We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Gate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sea Gate Inn to your Saves list
The Sea Gate Inn
1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Gate Inn for three nights. It is by far one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. The room looked brand new and all of the furniture was high quality and in great condition. There was a spacious shower stall and a whirlpool tub. There were also two separate bathroom sinks which was great. The bedroom and living rooms were large and comfortable. All of the light fixtures even had incandescent light bulbs in them, none of the flickering fluorescent bulbs that you find in hotels now. Our only complaint would be the galley kitchen. It was small and cramped. It was difficult to open the dishwasher and stand in front of the sink at the same time. It also did not have an oven, just a two- burner stove and microwave. The outdoor pool was nice; we went for a refreshing swim. St Simon’s Island doesn’t really have any beaches so we went to nearby Jekyll Island to go to the beach. We had dinner one night at Crabdaddy’s restaurant which is just down the street and it was excellent. The seafood was very fresh. We cooked the rest of our meals in our suite. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sea Gate Inn and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
11
35
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As you can see from the photos this is not a typical hotel, it is a beautiful condo but with light housekeeping each day! Best of both worlds. Manager Wanda will be Friend Wanda before you leave. She is quintessential southern hospitality. The grounds and pool are well kept; our unit on the second floor was too.
As we love walking and exploring new areas, Sea Gate Inn is in a perfect location. We walked to the village a few time a day and explored the surrounding neighborhood. I love that this is a smaller property which made it quieter. We have stayed other places but we will return here for sure.

Room Tip: rooms like 201 are across from the elevators so there is a hydrolic sound in the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in unit 106. The room was gorgeous. Beautiful furniture, accomodations, etc. The bed was amazingly comfortable, just like home. The reason I gave the rating of a 3 was because of the location. That is THE ONLY reason I would never stay at this hotel again. I like to be ON the beach & this being our first trip to St. Simons we were unaware that certain beaches were not accessible. I read the reviews that said the beach was only there during low tide, which is pretty much all day, so I didn't think anything about it. The beach in front of this property might as well be totally unusable. You can NOT set up chairs, umbrella, nothing. It is in a safe and pretty area, just not what we were used to or expecting. I would have been totally disappointed had the room not been so above and beyond our expectations. Everything was within a 5 minute drive so that's not a big deal. I would've preferred to stay on the beach near the coast guard station. This room advertises it sleeps 6, but they only give you 4 glasses, 4 plates, 4 forks, spoons, etc. good thing there is a dishwasher. :) The room was very clean & I can't say enough positive for the room. It's just unfortunate for the property that it is where it is.

Room Tip: go up! You can see the ocean from the 1st floor, but since it's not ground level you might as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This property has been beautifully, thoughtfully redone. My friends and I had a great time in the queen suite designed for six. Just a few comments: There is only one toilet (shown on the floor plan) which can sometimes be a problem for six women. The closeted toilet is directly across from the walk-in shower, and the shower had CLEAR glass, so whoever is showering must hang a large towel strategically in order not to give a free show:) There are only four place settings for dining (penny-wise, pound-foolish?), so we had to run the dishwasher extra times. Overall, we were pleased.

Room Tip: If a beach view is important to you, choose a second or third-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is not your average hotel. The rooms are much nicer then most hotel rooms. This is more like renting a small apartment. Living area with dining and small kitchen, balcony and large seperate bedroom, shower & tub, washer/dryer, two TVs, Tile floors, nicely decorated, comfortable beds, clean and well maintained. It is also within walking distance to the village and pier.
Parking was NO problem there are only 24 units here and they have ample parking in front, under the building and another row of places in back. There is a rental office on the grounds but this is NOT a full service hotel. If you are looking for a very nice place to stay across the street from the ocean, a pool and the nicest rooms on the island then this is the place to stay. You can walk a couple of blocks to the King & Prince or The Ocean Lodge for dinner and drinks in their lounge and the money you save at The Seagate will more then cover the tab.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Arrived at the hotel to find absolutely NO parking! There is clearly not sufficient parking for this hotel. Then, could not even get near the elevator for the trash! Waited for the elevator repeatedly while staff continued to off load trash. Finally, told one of the housekeepers to go back upstairs and get off the elevator with her cart so that my daughter and I could go upstairs with our luggage. Later, I killed a small roach in the bathroom. But the ultimate insult was finding a bug in my bed and not a small one! Stayed at this hotel 3 years ago but will not stay here again after this experience. The place has not been maintained. The walls have large scuff marks and add the bugs, the parking situation and the rude employees and for $300. Per night , I can certainly stay somewhere else better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodnettCooper, Manager at The Sea Gate Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank your for your feedback. At the Sea Gate Inn, we pride ourselves on a beautiful facility and outstanding customer service. We certainly apologize for any deficiency in either area.

The Sea Gate Inn is a 24-room hotel with 24 covered parking spaces and 13 additional spaces. For guests traveling with more than one vehicle, we request they utilize only one covered space. Most of our guests comply with this request.

The Inn is treated for insects monthly. In addition to regular maintenance, we touch up paint in each suite twice yearly, or more often as needed.

The Sea Gate Inn has one elevator, which is utilized by the housekeeping staff as well as guests. To minimize guest impact, the housekeepers load carts to make a single trip between floors. We do apologize that you were inconvenienced or experienced any impolite employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I were in St. Simons to scout homes for a large family vacation in September. We were happy to find Sea Gate Inn. We enjoy having a condo setting instead of staying in a hotel room. We love having a kitchen and bedrooms separately. It is difficult finding a condo for a short visit. All prices included everything- no worry over clean up fees, etc. Our room was beautiful and clean. We walked to the village and restaurants. Wanda checked us in. She was wonderful. She would call me by name every time she saw me on the property, and she would always ask if there was anything she could do for us. We will definitely return to Sea Gate Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gate Inn

Address: 1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious new hotel-condominium suites! Each 1 bedroom, 1 bath residence offers a full kitchen, modern decor, large balconies, and gorgeous spa-like baths. Hotel amenities, such as daily housekeeping included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Sea Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Gate Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.