We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome first visit...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CJ's Italian Restaurant

CJ's Italian Restaurant
405 Mallery Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522 (Formerly C J's Italian Restaurant)
(912) 634-2711
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome first visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and family come to St. Simon's Island every year to visit. We decided to try CJ's on a recommendation from another hotel guest. Some of the best pizza we've had a in long time, plus the meatball sub was almost too much for me to handle. Excellent choice for lunch or dinner!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited on the Fourth of July and it was busy, but the staff was pleasant and well prepared. Service was excellent and the food was even better. It is small inside so you may want to arrive early. The size adds to the atmosphere .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent meal - homemade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We ordered take out on our first night of vacation. Dinner consisted of side salad with house dressing (garlic vinaigrette - very tasty) and a thin crust pizza. The salad consisted of field greens, onion, cucumber and tomato. Dressing is very good and plentiful - you won't need any extra. The pizza is one of the best thin crusts we ever had - pepperoni and extra cheese. The cheese was very tasty, almost buttery. We ordered a medium. Along with this they give you complimentary bread and marinara with your salads. It was a focaccia type flat bread - again, homemade. The entire meal was $23 with tax - great meal and plenty of food. highly recommend and will definitely go back. FYI - if you eat there it's not a big restaurant, small and quaint. It screams 'local'!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ehh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wine was good but wine selection not so good. Should have went with pizza but went with "build-your-own-pasta" instead. Could make it better at home for a fraction of the price. Was not impressed with the service - she was rushed, I understand, but we were left to fend for ourselves for silverware and other necessities. Not my favorite place in SSI at all.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We went here for a break from seafood and were so pleasantly delighted. We had a large thin crust pizza between two and were stuffed. They do half and half so we made our own on one half with their meatballs (mmmmm!) pepperoni and peppers and tried their BBQ pizza with pulled pork on the other; the latter I was sceptical of but was really surprised that the flavours were subtle and that it wasn't smothered in a BBQ sauce. They make the pizzas fresh on site and the waitress and service was just perfect. It's a cosy little neighbourhood place with fairy lights hanging from the ceiling and just really good pizza. Go- see for yourself. You won't be disappointed. Oh, and it's easy on the wallet too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to CJ's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.