We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and looking to return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse to your Saves list
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place and looking to return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the King and Prince a couple of years ago, and I have to note that this place for the price is a much better stay. You are close (walking distance) to the Lighthouse, the park, and the main drag. The room was exceptional, the king bed was probably the best nights sleep that I can recall for traveling. The staff was pleasant, the breakfast was good as well. Only a couple of issues, there is somewhat of a lack of privacy, you can hear almost everything that goes on in the adjacent room. The parking is really tight, don't go with a full size vehicle. I will return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    117
    46
    20
    9
See reviews for
91
206
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lascassas, Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed the St. Simons Inn. Our room (217) was nicely furnished and even had a small fridge and microwave. There is a small walk out balcony with a great view of the lighthouse. Restaurants, shops and the pier are within easy walking distance.

The hotel provides a continental breakfast which was very nice. A good variety of pastries, cereal were offered. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is a quaint, pretty hotel in a great location right across from the Light House which is right on the ocean. It is close walking distance to the main street with the shops and restaurants and the Pier area. It is a smaller, boutique type hotel. Each room is decorated differently. We were in a room with 2 queen beds. It was a nice room, pretty similar to a typical hotel room except it had unique pedestal, basin type sinks. The bathroom was quite small with room for only the tub and toilet. There was a sink and mirror right outside the bathroom and then another sink and mirror and bar in the area with the microwave and small fridge. There was a larger flat screen tv. The room was clean but the hallway had stains in the carpet. The lobby area is cozy, with some soft chairs and another tv. Right next to it were the tables for the breakfast area. The continental breakfast was adequate but average. There was also a small pool on the property which I did not visit. The positives of this hotel for me were the location, the quaintness and the smaller, more intimate size.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I were married on St. Simons October 15, 2012. It was a first visit to this beautiful place for both of us. The Saint Simons Inn was the perfect location for our honeymoon stay. We both prefer charming and warm over large-scale and ostentatious. Alphonso at the desk, was so friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect for us. The village main street just a few blocks away had some really good food (we loved the 4th of May Restaurant for southern style vegetables). Cute shops there also, a beautiful view of the old oaks and the ocean. No swimming access right there, but that's not what we were there for this time. We drove down to the closest public access and walked the beach. It was perfect. We will be back again for sure and we will chose this Inn again. (we loved the lighthouse visit, Christ Church and cemetary visit, drove to Jekyll and found driftwood beach, did the tour of the beautiful old homes on Jekyll, drove to St. Mary's and did the ferry ride to Cumberland Island -- all good and recommended highly!)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It was our privilege to be a part of your special occasion. We will do our very best to create that very same experience each and every time you visit us. What you experienced with Alphonso is exactly what we believe our guests should expect from us. Thank you for your kind words and we cannot wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There are only two hotels within close walking distance,1 block, of "the village." This is one of them. The historic lighthouse is directly adjacent to the Inn, which is about two hundred feet from the waters edge. We love staying here because you can park your car on the ground floor of the hotel and not have to move it for your entire stay. Wonderful Georgia seafood, and shopping are within a few minutes walk. We enjoy taking long walks along the beach, a brief rest up time in he lobby or room and out for more adventure.

Each room in the Inn is decorated differently, some more lavishly than others, but the beds in each room we have stayed in have been very comfortable, affording us a good nights rest at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that we did our part in allowing you to have a relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've only stayed at St Simons Inn once and I can't wait to go back. My boyfriend (now husband :) ) and I visited the Island for an extended New Year's weekend and it was perfect. The room was more than we could ask for. It will be "our" room every time we visit, which hopefully will be soon! The front desk staff was super friendly and had great tips! We parked the car when we arrived and only went driving once to explore, but I think next time we'll go on bike rides. Everything is very close and in walking distance!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Liked the location, close to charming St. Simons business district with shops, restaurants, town pier and waterfront park. Room was clean and comfortable but did not have iron or ironing board and hair dryer did not work, management was nice, however, and did provide substitute dryer. Also was not close to swimable beach. We stayed for only one night, on the way to somewhere else which was fine, had an enjoyable evening with short stroll to restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your short visit with us and thank you for the kind words. Since becoming the manager a few short months ago, one of the items on my "to-do" list is to make sure that each room is equipped with an iron and board. The beach issue might take a little longer to fix :) Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you will visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.2 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#9 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#6 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Address: 609 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Simons Inn, in the shadow of a centuries-old lighthouse, is easily within walking distance to all the shops, restaraunts, ocean and the fishing pier. There are 34 spacious guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, and cable television. Enjoy a host of complimentary ammenities, including continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, coffee and donuts, and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Simons Inn By The Lighthouse Hotel Saint Simons Island
Saint Simons Brunswick
St Simons Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.