We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Simons” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort to your Saves list
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St Simons Island
1 review
“St Simons”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I very much did not enjoy this stay. 1st. When arriving we missed the 'temporary" front desk due to poor signs. 2nd. When I made the reservation there was no mention that the hotel was undergoing major renovation. 3rd. The commode ran all night and several times I had to take the top off and hold the stop to get it to flush. 4th. Our "partial" ocean view was over the parking lot with a very large trash container in it. 5th. Not all of the lights worked. 6th. Unlike much less expensive hotels, complimentary coffee was not available in the lobby ($2:12 + tip!). And 7th. Due to a very objectionable odor of sewage we had to check out early. We had planned to have lunch in the restaurant (beautiful in the brochure) but due the construction, noise and the sewage smell, we were eager to leave. Thank you for reading this. If you would like to avoid the 8th complaint, you may call me at 904-534-6714 and offer an appology and refund. If I do not receive a call, I will assume lack of follow-up (#8)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Front Office Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ron J,
It was a pleasure speaking with you earlier. I am very glad that you and I had some time to talk about your experience here at The King & Prince Beach and Golf Resort. Thank you for the great feedback and also the positive comments you made as well. I completely understand that in this instance we fell short of your expectations as well as our own. Although we are disappointed we were not able to meet your expectations, I feel comfortable that our conversation this afternoon resolved most of the challenges you had with your stay. I am glad that we were able to talk and we were able to have a well received conversation. Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can improve. We do hope you will come back to visit us and contact me personally should you return. Take Care!
Alden A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    191
    74
    48
    24
See reviews for
200
298
20
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lake city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to the resort for a marriage retreat as well as our first year marriage anniversary. It was great, the food, the room, staff! I had a massage while I was there, had to walk a short distance but the overall massage was ok. We didn't get to enjoy the pools because it was cold but they have inside and outside pools, very nice! We will go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our stay at the King and Prince was really great! In Feb. and the weather was perfect (82 was high)! The Cabana room was nice with an exceptional view of the ocean! Lovely setting with swings right outside the door. Very short stroll to the beach which was awesome! This place gives you the feeling that you are on your own private beach! The only complaint I have is I wish it was more parking available inside the gated area. Make this only one car per room for Cabana/Tower rooms and it would be even better!!! Overall, you must go to this resort!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the Cabana or Tower Room! The view is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are traveling to the Georgia Coast, you have got to stay at the King & Prince Beach and Golf Resort on St. Simons Island.

I have stayed there many times and it is my favorite place to stay when I am on the Golden Isles. The atmosphere is wonderful, the food, the different style rooms you can stay in, the ocean and beach views are great.

The King and Prince Golf Club is a slice out of heaven and any golfer would love to come play it at anytime of the season! Right down the street from some great shopping, attractions, so much to do near the hotel.

So if you are a couple, or group or business, the KIng and Prince Beach and Golf Resort is the place to stay. Tell Bud at the hotel you heard it here from the Golf Travel Host!

You wont be sorry

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the tower or the older historic part of the hotel, you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

K&P is a mixed bag of a resort - some historic hotel, some 1980's, beach-facing hotel rooms (already renovated), some condos from a couple of different decades, some free standing cabins/houses. The historic buildings of the resort are undergoing needed renovations, but as we did not stay in this portion I can only recommend spending some time in this part of the resort, enjoying the indoor pool or bar/restaurant, or the beautiful, "old school" common places.

Looking for a quick overnight Valentine treat (with some sun and warmer weather!), my husband and I stayed in an ocean facing room in the building adjacent to the oldest part of the resort. These rooms seem to have been updated a few years back, were spacious and clean, had a very comfortable bed, plenty of towels, good toiletries (Gilchrist and Soames), a seating area with love seat, work/dining table and 2 chairs, and plenty of lamps/lighting. It also offers a mini fridge, in room safe, pod coffee maker with Starbucks (regular and decaf), and Tazo teas. The room has a private balcony (with 2 chairs) overlooking the outdoor pools and beyond that the ocean. We found the room quiet even though it was beside the ice-maker and elevator - keep in mind, though, this is their "off" season and we both sleep with ear-plugs!

The only negatives I found were that the sheets are worn (small holes, rust stains), the upholstery is a bit stained (ugh) in places, the furniture is showing edge wear, and the balcony could use a little more cleaning attention - but none of this to the extent of being a "deal breaker." They might want to offer training to the shuttle drivers and concierge, as well. Whereas everyone was courteous, their customer service skills are lacking. The van drivers offered no luggage assistance, door opening, etc. The concierge could not break herself away from her IPad/email/internet, and seemed to know very little about the King and Prince in general. Sort of strange behavior for a resort, and a little off-putting.

The pool area is beautiful and appears to have a pool bar in season. There are 2 pools separated by landscaping/conversation areas and a foot bridge - one catering to adults and the other with a great kid space (sandy play area, pool from a few inches to a couple of feet) - good solution for everyone to enjoy their areas! All of this is surrounded by nice lounges, free standing porch swings and the Atlantic ocean.

We really enjoyed walking the grounds, reading about the history and finding quiet nooks in the old building - and we are planning to go again in a few weeks for a longer stay. I sincerely hope that the renovations they are doing include restoration of the mosaic floor in the Delegal room, the Compass Rose dance floor, and removing the casino-esque lighting from the lobby. She really is a Grand Dame that deserves her former glory.

K&P is extremely close to the old village of Saint Simons for restaurants and shopping, and to SSI airport/McKinnon Field. For us it's an easy walk to just about anywhere, but there are lots of bike paths and the hotel has an airport shuttle.

We really enjoyed our short stay, and hopefully with the renovations that are underway and just a bit of customer service tweaking, the K&P will continue to get better and better!

Room Tip: If you are in the ocean facing rooms building, the 3rd floor has a clearer view of the ocean from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family stayed in a King/sleeper sofa room, 3rd floor with balcony, ocean front. What a beautiful way to wake up! There are six pools on property. When going to the one indoors, you are welcomed to the smell of chlorine, and is oddly in front of the restaurant and the meeting/banquet rooms. In front of our building there were two pools, (one was a kiddie, and the other only went to maybe 4 ft.) They are renovating. So some things are understandable do to the renovation. But, when we were getting breakfast from the buffet, I noticed dust on the window ledge cover of the buffet. The silver platters that keep the food warm had greasy finger prints all over them. A bit put back by those things. The food was "buffet" ok. We only ate there for breakfast. Buffet is the better value. The buffet staff could have been a little more approachable. I initiated "Hi, and good morning" to the employee that created the waffles/omelets behind the counter.
The room was clean! The bathroom is small, needed better ventilation. The fan worked at one point. Good shower power. Quick about delivering extra towels. Staff around our building always greeted us with a smile and a hello, even have a blessed day/or enjoy your day! :)
The beach was fun, we collected washed up shells, played ball with a couple dogs with their owners. It's a good flat walking beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife surprised me and booked us in here on a Valentines get away Special. Our 4th floor room was very clean and nice with a great view. It was cool Out the 2 days that we were there and the heat in the room worked but seemed a bit funky with the control. The Bathroom had louver doors with a big crack down the middle but that didn't matter because I left them open so the mirror would not cloud up so bad. Anything negative I could say about this place is far outweighed by how nice this place is. The beach is just perfect for a long walk and a great view. We will definitely be going back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 201 Arnold Road, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.