We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Simon Island Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sea Gate Inn to your Saves list
The Sea Gate Inn
1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“St Simon Island Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

WoW, what a place nestled right at across from the beach. Check in was a breeze once they located our reservation. The Inn was absolutely fabulous. The apartment was well furnished and emaculately maintained. The staff performed exceptionally well. If you are looking for the island experience without having to utilize a passport, come by the Sea Gate Inn on St. Simon Island. You will not regret the experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    17
    4
    4
    13
See reviews for
17
43
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The manager, Wanda, was very helpful and spent 30 minutes with us explaining the Island, restaurants and beaches. Plus, she gave us man coupons for dining and shopping. The suite was large with a king bed, living room with sleep couch, large kitchen, full refrigerator, and clean as you could ask. Beautiful ocean view. We stayed 3 nights, quiet, comfy. We brought bikes but they also rent them. Easy ride to town, 10 minutes. Walk 50 feet to the ocean. Great place, highly recommend. Great management!

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 102, 201, 202, 301, 302 all face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What I thought would be the start of a special, long vacation for us (our 45th Anniversary) and our stressed out, overworked daughter turned into a nightmare.

Having made the drive from Orlando, eager to relax & enjoy St. Simons for 2 nite's before continuing on our trip to North Carolina, we learned our reservation wasn't as requested. This quickly became a Seinfeld episode!

Though Ron at the desk tried his best to assist, our requested & 'reserved' top floor, oceanfront room was not available: all those we're occupied! In checking our original reservation made in mid-July, Ron wondered why 'Dennis' hadn't assigned the room right away.

Ron found a room he was sure we'd "be comfortable" in. Too bad it was on the first floor, side view of roof tops. When I asked about the price adjustment for this change, Ron said there was none!?!

Upon seeing the room, I immediately gave Ron my card & asked for a refund. He understood, apologized more than once for the error (wasn't his fault, tho) and processed the credit.

Then we spent the next 9 hrs. trying to find lodging along I-95 and U.S. Rt. 17 that could accomodate us for two nights & be a second choice 'start' to our special time. The height of tourist season didn't allow many choices. Most places were booked, esp. on Fri. nite.

A very long, frustrating & fatiguing story made short: we plowed on to our final destination of Ocean Isle Beach, NC where through great fortune there was a room available at the Ocean Isle Inn. The staff there couldn't have been more helpful, professional & personable. It was greatly appreciated at 11 p.m. after such an arduous & disappointing day.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 4th of July stay at the Sea Gate Inn. The location is perfect-about halfway between the village and Massengale park, so it is a short walk to most restaurants, bars, etc. The room itself was spacious and very nicely decorated. The staff was mostly friendly and we had no real problems. SGI is certainly not a resort, but if you're looking for a nice, quiet place to relax this is it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Management is the best. Their rooms are so clean. We have stayed with them three times and each time has been wonderful. The ocean views are super. I cannot say enough nice things about these folks. Super, super friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Can't say enough good about the resort ! Wanda and Ron the property managers went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. They were so friendly and helped us find places to eat and things to do while in St. Simons Island. The room was beautiful ! Bed was very comfortable .... Can't wait to return and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sea Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gate Inn

Address: 1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious new hotel-condominium suites! Each 1 bedroom, 1 bath residence offers a full kitchen, modern decor, large balconies, and gorgeous spa-like baths. Hotel amenities, such as daily housekeeping included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Sea Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Gate Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.