We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class golf trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort to your Saves list
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room rates from $129
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First class golf trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I just returned from a golf trip to the King and Prince for the 6th consecutive year. I have to say that this was the best visit yet! The hotel staff and accommodations were first class. The front desk and housekeeping staff were just a joy and you will not find a more comfortable bed in a hotel anywhere! The Golf Course was in mint condition. The group I was with have played other courses on the island but always keep coming back to the King and Prince. While we all realize there are many options for golf in the area, ultimately the staff at the K and P is the biggest reason we keep coming back. Year after year I am always greeted with a friendly handshake and smile by GM Rick Mattox. Rick consistently goes out of his way to make sure our group has all our expectations met. Truly just a wonderful golf experience from start to finish and can't wait to get back next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We truly appreciate your warm compliments regarding your experience at the resort. We are proud of our facility and staff and glad you enjoyed a fantastic time playing golf. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    176
    70
    46
    23
See reviews for
184
270
19
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have been attending a golf trip at K&P for 13 years (Trip celebrated 20th year this year). The accommodations are always clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly. The golf course is the best playable golf course on the Island. It was in great shape again this year. Rick Mattox the GM at the golf course is top notch. He goes out of his way to accommodate our group and he is a very gracious host.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed a great experience in our golf course. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and facility. Indeed Rick Mattox is an outstanding Manager and we are proud that he is a member of the King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was with a large golf group and purchased a package with them. We played 3 days of golf and stayed in the North Villas. It was a FIRST RATE GOLF COURSE with an incredibly helpful staff (the general manager Rick Mattocks was especially helpful) and the accommodations were first class. I would highly recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: The villas are large with washer/drier, full kitchen, king beds and pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are so happy you and the other guests enjoy your stay at the Resort. The King and Prince Golf Course is a great course and most guests have a wonderful experience playing golf. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went to King and Prince for the first time ,very relaxing horse backing riding was a great
recommendation but stay away from the casino cruise.Great place along the beach.Nice
staff very attentive. Will be coming back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your warm compliments regarding your stay a the hotel and happy you enjoyed your stay on the island. I hope to welcome you back to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the King and Prince for five nights in October as my husband had a conference there. Our third floor room had a beautiful view of the pools, beach and ocean. We enjoyed the lovely balcony and spacious king-bedded room. We have some diet restrictions, so used the in-room refrigerator for food and wine to eat in the room or on the balcony. The atrium area of the hotel is going to be renovated soon which should make the swimming pool and hot tub arrangement more inviting. As it was, on our visit, the conference attendees were on the other side of a short room divider from the pool area, so no one seemed to use the indoor pool or hot tub and the weather was a little too cool to be in the outdoor pools. The only recommendation I have is to bring your own drinking water as the tap water is desalinated, so tastes a bit different. We purchased jugs of drinking water from the nearby Winn-Dixie supermarket.

Room Tip: Request an oceanfront room on the fourth floor for the best views. Lower floors have some palm tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We appreciate your recent visit to the King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort and for taking the time to fill out a report. We are glad that you had a great experience in our facility and especially that you were very pleased with one of the ocean front view rooms. Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The King and Prince is a great place to stay. A good mix of historic, but updated to meet the modern needs. They focus on the little details to make the stay special.

Rooms vary greatly depending on what part of the property you stay, but always a quality room. Furnishings are warm and comforting.

Breakfast buffet might be a little high priced for the offering, but it is a buffet. Take advantage of the omlette chef and you will be fine.

Come here for history, a great stay, and fantastic ocean views.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are so happy you enjoy your stay at the Resort. Thank you for writing this review and letting us know that you had a wonderful experience. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just returned from staying at the King & Prince and had a wonderful time. We met friends and rented one of the two bedroom condos (Villas, south side) for four nights. It was nicely furnished and had a beautiful view of the beach. Also private parking and easy access to the resort with all it's privileges. We then moved to a lovely 4th floor room in the Oceanfront building and it was great. My husband had meetings at the resort with a rather large conference and it was all very well done. The sunsets and sunrises were spectacular. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. We enjoyed lunches on the terrace and just lounging on one of many lounge chairs facing the ocean. The pools were beautiful, but too cold for this time of year. We didn't want to leave the resort because it was just so pleasant. Easy access to the beach made it so nice to take many long walks on the beautiful beach. The whole place was very well taken care of. We even saw the maintenance staff washing windows at night in the main lobby/restaurant area so as to not disturb anyone during the day. They also cleaned the pool and deck area during the night. The whole resort is gated so you can come and go with your room card, but not outsiders could come in from the beach or street. We would love to go back some time.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a condo, definitely the southside because the view is better. Rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write regarding your experience at our resort and am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are so grateful for your kind words concerning the service of our staff and facility. It is an honor to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.