We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tara is a horrible waitress” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Tex Mex Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Fireside Tex Mex Bar & Grill
1801 Frederica Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
(912) 268-2330
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
2 reviews
“Tara is a horrible waitress”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went here on a Sunday morning and was prompted to seat ourselves. We sat down and right away noticed how dirty it was. The Booth was sticky and had a film of dirt on it. Salt n pepper shakers looked rusty. Ketchup and mustard all dirty and sticky. Tara was our waitress. She hurried us and got our order wrong. She was rude and tried blaming our food error on us and then another server. Very rude and unfriendly and her misery was written all over her face. Food was ok. Just average breakfast. Kinda cold. Will not return. No manager on duty to speak to either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SSI, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We tend to visit Fireside for lunch but they do breakfast and dinner too. It's a very sweet little restaurant with great food and wonderful service. Very good on the pocketbook too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Tasty Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the Wild Georgia Shrimp and Grits. It is delicious! I'm not sure what kind of decor they are going for. But, the decor will not deter me from returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

In July the family and I went to eat lunch at Fireside. The menu is somewhat limited, however what they serve is very good. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and offered to make my mother a special drink not on the menu. We will be going there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The weather was hot and the beer was cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Informal establishment serving lunch with beer & wine available...don't know if they have full liquor service, or not. I had the buffalo chicken wrap, a generous sandwich and very tasty. My companions enjoyed their meals, too. The weather was hot and the beer was cold, so it was the right place at the right time. Locally owned, a small town atmosphere with lots of memorabilia, old photos of historic places, school sports teams (I'd wager that the owner is a graduate of Glynn Academy, a nearby high school), and other similar highlights. Conveniently located just down the street from Ace Hardware (a prominent landmark) with off street parking although on the north side of the building the parking is a little tight. The service could have been better....had to wave my arms in desperation to get somebody's attention and when our server did arrive (the owner's wife) she was pleasant but obviously harried. The fact that the dining room was nearly full makes a kind of a statement but, quite simply, there was not enough wait staff on duty. That's a management issue. All in all, I would say that the food is above average and the prices are reasonable, a fair value for your dining dollar. Yes, I will go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside Tex Mex Bar & Grill also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Tex Mex Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.