We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort to your Saves list
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room rates from $129
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stated at the king and prince for my birthday. It is the best place available on the island. This is right on the beach just steps from the hotel. It is older but has been well taken care of. St Simons Island is for people who want quiet and there are lots of great places to eat but not much else to do but beach. The food at the restaurant is a bit pricy but really, really good. Our room had a great ocean view. If u have teenagers or like to have a lot of options of things to do, St. Simons is probably not for you. If you plan to go this hotel is going to be where u want to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The King and Prince as your birthday celebration destination. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    176
    70
    46
    23
See reviews for
184
270
19
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful resort with exceptional service. Enjoyed the pool area outside and then later in the evening me and my friends relaxed in the heated pool and jacuzzi inside. Our intentions were to go out for the evening but we were so pleased with the service that we dined in and never left the resort. I was amazed at the rate, very low for a resort providing this level of atmosphere, comfort and service. I look forward to returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We appreciate your recent visit to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the King and Prince for a weekend getaway and it was the most relaxing time ever!! We had a marvelous room, beautiful view and a best ever brunch on Sunday!! The Saint Simon's beaches are wondefully relaxing and the view is breathtaking!!.The King and Prince has an outstanding lobby with plants galore and relaxing indor and outdoor pools. Their gift shop and pictures of their past well known guests are also a plus!! I would recommend this outstanding resort to all of our friends!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort as your weekend getaway. I sincerely appreciate your warm compliments regarding your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend at King and Prince. I would recommend this hotel, but some problems need to be addressed.

Pros:
--Location, right on the beach! We had an oceanfront room with incredible views. Also, just a block away are two good seafood restaurants (Crabdaddys and Crab Trap). Easy walk.
--The pool area is fantastic. Lots of seating, towels, and a pool bar/outdoor cafe with reasonable prices. Even poolside drink service! Very relaxing and a perfect place to spend a lazy afternoon. The pool seemed clean and well-maintained. There are actually three pools: a deeper pool (3'-5' but seemed deeper than that), a "medium" pool (3'), and a kiddie pool with a fountain (1 ft'). As an adult with no kids, I liked that the rambunctious little ones mostly stayed in the medium pool.
--Restaurant and lounge on property. The breakfast buffet was excellent and reasonably priced. There used to be a Starbucks coffee stand in the lobby, but it's gone. Wish it were still there!
-- Indoor pool. We didn't use this, but it's a nice option.

Cons.
--Room quality. At first glance it looks great, but closer inspection finds that it's kind of old and dirty. One of our pillows had a red smear on it. There was a cookie behind the TV stand. The bathroom floor looked like it hadn't been mopped in years. The screen door to the balcony was ripped and actually not attached to the frame at the bottom, and so we couldn't use it because we were afraid bugs would find their way in. The light on the balcony was broken.Our safe was also broken and we had to call to get it repaired so that we had a place to safely store items while at the beach. I will say that security was very prompt when we called about the safe.
--Housekeeping. We were given just 2 towels for 4 people. We had to call both days to get extra towels brought up. We also had to call and request toilet paper. Even though we were out of TP when our room was cleaned, we weren't given any more and had to call. I mean, come on, this is just basic stuff here! We shouldn't have to ask! We are not picky travelers, really, and I hated having to call with requests that should have been automatic.

I would stay here again because I feel the good outweighs the bad. But... The hotel could be truly excellent with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort. Management will follow up with the appropriate leaders to address the issues you have noted. We certainly appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This used to be the go to spot for a fabulous Sunday brunch on the island - great location and service, and tons of choices - custom made omelette and waffles, all the breakfast standards, salads, soups, carved meats, shrimp, vegetables, and a huge dessert display. But all that is no more- now it's just eggs, bacon, sausage, etc, in the midst of empty tables that used to be filled with yummy food choices. The cute little store is now empty, and even the bathrooms have gone downhill - the cute paper hand towels decorated with the King and Prince logo have been replaced with cheap white washcloths. The King is a sad shadow of his former self :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding the changes to our Brunch offerings here at the King and Prince. In response to guest comments for more a la carte brunch offerings we have indeed shifted from a Brunch buffet. We still have the favorites you described for our breakfast buffet and have added a menu featuring brunch items that can be ordered a la carte. Adding this flexibility of having the breakfast buffet by itself (only $14) or by adding other items for that more traditional brunch experience has allowed us to appeal to a larger audience.
We rely on feedback such as yours and will continue to monitor the popularity of our Brunch to make sure we offer what the community wants to see.
Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I just recently had a wonderful stay in the Historic Building at the King and Prince Resort. I attended a conference from August 25-29, 2013. And I just loved it. The room was more than I ever imagined, it was very spacious, king size bed. Upon checking in, the front desk staff was very polite and warm. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning that I was there. There was constant service while I was eating. Warm smiling faces makes a difference in a restaurant. The grounds and inside the building are just beautiful. I look forward to bringing my family and ladies from our ministry for a weekend get away. I did not have a balcony but the peace and serenity made up for not having a ocean view.

Room Tip: Its really what you prefer, from what I can tell all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We would like to thank you for not only staying with us but for taking the time to write about your experience at The King and Prince. We are so grateful that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We provide our guests excellent service, outstanding accommodations and unrivaled Southern Hospitality. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'd lived on St. Simons for decades so had known the K&P, and came back for a family reunion in August. Was thrilled to be able to stay there! Excellent service and food. Stayed at a villa/privately owned condo that had plumbing issues (water leaking through the floor when we left), but evidently no one previously had reported it. Wonderful location in walking distance to the Village with shops and restaurants. Great, wide beach with glorious high tides. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort and for and for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor report. I do apologize for the plumbing issues and glad to know that the issue was resolved quickly. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.