We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frederica House

Frederica House
3611 Frederica Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
(912) 638-6789
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Inman, South Carolina, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Food was okay, but a little fish camp like. With so many places to eat, wouldn't go here again. Prices okay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    39
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Most people visiting St. Simons tend to wander around the village area. You can't beat the lighthouse area for taking a stroll or fishing off the pier, but sometimes the best places to dine are worth a five minute drive. The short drive to the Frerderica House will be worth the effort. If you like oysters, there are no better fried oysters on the island. The same goes for the shrimp. Though the prices are a bit higher by maybe only 2-3 dollars, the salads actually have something in them besides lettuce and the coleslaw is simply the best on the island. As a regular, I'd like to see a different fish of the day just for variety. And besides the food, its a cool place to sit, have a drink, relax, and talk local lore with the owner. If you're visiting and you don't go to the Frederica House, you haven't done St. Simons. I have just shot myself in the foot, now I'll never get a parking space.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Simons Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, medium priced menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

For those who so desire they have an early-bird special (might want to call to confirm times). They have very good breaded shrimp and their Hush Puppies are some of the best. Service is always above par- has lots of seating and parking. Good bet for above average food at good prices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta ga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Take it from a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Living on St. Simons and having visited most all of our restaurant offerings, I want to write a review on Frederica House. My husband and I ate there again tonight and were reminded of what a good choice they are. The portions are huge (and we think the best fried seafood on the island) and the service is always always very accommodating. We are thanked for our business and we know the sentiment is sincere. While a bit removed from the village area (on the North end of the island slightly past Sea Island Road) this restaurant is well worth seeking out. Take it from those who live here and have a well rounded opinion of what is worth a visit..you will not be disappointed. Also they have a great daily happy hour to make the whole experience even more enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband & I dined here tonight. Very friendly, nice atmosphere; very peaceful and pleasant. We both had the special: Parmesan Grouper- yummmmm! So delicious! Service was very good, too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederica House also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Frederica House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederica House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.