We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you want to stay close to the Lighthouse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse to your Saves list
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place if you want to stay close to the Lighthouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a friend's wedding. First thing to note is - each room is owned by individuals and every room is different. Our room was nice but nothing special, while the room next door was excellently maintained with beautiful decorating. Then a good friend was staying in a room down the hall that was equivalent to staying in a hostel. Not all rooms are created equal but it costs the same no matter where they stick you. Keep this in mind while booking at this hotel.

It has nice curb appeal and the location couldn't be better. It's directly across the street from the historical Saint Simon's Lighthouse and just a block off of the main pier where all the fun bars and shops are located.

The breakfast was included, which is always nice, but was very basic. Just muffins, bagels, cereal, fruit.

Room Tip: Note - This hotel is unique in that each room is owned by individual owners and each room is very di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    117
    46
    20
    9
See reviews for
91
206
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we spent one night here love that we could walk to dinner and wake up to the lighthouse and a nice walk on the beach great place clean and friendly. i would stay again love this place really comfotable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent two nights here recently and loved it. Great location across the street from the lighthouse and within a block of downtown shops and restaurants. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, equipped with a nice little kitchen bar with fridge, microwave -- and real (not plastic or paper) glasses. The included continental breakfast was very nice and fresh. The manger was very friendly.

Room Tip: Photos of the various rooms are online, so you can see before you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

very good location, but the hotel could definitely use some improvements. room is full of strange vases, including 2 large ones on the tiny bathroom counter. even after removing those monsters still not enough room for basic toiletries. there is no bathtub, but 2 showers! cleaning needs also needs improvement. there was a plastic cup with a cigarette stub on the balcony from previous guests. bread crumbs we left on the floor had stayed there till we left. if you consider a room with a balcony, keep in mind that the balcony is tiny and has no view of the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a good location walking/biking distance to most anything you need. Kind of a cute, quirky, quaint little place really. However, it could stand some improvements in certain areas.

Pros:
-Good location right across from the lighthouse on a quiet street, close to shopping, the walking beach and the pier, and a short drive or bike ride from the swimming beach.
-Good rates for St Simons, which can be a rather pricey place to visit.
-The room was nice enough for the price - the beds were comfortable, the AC unit worked and looked newish, and the wifi was fast and free.

Cons:
-My room could have been cleaner - I am the white-glove sort.
-The room was on the lobby level, and it was noisy when other guests were coming and going in the middle of the night, I could hear everything. Upper floors may be better in this regard.
-Just a tad bit more effort on the continental breakfast would go a long way. For example, I would never serve a guest of mine overripe fruit. And the staff should not gather in the guest areas in the AM - they need a break room.
- I did not realize this when I booked, but be aware that this is an Inn/Condo with folks with dogs living there year round. I heard some barking, but at least the dogs were quiet at night.
-Outside doors really should auto-lock with key-card access only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed in hotels on 5 continents and this is my favorite one!!! For the second time we had a family reunion there March 14-17, 2013, and it was an excellent weekend. I reserved rooms 106, 203, & 205 for my adult children, and I stayed in penthouse. Wow!!! What a fantastic suite. Particularly enjoyed telescope, which I took out on balcony overlooking ocean and lighthouse, and did some star-gazing. All the rooms for my family were excellent choices! Love that you can go on-line and see pictures of rooms since each is individually decorated. Warm, wonderful, helpful staff were so very accomodating. (Special thanks to Barb, Mary Lynn, Kevin at the front desk, housekeeping, and to Jared, the manager!) They set us up breakfast in a hospitality room where we could all eat together and visit during the day with other family members. Coffee and tea are always available in lobby. They also arranged for the trolley to come to the hotel to pick us up for a tour of the island. The location in the village is incredible, with lovely ocean views, across from Neptune Park, where they were having an arts and craft festival, and within walking distance of some excellent restaurants. Group rates make this a fantastic choice for reunions or weddings! There is so much to see and do on this historic island and THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!!

Room Tip: I've reserved 106, (king with sleeper sofa), 203, (King with king sofa in front of large TV), 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words! We thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to serve you and your family. I will be sure to let our staff know that they were able to make your reunion a little more special. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your very special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This property had nice accommodations and was an average hotel. It is within walking distance to the lighthouse, shopping and dining options. The continental breakfast was just OK. The front desk people had good information on the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.2 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#9 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Address: 609 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Simons Inn, in the shadow of a centuries-old lighthouse, is easily within walking distance to all the shops, restaraunts, ocean and the fishing pier. There are 34 spacious guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, and cable television. Enjoy a host of complimentary ammenities, including continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, coffee and donuts, and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Simons Inn By The Lighthouse Hotel Saint Simons Island
Saint Simons Brunswick
St Simons Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.