We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort to your Saves list
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yulee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I have had the pleasure of visiting the King and Prince on St. Simons Island twice this summer for weekend get aways. Words are hard to express how much we enjoy this property. The Staff, the pool, the rooms, the oceanview and the BREAKFAST all are steps above the rest. Thank you King and Prince for being our little slice of heaven?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    191
    74
    48
    24
See reviews for
200
298
20
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Had the pleasure of staying at the King and Prince for our 35 year high school reunion. And in addition to enjoying the facilities I worked with the staff to coordinate the event. The staff was professional and hard working. No detail was ignored. Request were dealt with immediately. I also had my family with me and my young adult children enjoyed the Resort as much as our group did. They too said they would return. Best kept secret in St. Simon's Island, Georgia.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed for a week in the Villas. The living space was clean and large, but the finishes were all quite dated. There was quite a bit of wear and tear on the appliances, wall coverings, doors and windows. The kids really enjoyed the pools, and we just timed our beach outings to when the tide was low. At that time, the beach was great -- there was no seaweed or rocks underfoot, although jelly fish were seen (and felt) occasionally. Room service was quite slow (over an hour) and housekeeping varied their schedule (sometime 9 am, sometimes 1 or later) so we never knew when to expect the clean up. Service at the pool side bar and grill was excellent though. Very quick and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolina09
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

start at the front door, if they can not afford to replace it, at least repaint it, and clean it.
king's tavern restaurant, do not go. bread was 2 or 3 days old to start. our drink order took about 1/2 hour to get.ceasar salad was warm. the steaks had a bad taste to them.
And the help was oblivious to all of it. Then at the end of the evening the ladies room
had young girls from a wedding party in it. they had to much to drink and the rest you
can figure out. Absolutely no class what so ever for a resort with their rating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerton, Arkansas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We choose the King and Prince based on reviews and the oceanfront location for a 3 night stay. We had an room in the oceanfront building which overlooks the pool area directly to the ocean. We were happy with the resort and what it offered overall. The rooms were spacious, nicely decorated, very quiet between rooms, beds were comfortable, requests were promply taken care of, and most parts of the property required key access- all things you'd expect in a resort with resort prices. The biggest down side that we didn't expect with this being our first visit to the island, (and we saw many people have the same reaction) is that for the biggest part of the day there was no beach!!!!!!- the ocean came right up to the breaker rocks that were next to the pool area. To get to a beach area to walk , run, you could sit on or swim in the ocean, you had to walk to the north of the property and walk through water to get there- or drive to a beach a mile away as was suggested by hotel staff! So, naturally the pool area was very crowded and chairs were in short supply. The pools were also very warm- nice for kids who wanted to swim all day but not refreshing for we adults on a 99* day!! So, I would suggest checking the tide charts if you are looking for some beach time when staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed in K&P South Villas Condo - 4th floor unit. This specific unit was spacious but hasn't been touched since the '80s. The carpet was green and the furniture/fixtures/appliances/window coverings and linens seemed to be the original ones. For the rental rate, this condo is a CASH COW since no money has been reinvested. Food is not at par for a resort. Also, access to the beach is cumbersome - have to wade through rocks and hope you don't fall (as I did) and get hurt. Overall the best location if you want to be on the water and have access to pool and beach but we didn't feel like we were staying in the top resort on the island because of quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Staying at the Tabby house, 1st floor was wonderful. The house is furnished lavishly, kitchen is upscale, with granite top and new appliances. Plasma TVs in every bedroom and living room. WiFi was free. Hotel staff was great and maintained the cleanliness of the rooms daily.

My teenage granddaughters (3) all had plenty to do at the hotel, for there are many jacuzzi's, along with a few pools (outdoor and indoor). There are benches everywhere on the property to sit and look out at the Atlantic ocean and star gaze. The property is within walking distance of the V illage and the pier (shopping galore).

We are already planning our return trip to the King and Prince, Tabby House. It truly is a perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.