We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little disappointed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Gate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a little disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in unit 106. The room was gorgeous. Beautiful furniture, accomodations, etc. The bed was amazingly comfortable, just like home. The reason I gave the rating of a 3 was because of the location. That is THE ONLY reason I would never stay at this hotel again. I like to be ON the beach & this being our first trip to St. Simons we were unaware that certain beaches were not accessible. I read the reviews that said the beach was only there during low tide, which is pretty much all day, so I didn't think anything about it. The beach in front of this property might as well be totally unusable. You can NOT set up chairs, umbrella, nothing. It is in a safe and pretty area, just not what we were used to or expecting. I would have been totally disappointed had the room not been so above and beyond our expectations. Everything was within a 5 minute drive so that's not a big deal. I would've preferred to stay on the beach near the coast guard station. This room advertises it sleeps 6, but they only give you 4 glasses, 4 plates, 4 forks, spoons, etc. good thing there is a dishwasher. :) The room was very clean & I can't say enough positive for the room. It's just unfortunate for the property that it is where it is.

Room Tip: go up! You can see the ocean from the 1st floor, but since it's not ground level you might as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
11
34
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This property has been beautifully, thoughtfully redone. My friends and I had a great time in the queen suite designed for six. Just a few comments: There is only one toilet (shown on the floor plan) which can sometimes be a problem for six women. The closeted toilet is directly across from the walk-in shower, and the shower had CLEAR glass, so whoever is showering must hang a large towel strategically in order not to give a free show:) There are only four place settings for dining (penny-wise, pound-foolish?), so we had to run the dishwasher extra times. Overall, we were pleased.

Room Tip: If a beach view is important to you, choose a second or third-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is not your average hotel. The rooms are much nicer then most hotel rooms. This is more like renting a small apartment. Living area with dining and small kitchen, balcony and large seperate bedroom, shower & tub, washer/dryer, two TVs, Tile floors, nicely decorated, comfortable beds, clean and well maintained. It is also within walking distance to the village and pier.
Parking was NO problem there are only 24 units here and they have ample parking in front, under the building and another row of places in back. There is a rental office on the grounds but this is NOT a full service hotel. If you are looking for a very nice place to stay across the street from the ocean, a pool and the nicest rooms on the island then this is the place to stay. You can walk a couple of blocks to the King & Prince or The Ocean Lodge for dinner and drinks in their lounge and the money you save at The Seagate will more then cover the tab.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Arrived at the hotel to find absolutely NO parking! There is clearly not sufficient parking for this hotel. Then, could not even get near the elevator for the trash! Waited for the elevator repeatedly while staff continued to off load trash. Finally, told one of the housekeepers to go back upstairs and get off the elevator with her cart so that my daughter and I could go upstairs with our luggage. Later, I killed a small roach in the bathroom. But the ultimate insult was finding a bug in my bed and not a small one! Stayed at this hotel 3 years ago but will not stay here again after this experience. The place has not been maintained. The walls have large scuff marks and add the bugs, the parking situation and the rude employees and for $300. Per night , I can certainly stay somewhere else better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodnettCooper, Manager at The Sea Gate Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank your for your feedback. At the Sea Gate Inn, we pride ourselves on a beautiful facility and outstanding customer service. We certainly apologize for any deficiency in either area.

The Sea Gate Inn is a 24-room hotel with 24 covered parking spaces and 13 additional spaces. For guests traveling with more than one vehicle, we request they utilize only one covered space. Most of our guests comply with this request.

The Inn is treated for insects monthly. In addition to regular maintenance, we touch up paint in each suite twice yearly, or more often as needed.

The Sea Gate Inn has one elevator, which is utilized by the housekeeping staff as well as guests. To minimize guest impact, the housekeepers load carts to make a single trip between floors. We do apologize that you were inconvenienced or experienced any impolite employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I were in St. Simons to scout homes for a large family vacation in September. We were happy to find Sea Gate Inn. We enjoy having a condo setting instead of staying in a hotel room. We love having a kitchen and bedrooms separately. It is difficult finding a condo for a short visit. All prices included everything- no worry over clean up fees, etc. Our room was beautiful and clean. We walked to the village and restaurants. Wanda checked us in. She was wonderful. She would call me by name every time she saw me on the property, and she would always ask if there was anything she could do for us. We will definitely return to Sea Gate Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sea Gate for a family wedding. What a wonderful location. Wanda checked us in she could not have been nicer. True Southern hospitality! We love her!

The inn was all we had hoped for and more. Beautiful room, great view, everything we need. We did not bring bicycles but they are a must here. Wanda helped us with bicycles.

We will come back and stay at the Sea Gate!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We loved this place! Our first trip to St. Simons, and we would love to stay here again. We had a standard King room with oceanview. The suite was huge, and very clean, and I am picky about that. A nice touch...we were late checking in, found our ck in packet easily, got to the room, and they had turned on the heat and several table lamps were turned on, making it very cozy upon arrival. Beautiful King size bed and bedroom with lots of windows, shutters and space. Nice bathroom arrangement with separate toilet, shower, jacuzzi tub, two separate sink areas, and a surprise laundry! Bed was extremely inviting and comfortable. Kitchen could have used a toaster oven and a little more room, but I'm not complaining. Very quiet rooms. View of ocean from balcony. It was close to perfect. Beach across the street was not great, but it was Feb so we were not expecting a beach trip. Go to Driftwood Bch on Jekell for some great photo ops. Staff before & during trip were very pleasant and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer. Definitely recommend The Sea Gate Inn!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a larger room or ocean view. Standard King suites were plenty big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gate Inn

Address: 1015 Beachview Dr., Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious new hotel-condominium suites! Each 1 bedroom, 1 bath residence offers a full kitchen, modern decor, large balconies, and gorgeous spa-like baths. Hotel amenities, such as daily housekeeping included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Sea Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Gate Hotel Saint Simons Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.