We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Gate Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sea Gate Inn to your Saves list
The Sea Gate Inn
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Winterville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea Gate Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Management is the best. Their rooms are so clean. We have stayed with them three times and each time has been wonderful. The ocean views are super. I cannot say enough nice things about these folks. Super, super friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelia_H550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Can't say enough good about the resort ! Wanda and Ron the property managers went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. They were so friendly and helped us find places to eat and things to do while in St. Simons Island. The room was beautiful ! Bed was very comfortable .... Can't wait to return and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloryHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When we arrived for a two night stay, the property manager, Wanda greated us with "Welcome Home!" Well, we understood what she meant when we opened the door to our room,# 302, and saw a gorgeous spacious tiled condo with a beautiful view of the ocean! The master bedroom, with king bed was so comfy and includes a large sitting area. The bath had two separate sink areas, jetted tub, beautiful tiled shower and a walk in closet. The living area included a kitchen with granite counters and stainless appliances, dining and living areas, and a private balcony with iron tables and chairs. The location was a nice one mile walk into town. Next door was the Ocean Lodge and we stopped there one night for drinks and appetizers on their roof top terrace with spectacular views. It is an easy walk to Crabbdaddy's Seafood Restaurant through the quaint southern neighborhoods, with big trees and hanging moss. When we return, we will definitely be staying here again!!!

Room Tip: Room #302 was on the top floor with a private ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mg523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As if the beauty of an ocean view on Saint Simons wasn't enough, the rooms at the Sea Gate Inn were absolutely stunning. We were on Saint Simons for a wedding. We walked in from the heat and after a long drive to a comfortably cooled suite of rooms that were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We were fortunate to have an ocean view room away from the pool. We were in room 202 which had a great ocean view. Beware, other ocean view rooms at the Sea Gate overlook the pool and all of the accompanying noise and lack of privacy. The suite had a fully outfitted kitchen, small dining area, living room with a flat screen and comfy furniture, a huge bedroom, bathroom with jetted tub, separate shower and toilet rooms, multiple sinks, washer/dryer and plenty of closet space. The patio had really nice iron furnishings and plenty of room for guests. All windows have plantation shutters. The best thing about the suite were the high ceilings and opulent decorative touches that made the place feel special and upscale. The property manager was super-friendly and eager to help when/if needed. The check-in process was a breeze. There is covered parking and we never had a problem finding a space. The Sea Gate is across the street from public beach access and about .9 miles from the center of town -- an easy walk or cycle there. All in all a relaxing and comfortable stay for us at the Sea Gate.

Room Tip: the x01 and x02 rooms have unobstructed beach access without having to overlook the pool. We highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgpatlantatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Gate Inn for three nights. It is by far one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. The room looked brand new and all of the furniture was high quality and in great condition. There was a spacious shower stall and a whirlpool tub. There were also two separate bathroom sinks which was great. The bedroom and living rooms were large and comfortable. All of the light fixtures even had incandescent light bulbs in them, none of the flickering fluorescent bulbs that you find in hotels now. Our only complaint would be the galley kitchen. It was small and cramped. It was difficult to open the dishwasher and stand in front of the sink at the same time. It also did not have an oven, just a two- burner stove and microwave. The outdoor pool was nice; we went for a refreshing swim. St Simon’s Island doesn’t really have any beaches so we went to nearby Jekyll Island to go to the beach. We had dinner one night at Crabdaddy’s restaurant which is just down the street and it was excellent. The seafood was very fresh. We cooked the rest of our meals in our suite. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sea Gate Inn and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CDUB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As you can see from the photos this is not a typical hotel, it is a beautiful condo but with light housekeeping each day! Best of both worlds. Manager Wanda will be Friend Wanda before you leave. She is quintessential southern hospitality. The grounds and pool are well kept; our unit on the second floor was too.
As we love walking and exploring new areas, Sea Gate Inn is in a perfect location. We walked to the village a few time a day and explored the surrounding neighborhood. I love that this is a smaller property which made it quieter. We have stayed other places but we will return here for sure.

Room Tip: rooms like 201 are across from the elevators so there is a hydrolic sound in the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18kimmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in unit 106. The room was gorgeous. Beautiful furniture, accomodations, etc. The bed was amazingly comfortable, just like home. The reason I gave the rating of a 3 was because of the location. That is THE ONLY reason I would never stay at this hotel again. I like to be ON the beach & this being our first trip to St. Simons we were unaware that certain beaches were not accessible. I read the reviews that said the beach was only there during low tide, which is pretty much all day, so I didn't think anything about it. The beach in front of this property might as well be totally unusable. You can NOT set up chairs, umbrella, nothing. It is in a safe and pretty area, just not what we were used to or expecting. I would have been totally disappointed had the room not been so above and beyond our expectations. Everything was within a 5 minute drive so that's not a big deal. I would've preferred to stay on the beach near the coast guard station. This room advertises it sleeps 6, but they only give you 4 glasses, 4 plates, 4 forks, spoons, etc. good thing there is a dishwasher. :) The room was very clean & I can't say enough positive for the room. It's just unfortunate for the property that it is where it is.

Room Tip: go up! You can see the ocean from the 1st floor, but since it's not ground level you might as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#6 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
0.3 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gate Inn

Address: 1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sea Gate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious new hotel-condominium suites! Each 1 bedroom, 1 bath residence offers a full kitchen, modern decor, large balconies, and gorgeous spa-like baths. Hotel amenities, such as daily housekeeping included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Sea Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Gate Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing