times. They have a great deck and decent drinks. Their fish sandwiches are really good, but they need some variety and uniqueness added to their sides...very boring and unimaginative.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Mullet Bay. Very cute atmosphere but service and food were just OK. No problems or anything bad, just not anything special. There are other options in the area that are superior.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Im certain now; I never want to go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family, although we live a block away, hasn't visited in a more than a year since the food was so poor in previous attempts. They put on a cute little deck area so we decided to try once again.
Both by wife and I ordered burgers just to play it safe, kids got chicken fingers. Can you believe it took an hour to serve this, even after a 1 hour wait for a table on an uncrowded evening when hostess said 25 minutes. All the staff was so painfully aloof, even the manager took 10 minutes to come see us at our request even though only 5 seated tables at this time of night. "I don't know whats going on back there" was our waitresses explanation, and the manager was confrontational and made absolutely no offer to make it right on the check.
This turned into 3 hours worth of frustration for us, but at least the burgers were just fine this time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Seafood is only fair for a seaside city restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were headed to another place when a business companion suggested Mullet Bay, which was right 'round the corner from our hotel. It was crowded and pretty noisy. The service was pretty good, but the food only average. The mini-poppers had only a sliver of jalapeño, but there were plenty to around for sharing with our party of nine. One member complimented the lobster and seafood salad but the fried oysters were just medium hot and fairly bland. The tomatoes and okra vegetable side dish was also blah, but the sweet potato fries were good, although wanting seasoning of some kind (cinnamon sugar would have been perfect). Probably won't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Used to love it but won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

When we plan a trip go the goldem isles, the first thing we think of is conch fritters at Mullet Bay. Well, the conch fritters are no longer available and the rest of the food has gone downhill. Crabcake sandwich was bland and tasted a bit like overused grease was used, calamari was very greasy and the tiniest little rings I've ever seen. Kids' grilled cheese was missing half the cheese. The oddest thing was the kid's hot dog was the size of a tanker truck - we had to slice it length wise for our 6 year old to eat it.

Good atmosphere and decent service but we sure will miss the Mullet Bay we'd come to love.

So long. :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mullet Bay also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Mullet Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mullet Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.