We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub

Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub
318 Mallery Street, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4729
+1 912-634-7515
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: On any given day, when you stroll into Palm Coast Coffee, Café and Pub at 318 Mallery St. on St. Simons Island, you’ll find a nice array of locals enjoying one of their favorite Village hangouts and island visitors who are thrilled to have found such a quaint, little hot spot. You’ll quickly discover that Palm Coast isn’t just about coffee.Like you’d expect from any good coffee shop, Palm Coast serves some of the freshest coffee, lattes, and espresso on the island, as well as a variety of homemade pastries and the island’s best homemade muffins. However, what people might not realize is that Palm Coast also has a great selection of craft beers that change weekly, and a well-stocked full bar for wine and a wide variety of cocktails. Always be sure to check the special board for new and seasonal concoctions—both in coffee creations and bar beverages! Looking for a relaxing spot for breakfast- Palm Coast has it with great creations as well as eggs your way- all outside on the patio. If it’s something a little more substantial you crave, the lunch and dinner menu includes fresh homemade soups and a variety of other fresh, creative selections that you won’t find elsewhere on the island. The seared ahi is a well-known menu favorite. There are also a number of tasty vegetarian options available. Seating is abundant and pet-friendly on the sunny outdoor patio and or in the shade of the courtyard.The other thing you’ll find in the courtyard is a terrific covered stage for the musicians who play here each weekend. Palm Coast books both local and regional acts and is one of the best outdoor venues for live music in the Golden Isles. Open mic nights are popular year round, and, boy, does this place drawn a crowd on summer evenings! Day or night, this is a place where locals, visitors, families, and pets gather—all are welcome.Stop in to have a cup of coffee and take advantage of the free WiFi service while you study. Grab a beer and spend a sunny afternoon in a rocking chair on the porch with your pooch. For date night, come early for dinner then stay to listen to some lively tunes in the courtyard. You’ll agree Palm Coast Coffee is a little bit more than your average coffee shop. In fact, you might just fall in love.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great lunch spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Surprise! This coffee shop is one of best lunch spots in town. My favorite is the meza plate. Great tuna and wraps. Cool art and neat atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    54
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great muffins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had coffee and a carrot muffin. It was very moist, and delicious. Served warm with butter. My sister had scrambled eggs and toast. The toast was obviously from home made bread. Delightful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNisa, Owner at Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for visiting Palm Coast and trying our homemade muffins. All are made from scratch on site. The Carrot muffin you enjoyed has freshly grated carrots, wheat flour and flax seed. On your next visit you might want to try our Lemon-Blueberry (freshly squeezed lemon juice & zest) or our Pumpkin Chocolate Chip. We appreciate your comments and your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I ate breakfast here one rainy day and it was outstanding! Very friendly owner and staff and super good coffee and breakfast!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNisa, Owner at Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for trying our breakfast offering—now 7 days a week! Our Coffee is roasted and served in the same week so it’s always fresh. Hope to see you on your return to Saint Simons and thanks for your comments concerning our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“food is good, just beware of the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Service and food is good, this is just more of a bohemian beach hangout. It is in an old house with clean but very old bathrooms. Sit outside because inside the floors jump and down as the servers go back and forth. It is an old house and very rustic. The kitchen serves good food and coffee and the servers are nice. The crowning disappointment was when a customer walked in, ordered his coffee and let his dog lick up crumbs under one of the tables. He did go and sit outside, maybe they need a walk up coffee bar.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNisa, Owner at Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for visiting Palm Coast and we are happy to see that you enjoyed the food, coffee and our service. You are absolutely correct the floors do bounce. Our restaurant is housed in a 1936 bungalow home a few blocks from the beach surrounded by and open patio and courtyard. To your point- if the old wooden floors are troubling there is plenty of space outdoors. You are also correct that Palm Coast is somewhat of a beach hangout. Many of our customers start the day with a great fresh breakfast or cup of coffee check a few emails and head off to the beach. Families enjoy the relaxing nature of the old house and enjoy lunch or a cold beer and then come back in the evening for dinner and some of the best music on the coast of Georgia. It seems to be a great place to hangout, eat drink and relax!! We appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA-Southeast
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I had breakfast here before leaving SSI. I ordered the breakfast sandwich with a side of potatoes and my husband had the breakfast burrito also with the potatoes. Both were substantial (we saved half of our mains to have later) and excellent. The potatoes had great flavor and were good. I ordered a chai latte and he had a latte. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to go back. The prices were high ($8 for a bacon, egg and tomato sandwich), but every restaurant we went to on the island was high-priced, so it wasn't out of line compared with the rest. The staff were friendly and genuinely caring about our experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNisa, Owner at Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting Palm Coast and your gracious comments concerning Breakfast at Palm Coast. All of our breakfast options are all fresh- never frozen. Particularly the potatoes—They are oven baked chopped and then sautéed in onion and fresh peppers & some great spices. The portions are very generous and we don’t charge a splitting fee. Also, thanks for your comments concerning our staff. They all work very hard to provide and enjoyable –consistent experience for our customers. Thanks for trying us out prior to leaving the island and we hope you will join us again.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.