We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a few things missing.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse to your Saves list
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   609 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location but a few things missing.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Liked the location, close to charming St. Simons business district with shops, restaurants, town pier and waterfront park. Room was clean and comfortable but did not have iron or ironing board and hair dryer did not work, management was nice, however, and did provide substitute dryer. Also was not close to swimable beach. We stayed for only one night, on the way to somewhere else which was fine, had an enjoyable evening with short stroll to restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your short visit with us and thank you for the kind words. Since becoming the manager a few short months ago, one of the items on my "to-do" list is to make sure that each room is equipped with an iron and board. The beach issue might take a little longer to fix :) Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you will visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    100
    42
    16
    9
See reviews for
82
178
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have traveled to Saint Simons Island for the past 20 years and have had the opportunity to stay everywhere on the island. I pick Saint Simons Inn every time now. The staff is great and accommodating. The rooms are unique and you can have your pick of very different decors. The Inn is located in the village so everything you need is within walking distance, shops, restaurants, bars, community pool, and the beach! They rent bikes at the Inn now also so you can explore the island by bicycle which is fun to do.
If you want something different and quaint then this is the place for you.
Tell them Allison sent you.

Room Tip: Room #115 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Allison, thank you so much for deciding to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that we will continue to be your place of rest and relaxation. I have to agree with you, 115 is awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The inn is very quaint and in walking distance to the beach, resturants, shops, galleries and other sights. Robert and Alphonso where very attentive and did a great job getting our rooms booked and keeping our guests happy. Each room is uniquely decorated by their owner. Enjoyed checking out the different decors. Some of the rooms were very roomy and efficient, others could have used some better space planning and needed to be freshened up. Parking was convenient but tight for larger cars. This won't keep us form returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the inn for five nights. The room we had looked great on the internet but was not that fabulous. The first night, we had sand and potato chips on the floor from where the room was not cleaned well. I thought okay, they will get it tomorrow after we leave for the morning. But upon of our return, the sand and potato chips were still on the floor and the carpet had not been vacuumed. I asked the from desk if they could please clean the room, they were very prompt and apologtic. The bath room had no vent for the moist air and could see the start of mold on the ceiling. Some mold in the dresser in the room. Not great when you have a husband that is allergic to mold but he survived. Nice having parking under the inn so when it rained but spots were very TIGHT. I would not stay at this inn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Let me first apologize for the quality of your stay. What you experienced is not the standard by which the St. Simons Inn holds itself to. With the addition of new management, we have been creating a culture that can only be described as "The St. Simons Inn Way". That "way" is to create and environment that is great for vacationing but make you feel at home. Since beginning the changes we have found that there have have been previous employees that do not by into our goal and philosophy. Unfortunately one of those employees was responsible for the room that you stayed in. That employee is no longer with us. Sometimes we have to make the hard decisions to achieve what we know is best and sometimes that means letting an employee go. We would love another opportunity to show you "The St. Simons Inn Way" and we are confident that you would not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I have business on St Simons Island and are there at lease 6 times a year. St Simons Inn is our first choice because of location. We were there the first of this month and saw the TripAdvisor rating posted at the front desk. That prompted me to see what other people had to say about the property. Some very good-some very bad. Now to the secret. Always ask to see the room!!! This is a condo type hotel. Each room is owned by an individual and is maintained by that owner. They are responsible for the decoration, furnishings, etc. We go for #106. Best in the house. We have had to stay in other rooms. Some very nice, some decorated by Bubba's Hog Farm and Winery. Some just plain weird (#110). The buildout in each room is different. Some have ample closet space, and others you will need a cardboard box to store your things. It is a modest breakfast bar, but who do you know that says "We only stay there because of the breakfast bar". If you are looking for a real breakfast bar go to the Biltmore. Overall a great property. One last note....If there is a wedding that weekend plan on a few interruptions after the reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! You are spot on about the diversity that is displayed by our rooms. We are glad to hear that you have found the room that fits both your personality and your needs. Your recommendation about asking to see the rooms is a phenomenal one. Each room will speak to each guest differently and we would love to read about more people finding "their room" like you did. Thank you for allowing the St. Simons Inn to be a regular part of your vacation plans. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the inn for three nights.
The staff and manager were excellent.
The continental breakfast was very good- real muffins and bagels.
It didn't feel like an inn more like an inexpensive hotel.
The rooms were large but had a shabby look. The paint was peeling on our dresser and the armoire had a knob missing. The bathroom could use some work- thin shower curtains and cheap towels. I know it is a great location near town and the lighthouse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. Our staff finds it a privilege to be able to serve you. I apologize for the state of your room and please know that we are currently working with the owners of the units to assure that this type of experience is not duplicated. We would love the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend on SSI at the Inn by the Lighthouse. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about it! It is SO convenient to the village (which has restaraunts, shops, music, etc). The staff are above and beyond friendly! The lemon infused water in the lobby is delish! Breakfast is also in the lobby and was your typical cereal, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, and coffee. We would def stay here again! Oh, those of you that aren't familiar with SSI, the beach near the lighthouse is not the "best." Usually, there isn't a lot of sand to even sit on, but there are nicer beaches within walking distance or a short drive....nothing negative regarding the hotel...it is what it is :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Address: 609 Beachview Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Simons Inn, in the shadow of a centuries-old lighthouse, is easily within walking distance to all the shops, restaraunts, ocean and the fishing pier. There are 34 spacious guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, and cable television. Enjoy a host of complimentary ammenities, including continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, coffee and donuts, and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Simons Inn By The Lighthouse Hotel Saint Simons Island
Saint Simons Brunswick
St Simons Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.